Essie • Blanc • Nails

rated 3.7(24 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 creepygreenlight on 7/21/2014 10:31:00 PM more reviews by creepygreenlight

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I honestly feel like this polish would be easier to apply if only the brush was a little wider. Essie's brushes are small and narrow and that in itself would not be a huge problem if only the formula wasn't so goopy and just blah all around. I really like white nails but it is such a pain to apply this color!! I don't know if I got a bad bottle or if this is the case with everyone. If you have only a small window of time to do your nails, this is not the color you should be using as it took me at least 45 minutes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 breaktheattraction on 7/15/2014 10:28:00 PM more reviews by breaktheattraction

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

lately one of the bigger nail polish trends has been white nails. i've always loved this look since i was younger, but i have since only started painting my nails recently (about three months ago, to be exact. and no, that doesn't mean i had no idea how paint my nails beforehand or just learned; i was just too lazy to actually take the time to paint them, you know?) and wanted a simple, nice white nail polish that wasn't chalky. white nails are quite classy in my opinion!

im not exactly a person to spurge on beauty products (especially not nail polish!) but after reading the bad reviews of the majority of sally hansen's white (and cheap) nail polishes, i decided to give this essie one a try. i like essie nail polishes and have about five of them, plus a base coat i adore. so i figured this would be a nice, basic nail polish to add to my collection that would be of high quality and would last a while before i had to run out and purchase a new one. this was around 10 bucks CAD at target and i was expecting good quality like the rest of my essie polishes. to me, 10 dollars is a lot for a small bottle of nail polish.

my first impression of this nail polish was CLUMPY. i am someone who likes applying thicker coats as opposed to thin coats twice, so when i first applied this, i was a little annoyed that it looked like a seagull had taken a poop on my nails. but i wasn't fazed; i just had to apply thinner coats. this takes about two coats for it to be relatively opaque, but three if you want it COMPLETELY opaque. it works well with my essie grow faster base coat, and my sally hansen hard as nails top coat. i will say it is a little streaky when applied, but that could be me; not sure. the staying power isn't that awesome, as i had just painted my nails yesterday with this and it's already chipping. as for the packaging and brush, i always love essie's polishes in these factors, so A+ for that. but safe to say, this nail polish did not "wow" me like previous essie one's have.

overall, i like this nail polish but i don't like it enough to go out and purchase it again. while the color is a true, elegant white that's not chalky or gross looking if it's applied correctly, it's too expensive, streaky at times, and has too weak of a staying power for me to repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 peaseblossoms on 7/6/2014 11:30:00 PM more reviews by peaseblossoms

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This formula is bad. Streaky, hard to work with and needs more than 2 coats. I just don't get Essie nail polish. It's hardly ever true to colour, I don't like the brushes and the formulas usually suck... I think I'm giving up on them from now on, at full price anyway.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ohyeagirl1111 on 6/8/2014 10:15:00 PM more reviews by ohyeagirl1111

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Idk why this has good reviews. It's streaky, thin, not opac, and the brush is very small adding to the streakiness. Not worth the price. I prefer my cheap one from icing over this. Didn't meet expectations.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Spacebarscandybars on 3/26/2014 8:33:00 AM more reviews by Spacebarscandybars

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I'm so surprised that this product has such great reviews, because honestly it's one of the worst nail polishes I've ever tried. It's extremely streaky and uneven, it takes about four coats to get it relatively opaque and my nails are left with that "gummy" feeling that never dries. On top of that, it was not cheap at all. I think I paid around $13 for this stuff. I know I could have purchased it for a lot less but I saw it at the drug store and it was convenient at the time. Even my cheap white polish from Costco is immensely better than this stuff. Definitely would not repurchase or recommend to anyone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Chi92 on 2/20/2014 11:27:00 AM more reviews by Chi92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been looking for a white nail polish with an opaque finish for quite a long time. My previous ones needed at least 3 layers(!) to achieve an opaque finish. So I did some research on the web and found a lot of positive reviews on Essie Blanc, so that's why I gave it a chance.

I must say that I'm very enthusiastic about this product in general:
+ as white as paper, so it is really white;
+ the polish isn't too thick or too watery, just the perfect consistence;
+ the brush is easy to work with and applies smoothly;
+ after two layers it is completely opaque and no stripes at all;
+ love the simplistic design.

The only two disadvantages that I could think of may be:
- it takes a while before it is fully dry, so I would recommend using a quick dry top coat;
- price: I live in the Netherlands, so for all the Dutchies on makeupalley.com: I've paid 9,99 at Etos. It isn't cheap compared with nail polishes of Essence, Catrice etc. But the quality is way better. So I personally think it totally worths your money.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starrysim on 12/14/2013 1:02:00 AM more reviews by starrysim

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Blanc is exactly what I was looking for as a base colour for nail art. It's an opaque bright white, just like White-Out. It's almost completely opaque in one thick coat. It's a tiny bit streaky, so you do need a second coat to even it out, even if your first coat is thick. It's not streaky after the second coat. It also doesn't have a grey or yellow cast, it's bright true white.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Lirong on 9/12/2013 6:29:00 PM more reviews by Lirong

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Mine is very thick and very streaky. Was very disappointed...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ninnu on 7/12/2013 12:20:00 PM more reviews by ninnu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Perfect white polish for french manicure!

I don't use this on its own, so the bottle is too big for me. The polish gets gooey before it's all used.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Trillstayovoxo13 on 7/6/2013 1:42:00 PM more reviews by Trillstayovoxo13

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

Vey opaque in two coats. Stays on 5 days for me with hard as nails natural tint base/top. Doesn't seem to have that issue that blacks and whites have. I will always rebuy because black will be black and white will be white.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Nails products