Sigma E40 Tapered Blending (was SS224)

3.2

45 reviews

46% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/18/2015 7:09:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my first review here, and I've been compelled to write it out of sheer disappointment. I've been looking for a decent blending brush for a while now, and although I would love to try the MAC 224, I just can't bring myself to spend 23 on it. When I lost my only half-decent blending brush, I was desperate and needed another one quickly. I had a free trial of Amazon Prime, so decided to buy a brush on there to make use of the free next day delivery. Enter the Sigma E40! I had heard it was a great dupe for the 224, and even though it was still quite pricey at 14, I decided to take the plunge. Most of the reviews were glowing, but there is one on Amazon to which I wish I had given more attention, particularly as it address the exact concerns that I have.

I was actually really looking forward to getting the E40, so when the package arranged, I tore it open like a crazy person. My first inspection of the E40 generated a feeling of being slightly underwhelmed. It was fluffy and seemed reasonably soft, but I had expected it to be a bit more dense. The length of the bristles seemed very long too. Still, I put my initial concerns to one side and gave it a try.

And this is where the searing disappointment comes in. The brush does not blend very well at all. It isn't dense enough to do a decent job, and this fact, when taken with the excessive length of the bristles, makes the blending process really awkward. The bristles bend from side-to-side, which means that I can't get a nice fluid blending motion going, and the resulting finished blend just looks... untidy. I have tried several times with this brush to get it right, and I just can't seem to handle it.

After seeing some of the reviews on here, and on rereading a couple of more negative reviews on Amazon (in one of which the reviewer said, had she not bought it from a recognised Sigma reseller, she would have thought she had gotten a fake!), there are many people that agree with me. I wish I had seen the reviews on here first, because I probably would have gone for a different brush.

Having looked at some blog pictures of the E40, I've come to a few conclusions. Some pictures seem to show a different looking brush-head to that on the one I received; in several images the E40 brush actually looks like the MAC 224, with good shape, decent density and bristles that aren't excessively long. In a few others, it looks a bit more like mine - less dense with longer bristles. This must mean that either Sigma have changed the design of this brush, or that there is a great deal of inconsistency in the manufacturing process. I have also entertained the idea that some fakes are creeping onto the market, although this seems unlikely - the ferrule and handle of my brush have the Sigma detailing which seems too well done to make it a fake, plus it is still much more profitable to counterfeit the ever-popular MAC brushes.

To summarise: my experience with the E40 means that I can't recommend this brush to anyone. I took delivery of a Morphe E23 brush this morning, and although I haven't used it yet, it looks and feels far superior to the E40. Do yourself a favour - don't buy into the Sigma hype and shop around for your brushes!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 4/12/2015 10:02:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this brush. Although when I first got it I didn't love it at first. It was not fluffy and it was almost scratchy to the eyes while blending. But once I broke it in and used it a couple times the brush became very fluffy and it blended out product beautifully. You just have to brake it in people.


on 4/6/2015 8:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this brush! Great for the crease!


on 4/5/2015 4:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I LOVE this brush! Most Sigma brushes in general, in fact. I find this brush to be WAY better than the MAC 224 and I am a former MAC employee. I have/had many 224's along the years and now pretty much have switched to this. It's fluffier & much softer.
I took off one lippie due to sometimes inconsistent quality of Sigma brushes. Most of what I own are fantastic but I have about 6 or seven of these brushes and they differ as far as size, fluffiness, etc.
Same with my E25's. Long story short though, I adore Sigma brushes and this one is my FAVE!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/31/2015 8:31:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I will give Sigma credit where credit is due: they are excellent at marketing their products. Unfortunately for the consumer, we pay for that pricey marketing strategy. I cannot speak to any other brush within their lines as the E40 is the only one I've ever purchased (and I can safely say, will be the last) but to describe it in one word, it is mediocre. The beauty for Sigma is that customers never get to actually hold their products in their hands before purchasing. You are purchasing based on the many, many youtubers signing their constant praise and the many glowing online reviews. Again, brilliant marketing. Don't you want perfectly blended eyeshadow just like Jaclyn? (I am convinced that the design and quality of this brush has changed as this CANNOT be the same one that she uses and raves about.) Had I been able to look at this brush in person before buying it, i never in a million years would have purchased it. It is very cheaply made, very flimsy and scratchy and does not blend well at all. To add insult to injury, I actually paid $20 CDN for this brush. Essentially the same price as I paid for several Hakuhodo brushes and Sephora pro brush and triple what I paid for a far, FAR superior Morphe. Please people, do not buy into the hype and be the fool that I am. Spend your money wisely by investing in one of the many many superior blending brushes our there!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/1/2015 9:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Just like some of the other reviewers below, I'm not impressed. I purchased one of the Sigma brush collections a little over a year ago and this was included in the set. For one, it's terrible at blending out transition colors in the crease and looks splotchy and uneven, I've literally tried everything in getting my crease color to look good and I believe it's the brush that's the issue. I think it would have been better if it was smaller and a little more dense. I'm very happy with my other Sigma brushes but this one fell somewhat short.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/10/2015 4:10:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

After hearing about this constantly from make up gurus on YouTube, I decided to purchase this brush. I paid 14.50 for this brush as I live in the UK. I am yet to have any problems with this brush in my experience it doesn't shed and blends my eyeshadow nicely. I have heard this brush is comparable to Mac 224? My next sigma blending brush to try out will probably be the e25. Overall love this and would repurchase if I had to !!


on 10/22/2014 11:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am amazed at how poorly this brush blends eyeshadow. I bought it with the intention of using it for my transition shades above the crease, to soften the edges and blur out any harshness because the size appeared to be perfect and I had heard many many rave reviews about it on YouTube. It's as if I have a completely different brush than the ones these beauty addicts swear by. My conclusion; sponsorship.

The bristles are too few and far between for a nice blend, not to mention the length of the bristles makes using it just plain annoying. It flops from side to side with about a quarter second lag between each back and forth motion, so there's no fluidity in the blending process.

I had high hopes. So much so that the possibility of this brush not being great, let alone good, didn't even occur to me. As for Sigma themselves, that is for a whole different review.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 8/29/2014 2:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I was so excited when I ordered this brush after hearing so many people that do makeup tutorials on Youtube swear by it and consider it their holy grail. I did not even think it was possible that it couldn't be an amazing brush. Boy was I wrong. This brush is so scratchy it hurts like crazy using it trying to blend out shadows. Secondly, I cannot believe how much it sheds! Literally, the one I got sheds non-stop, every single time I use it o the point where I Only use it if I absolutely have to . I would not suggest this brush to anyone as there are far better blending brushes out there that won't shed or irritate the skin around your eyes.


on 1/30/2014 5:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this brush so much! I wish Sigma's international shipping wasn't so expensive so I can double up on more of these brushes. I love this brush to pick up my transition color with just the tip, and apply in my crease/upper-crease. It blends all my shadows together beautifully. It's very fluffy so all my shadows are seamless. Because of the look this brush delivers, I use it every time I wear shadows.

Another reason I love this brush is because of its versitality. It can set your under-eye concealer without disrupting the concealer. This is also a very great contour brush!! It fits perfectly along the sides of my nose, and since it's a blending brush, my contour shade is blended. It looks natural. It's also great to fit in the hollows of your cheeks! And last, but not least, this can apply highlight to the top of the cheeks very nicely. This application is precise.

I love this brush. It's easy to clean, versatile, and affordable. When I bought this brush, it was $12 USD, but prices rised to $14 USD. It's still affordable. It shredded a tiny bit when I first washed it, now it's doing fine. Shedding an occasional hair every now and then.




Back to Top