Sigma E40 Tapered Blending (was SS224)

3.3

40 reviews

45% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/1/2015 9:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Just like some of the other reviewers below, I'm not impressed. I purchased one of the Sigma brush collections a little over a year ago and this was included in the set. For one, it's terrible at blending out transition colors in the crease and looks splotchy and uneven, I've literally tried everything in getting my crease color to look good and I believe it's the brush that's the issue. I think it would have been better if it was smaller and a little more dense. I'm very happy with my other Sigma brushes but this one fell somewhat short.



on 2/10/2015 4:10:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

After hearing about this constantly from make up gurus on YouTube, I decided to purchase this brush. I paid 14.50 for this brush as I live in the UK. I am yet to have any problems with this brush in my experience it doesn't shed and blends my eyeshadow nicely. I have heard this brush is comparable to Mac 224? My next sigma blending brush to try out will probably be the e25. Overall love this and would repurchase if I had to !!


on 10/22/2014 11:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am amazed at how poorly this brush blends eyeshadow. I bought it with the intention of using it for my transition shades above the crease, to soften the edges and blur out any harshness because the size appeared to be perfect and I had heard many many rave reviews about it on YouTube. It's as if I have a completely different brush than the ones these beauty addicts swear by. My conclusion; sponsorship.

The bristles are too few and far between for a nice blend, not to mention the length of the bristles makes using it just plain annoying. It flops from side to side with about a quarter second lag between each back and forth motion, so there's no fluidity in the blending process.

I had high hopes. So much so that the possibility of this brush not being great, let alone good, didn't even occur to me. As for Sigma themselves, that is for a whole different review.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/29/2014 2:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was so excited when I ordered this brush after hearing so many people that do makeup tutorials on Youtube swear by it and consider it their holy grail. I did not even think it was possible that it couldn't be an amazing brush. Boy was I wrong. This brush is so scratchy it hurts like crazy using it trying to blend out shadows. Secondly, I cannot believe how much it sheds! Literally, the one I got sheds non-stop, every single time I use it o the point where I Only use it if I absolutely have to . I would not suggest this brush to anyone as there are far better blending brushes out there that won't shed or irritate the skin around your eyes.


on 1/30/2014 5:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this brush so much! I wish Sigma's international shipping wasn't so expensive so I can double up on more of these brushes. I love this brush to pick up my transition color with just the tip, and apply in my crease/upper-crease. It blends all my shadows together beautifully. It's very fluffy so all my shadows are seamless. Because of the look this brush delivers, I use it every time I wear shadows.

Another reason I love this brush is because of its versitality. It can set your under-eye concealer without disrupting the concealer. This is also a very great contour brush!! It fits perfectly along the sides of my nose, and since it's a blending brush, my contour shade is blended. It looks natural. It's also great to fit in the hollows of your cheeks! And last, but not least, this can apply highlight to the top of the cheeks very nicely. This application is precise.

I love this brush. It's easy to clean, versatile, and affordable. When I bought this brush, it was $12 USD, but prices rised to $14 USD. It's still affordable. It shredded a tiny bit when I first washed it, now it's doing fine. Shedding an occasional hair every now and then.


on 1/11/2014 3:53:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great must have blending brush to smoke out color evenly.


on 6/8/2013 1:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this blending brush, it is essential for shading any eyeshadow. It blends seamlessly and it is super soft. When you wash I recommend you use a brush guard so it can retain its original shape.


on 5/30/2013 6:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I really like this blending brush. I've used it consistently for three years and haven't had a ny major issues with it. Besides some occasional shedding when I wash it, this brush has been very sturdy through the years. It's great for blending out harsh lines and making you shadows look flawless. Great buy!


on 5/23/2013 11:02:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I like this brush alot! I bought it as a dupe for the Mac 224. I've never had that brush but this one works just fine for what I needed it for. I use this to diffuse all my eyeshadow together after doing a smokey eye. This brush is also GREAT for setting undereye concealer with powder. It's just the right size to fit into that small area. I don't see how the sigma website says this is used for the crease. This is too big for the crease, at least for my crease. I like my Mac 217 for that. Sigma also has a dupe for that called the E-25 blending. This brush does shed a few hairs here and there but it's nothing crazy or excessive. Good brush!


on 4/7/2013 1:04:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I like this brush because it is decent quality for a good price. While it isn't as amazing as some other high end blending brushes, it still does the job and that's all I need. I prefer it as a blender to the E25 because I find this brush to be better for crease application and it doesn't seem to soften the edges like the E40. The E40 is soft and fluffy, but it does shed a little sometimes which I'm not a fan of. Will repurchase as I like the price and Sigma brushes don't tend to last.


Popular Makeup Brushes


Core Collection
205 Reviews
Blush Brush
226 Reviews
Back to Top