Kerastase • chronologiste • Hair Treatments

rated 4.2(23 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 pink_jasmine on 8/25/2014 3:02:00 PM more reviews by pink_jasmine

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I was skeptical about this treatment. It's $149 plus tax, and a product really needs to be amazing to make it worth that price. I did some research about it online first, read reviews, and saw some impressive before and after pictures of people who had it done in the salon. I decided to splurge on it as it's cheaper to buy the kit than have it done in the salon and I regularly do at-home deep conditioning treatments anyway. For reference, I have fine, damaged, heavily lightened hair that I heat style daily.


I have to say I am truly impressed! No other treatment has made my dry, heavily damaged hair look or feel so healthy and amazing! The results are instant! My hair was so smooth, shiny and silky- like virgin hair! It smells very nice too. I've been using it once every 1-2 weeks. I will definitely re-purchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sesamine on 11/16/2013 6:55:00 AM more reviews by sesamine

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Whats the hype about? Thought it gave worse effect than your avarage high impact conditioner, and with an annoying mixing ritual on top of that. Dont buy it ladies!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissNostalgia on 6/27/2013 7:36:00 PM more reviews by MissNostalgia

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

Ohhhh, I wish I had more money so I could use this all the time. But it's SO expensive! It's not even fair, really.

I love the smell, the lumpy bumpy texture pearl things take a little getting used to, but one you smooth it into your hair and let it sit, you're in for something nice <3

I use it after I bleach my roots and re-dye my hair to make up for all the abuse it takes, and once I wash it out and dry my hair it is noticeably softer, and shinier.

The only things I don't really like about it are 1: The price, and 2: The bottle of pearly stuff outlasted the base cream by a lot, and it seemed like such a waste.

If I could get it in a swap, or if the price went down I'd gladly get it again, but as it stands, I just can't afford it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 drfiona on 2/10/2013 6:56:00 AM more reviews by drfiona

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have long, straight, lightened hair so all the damage really shows. I realised about a year ago that silicone products were making matters worse so since than have been trying other measures to sort ot my dry, frizzy, staticky hair. For about two months I slept every night with oils on my hair - I tried coconut, olive, rosehip, lavender, argan, pomegranate, passion seed, macadamia etc in all sorts of combinations as well as various purchsed blends without any benefit.

I've used Karastase Chronologiste six times now and the results are better than any product I've used before. I know this has silicones in it, but the benefits persist even several weeks after a treatment, and accumulate with continued use, so I can't think that's the main reason for the change in my hair. It's now soft, shiny and non-frizzy, and much easier to style. The product is extortionately expensive (hence the loss of one lippie) but I have already bought a second box.

Several reviews have mentioned the very strong scent. I hadn't noticed this myself, but when I paid enough attention to give it a sniff I had to agree, it's quite potent! May be a deal-breaker for some but I'm obviously not too sensitive to that feature.

EDIT: The pump that dispenses the grey pearls gave up the ghost completely when I had a third of the product still left. So I unscrewed the top to add the pearls by hand, but that failed to break up the pearls and release the contents, so they sat intact in the cream, only to scatter all over my shower when I tried to massage it through my hair. Much less benefit to my hair. I emailed Kerastase about it and they didn't reply. Shoddy product design and customer care for such an extortionate product. I am now using Philip Kingsley's Elasticizer with excellent results and at a much lower price. Will not repurchase Chronologiste.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Isadora123 on 1/29/2013 4:15:00 PM more reviews by Isadora123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I have colored, fine and very curly hair and I have always straightened it, so, obviously, it became REALLY damaged. Even though I used only expensive products (most of them from Kerastase and Redken) nothing worked.
When I first used this mask, i thought it was a miracle. But a few hours later, my hair would look extremely dry again. I was using this mask every week, doing the complete ritual that it demands for about two months, but my hair got even worst!!!!!!
So, I went to a hair dresser that CHANGED MY LIFE.
He said that products from Kerastase have a lot of silicones, so they just cover the damage,so dont treat the hair at all. He recomemded me a mask from Lazartigue (bancoulier), and after using about 4 times my hair changed!!!!!
Since then, I have only used more natural products, both from Lazartigue and from Leonor Greyl, and I should say that is much better! My hair really changed.
DONT SPEND YOUR MONEY ON THIS MASK. It will only cover the damage.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beautyaddict96 on 8/7/2012 5:36:00 PM more reviews by beautyaddict96

