Essie • Blanc • Nails

rated 4.0(20 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 Spacebarscandybars on 3/26/2014 8:33:00 AM more reviews by Spacebarscandybars

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I'm so surprised that this product has such great reviews, because honestly it's one of the worst nail polishes I've ever tried. It's extremely streaky and uneven, it takes about four coats to get it relatively opaque and my nails are left with that "gummy" feeling that never dries. On top of that, it was not cheap at all. I think I paid around $13 for this stuff. I know I could have purchased it for a lot less but I saw it at the drug store and it was convenient at the time. Even my cheap white polish from Costco is immensely better than this stuff. Definitely would not repurchase or recommend to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Chi92 on 2/20/2014 11:27:00 AM more reviews by Chi92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been looking for a white nail polish with an opaque finish for quite a long time. My previous ones needed at least 3 layers(!) to achieve an opaque finish. So I did some research on the web and found a lot of positive reviews on Essie Blanc, so that's why I gave it a chance.

I must say that I'm very enthusiastic about this product in general:
+ as white as paper, so it is really white;
+ the polish isn't too thick or too watery, just the perfect consistence;
+ the brush is easy to work with and applies smoothly;
+ after two layers it is completely opaque and no stripes at all;
+ love the simplistic design.

The only two disadvantages that I could think of may be:
- it takes a while before it is fully dry, so I would recommend using a quick dry top coat;
- price: I live in the Netherlands, so for all the Dutchies on makeupalley.com: I've paid 9,99 at Etos. It isn't cheap compared with nail polishes of Essence, Catrice etc. But the quality is way better. So I personally think it totally worths your money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starrysim on 12/14/2013 1:02:00 AM more reviews by starrysim

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Blanc is exactly what I was looking for as a base colour for nail art. It's an opaque bright white, just like White-Out. It's almost completely opaque in one thick coat. It's a tiny bit streaky, so you do need a second coat to even it out, even if your first coat is thick. It's not streaky after the second coat. It also doesn't have a grey or yellow cast, it's bright true white.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Lirong on 9/12/2013 6:29:00 PM more reviews by Lirong

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Mine is very thick and very streaky. Was very disappointed...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ninnu on 7/12/2013 12:20:00 PM more reviews by ninnu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Perfect white polish for french manicure!

I don't use this on its own, so the bottle is too big for me. The polish gets gooey before it's all used.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Trillstayovoxo13 on 7/6/2013 1:42:00 PM more reviews by Trillstayovoxo13

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

Vey opaque in two coats. Stays on 5 days for me with hard as nails natural tint base/top. Doesn't seem to have that issue that blacks and whites have. I will always rebuy because black will be black and white will be white.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blueblackwhite on 7/5/2013 5:23:00 AM more reviews by blueblackwhite

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

It's such a great white nail polish and it takes only 2 coats to get an opaque coverage. Perfect for summer or under sheer nailpolishes. On me it lasts about 3-4 days without chipping which is good because usually I have to change my nail polish every other day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Parisa909 on 5/13/2013 6:52:00 PM more reviews by Parisa909

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Blanc is a true white polish, not sheer and completely opaque. Now personally I love wearing white polish, I know to some it looks trashy but hey, I like what I like. White nail polishes are notorious for being thick, uneven to apply and requiring a lot of coats to even out streaks, but with Blanc all you need is 2-3 thin coats. It dries pretty fast with a shiny finish. I thought Orly 'White Out' was a great white polish, but Essie blows it right out of the water in terms of application and speed of drying.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 itsmela on 4/28/2013 7:48:00 AM more reviews by itsmela

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Essie Blanc is an essential. It's a classic white, applies smoothly, dries evenly and resists against chips. The packaging is attractive and the brush works very well. Essie can count me as fan. I also recommend Really Red, Licorice and one of their many fun seasonal colors!

The downside is the price but the quality seems to overshadow the cost :)


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PrettyNails on 10/4/2012 1:22:00 AM more reviews by PrettyNails

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought Blanc on a whim, and it's a very nice opaque white. Gives nails a clean, pretty look in about 2 coats. Brush was easy to work with - would repurchase when I run out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Nails products