Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure - Pat on the Black

4.0

17 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/27/2012 10:26:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a beautiful color. As others described, it is a deep, dark reddish plum shade. This particular line has a very nice color selection, great wide brush and is opaque in two coats. The reason I can only give it a low rating is because the formula is absolutely terrible. The worst formulation I've ever experienced and so much worse than $2 Wet n Wild polishes. I have used every base and top coat imaginable including the indestructible Seche Vite but still get tip wear within hours and major chipping within a day. I know that Sally Hansen has reformulated these polishes but I haven't seen them yet in any stores. I will update this post when I have tried them. I still have bottle upon bottle of these and they look fantastic and apply well but unfortunately just are not functional as a nail polish.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

The title is a bit of a misnomer. It's not actually black, but kind of a purpley plumb colour. It's good for pedi's but looks too dull for fingers. It lacks shine and punch. Wouldn't repurchase.


on 3/12/2012 1:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I don't tend to buy a lot of nail polish but this has to be one of my favorite shades. Like others said, it's a dupe for OPI Lincoln Park After Dark. It's such a gorgeous sultry burgundy, I immediately want to dress up after wearing this color. It looks great when I have my nails short and even better when they're long. Pat on the Black is pure sophistication. I usually only need two coats and haven't experienced streakiness. A definite deal :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/17/2012 10:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love the complete salon line from Sally Hansen. I have it in Guilty Pleasure and Angel Wings. Guilty Pleasure has been one of my HGs ever since I started using nail polishes. Angel Wings looks great alone or over another polish. I am biased to any purple/burgandy color and have been looking for a vampy dark polish for sometime now.

I grabbed this one when it was on sale at my local drug store. It is a very dark plum color that looks like black with indoor lights. However, no matter how dark it looks, it still has this plum/purple undertone to it. Under natural lights, the plum part shows up a lot.

I have always enjoyed the packaging and formula of this line. I still use a base and quick dry top coat though. With the two coats on, the polish can easily stay for a whole week without chipping or peeling. I am also a fan of the wide brush because for me, it makes the application much easier.

I absolutely enjoy this color. I think it is great for the fall/winter seaon.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/1/2011 12:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is a very pretty deep dark purple. Its a great fall color, I got it al Walmart. Its a little thin and streaky, so you need at least two coats. Plus I used a base and top coat.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love the color! Dark cranberry purplr. Dont know why its named pat on the black but non the less a really nice dark purple. One coat and you get this cool black rimmed effect with purple in the middle. 2 coats and it becomes a dark maroon vampy color. Not really a spring color but I couldnt help myself, I'm a sucker for dark shades & doing the opposite trend. Lol. Its been a day so Ill update how long it takes to chip and all. Update- chipped easily after one day. Hmm...not good but still a nice color for going out on an evening.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/30/2010 1:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a beautiful, deep plum color. The forumla doesn't knock me out, though--I get chips within hours of wearing. It probably needs a separate top coat.


on 10/13/2010 3:55:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really love this color! I'm wearing it right now and I can't stop staring at my nails. It's super shiny and had great coverage with two coats. The only drawback is that I got some tip wear by the second day, but I imagine that is with any dark nail color. Overall, I would definitely recommend this shade. Gorgeous.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/13/2010 11:38:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have worn OPI's Lincoln Park After Dark for years now and love it. It's the polish I reach for most often, especially in the fall and winter. My bottle is getting a bit up there in years and is taking longer to dry than I'd like, so when I saw Pat on the Black at Target yesterday I picked it up. I love the Complete Salon Manicure line and have about 6 different colors, all of which go on and wear really well. After 2 coats on my fingernails this color is identical to Lincoln Park After Dark, which I currently have on my toes. Side-by-side there is absolutely no difference, which is great since I really like the Sally formula and brush better. I've always been an OPI girl, but this line is really swaying me and I tend to gravitate toward it, even with OPI and Essie sitting on the shelves in front of me at Target.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/14/2010 12:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My favorite and my go-to dark shade. With 2 coats I can achieve the desired darkness--which is a dark maroon. I am on my 3 bottle of this..highly recommended!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
150 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
347 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
360 Reviews
Dior Nail Glow
Dior Nail Glow
38 Reviews


Back to Top