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I don't really have problematic hair. It's a little dry, no split ends, not too frizzy, down to my waist, thick. I like products that nourish my hair, and make it smooth, soft, and shiny.
I needed a mask, and my mom had bought this, so without her knowing, I took a little for myself every 2 weeks. ;)
From the first time I washed my hair I noticed a great difference. My thick hair was softer and more manageable. It became healthier and shinier and much easier to style. My hair looks like I've just had it professionally done. It lasts too. I absolutely adore this product.
The only downside is the price. Just so you know, I'm 16. I cannot afford to replace this all the time. And another thing? Try l'oreal evercreme mask. Same results. Almost $140 less. Yes this is amazing. But no hair mask is worth this amount of money, especially when it's the same as a $7 drugstore mask.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Brambik on 1/28/2012 6:05:00 AM more reviews by Brambik

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is the first reviewI have ever written, although I like to read them. Time to give back. I am a total product junkie when it comes to hair and skin. Tried and used all of the most expensive brands. For hair I most often use Kerastase, Redken, Alterna, Pureology. I really like Alterna Caviar Moisture Shampoo and Conditioner for my hair, probably the best I tried. When used together you get amazing results. Well, back to Chronologiste. My hair is fine to medium, very fine in the front around my face from all the highlights and more thick towards the back. It is naturally dark blonde/light brown with a bit of wave, which goes away the more damaged the hair gets. I get highlights about 3 times per year. Am 35 years old. That is the situation. The biggest problem I have with my hair is that the front gets too damaged and weak and very limp and since I like it light around my face, it is a never ending cycle of highlights and breakage. Also, I like it wavy, which almost never happens anymore due to the damage.
Like the nice addict I am, I had to buy Chronologiste to try, even for the price. It comes in a very nice box and the directions are pretty straight forward. Mix the cream with the pearls, wash the hair, towel dry, apply, rinse after 5-10 minutes. I washed my hair with clarifying shampoo as I always do before doing a treatment. I think it is very important to get all the junk out of the hair so the treatment could do its magic, I would advise not to skip this step. Pureology makes a really good clarifying shampoo, which protects colored hair. Then I towel dried my hair for a bit and applied the treatment. I do think that the reviewers who did not see a difference did not apply it very well. There is a video online, I think on Kerastase website even, that shows you how to do it. It is important to take the time with it and really work it into each hair strand. Starting with scalp just like you would apply color, part the hair and apply and keep doing that until the whole scalp is covered. Massage very well with slow motion. Then do the same thing for hair and massage the mask into every single hair making sure it is saturated. I gently brushed each section of hair at the end to make sure every hair fibre is taken care of. The whole thing did take me good 15-20 minutes to do. I was fine with the exact amount that Kerastase recommends using, did not skimp. My hair is long below my shoulders so maybe somebody with shorter hair could use a bit less. With this amount it would last me 10 treatments.
After I was done I waited about 12 minutes, emulsified with a bit of water, massaged again and rinsed. I did nothing to my hair afterwards at all to see the real difference. Did not brush it, did not put any product in it at all, not even my beloved Elixir Ultime. Just let it air dry.
Well, what can I say? I did this in the evening and really liked the results when it was drying. I was very happy. The real shock though came this morning. I slept with my hair in a loose bun. When I woke up and let my hair loose, I could hardly believe this. After one single use of this treatment, my hair was light, bouncy, wavy, shiny and with tons of volume, especially at the front! Totally unheard of for me lately. It is keeping its style like I went to a hair salon to get it done, think Jennifer Anniston when she wears it wavy. Really impressed. I have not had this kind of a hair day for about 10 years. And this is after only one treatment. I am persuaded the effects will be cumulative, it makes sense. I noticed my scalp is very happy since all the little bumps I would get lately, especially around my face are totally gone. I think this really takes care of the scalp, which means you will have healthier and denser hair. And the longer it is used, the more time will the scalp have to make progress. I noticed people had the best results when used weekly, which is exactly what I will be doing. That way the scalp and hair will always be in the best condition and protected.
I am sure my hair will be only getting better from now on and I would recommend the treatment to every hair type out there. Just make sure you really apply it correctly and take the time with it. For this kind of money, it just makes sense, you know? Highly recommended from me, will always buy it from now on. Even for the high price. I hope this helps.

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Fedra on 12/31/2011 9:45:00 PM more reviews by Fedra

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I am a Kerastase fan since i was a teen. I love the shampoos and Masquintense for thick hair is a product i can not live without so, when i first saw this new treatment and read all the marvelous things that it is supposed to do i bought it (though it hurt my pocket since it is very expensive, 95 Euros for a box with 200ml cream and 50ml perls). I was very anxious to try it on and of course I expected miracles with all the rave reviews and the outrageous price. The result? TOTAL DISAPPOINTMENT.
Did not help my dry hair at all (I get better results with Masquintense than this), no shine, no softeness, no nothing... i have dyed hair and i wanted the extra treatment to make my hair healthy, soft and shiny but i got absolutly nothing. It feels very velvelty and soft when you rinse your hair and it detangles my curls but that is something my hair mask does too.
The smell i did not like either but it was not a big problem for me.( I was more interested in the "amazing" results). The reason i put 2 stars is only for the elegant packaging. The box is very beautiful and when you open it you have the feeling that you opened a box that contains a precious set of jewels.
I will put this "treatment" until it is over since I still "mourn" for my 95 Euros to simply throw it to the garbage, but from my experience i'd say "Save your money gilrs for something better than this" or... if you wish to give it a try first go to a hair salon and try it before you buy it.
If you think i am too harsh with the product since i only tried it one time i say this. When i give so much money for a product that promises heaven (for hair) then I expect nothing less that miracles!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pandora76 on 8/28/2011 5:58:00 AM more reviews by pandora76

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Fantastic stuff! I have overprocessed hair (permed, coloured, straightened, you name it!) and this really sorted all that out with just one treatment. Bought it as an alternative to signing up for a package of hair spa treatments, which would have cost way more than this product. After just one use, my hair felt stronger, fuller and was definitely shinier. The salon I bought this from told me the effects could last up to 4 weeks and initially I was sceptical but IT REALLY DID! Yes, it's crazy expensive but I'd definitely bite the bullet and repurchase.

P.S. ladies sensitive to scent may want to avoid this product - it has a very strong fragrance. By no means unpleasant (it does smell 'expensive' like others have pointed out!), but if you're sensitive, this could be an issue.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sarahbear87 on 7/29/2011 6:49:00 PM more reviews by Sarahbear87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I looove love love and worship this product!! And have little candles and have a little altar for it! Ok not really, but I would. Anyways I requested this for Christmas and had used and and it was amazing but i had ran out of the white masque cream conditioner, so I just had the pearls in a drawer, I had been out of my purrology shampoo n conditioner n just had been putting hair up. So yesterday I wanted to wear it down and it was horrendous little haystack no matter how much morroccan oil and other products I used and I seriously wanted to cut off my hair. Anyways I remembered I had the pearls and a little bit of conditioner left of "it's a 10" masque hidden somewhere in back of my sink so I mixed them n voila my hair was beautiful and soft n like I had gone to salon . Today I got paid so I'm gonna go buy the kit again, Yaay! I am very OCD about my hair and looks so this Is top of the line so I love it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kerastase products

More Hair Treatments products