MAC • petals and peacocks • Lipstick

rated 4.7(38 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TopNote on 11/29/2010 12:08:00 PM more reviews by TopNote

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Creamy purpley fucshia, as others have said. It is opaque and upon applying it, its loud and bright. But using MAC Currant and Nightmoth as a liner tones this bright lippie down to makes it a beautiful shade to wear for dark skinned ladies. Took one lippie off cause for me there is no way I can wear it straight from the tube without looking clownish. Still, its a beautiful color and the packaging is a plus.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 durbanyace on 8/31/2010 4:18:00 PM more reviews by durbanyace

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this expecting the color to be more magenta than it really is. After I appliied two coats it looked (to me) somewhat fuchsia, and in some lights, vaguely purple. I have yet to ask for second opinions because I was overall pleased with the color, even though it still isn't the right magenta I'm looking for. durbanyace Jennifer Sydney Lazarus.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jubez on 8/30/2010 8:32:00 PM more reviews by jubez

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this when the collection came out since it was the only lipstick I was interested in. It's been sitting in my collection for a while now and I have just re-discovered it, lol. It is a very bright magenta-pink with a hint of purple, very cool toned. If you have Gladiola lipstick, this is quite similar although the finish is different. I have tried using this on my lips and although it's too bright for me to pull off opaquely, I use it as a stain. As a stain, the purple tone isn't as apparent and I am left with a pretty wash of pink. It is an Amplified which is my favorite lipstick finish by MAC, it is creamy and rich in color while being long lasting.


However, the way I have been using it after re-discovering it is as a blush! I love the look this gives on my cheeks. It's so so pretty and very natural looking despite the strong color. The Amplified finish works great on cheeks because if the creaminess, which gives a sheen to the cheeks without shimmer. It stays on all day and I encourage you to try it out! I have not broken out from using this on my cheeks, but if you have sensitive skin try it out on a small patch of skin first. I use this method a lot because I tend to buy strong colors that I never end up using, lol. It has also made me realize that some lip colors would be gorgeous if they made them into cheek colors too! MAC lipsticks are now $17.50CAN, but if you find this at a CCO pick it up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fparekh on 6/26/2010 10:18:00 AM more reviews by fparekh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not generally a bright lips kinda gal - but something about this color lured me in and made me HAVE TO HAVE IT ... the gorgeous Liberty of London packaging helped too :)

That being said, this color is gorgeous. I am NW42-43 and normally bright colors like this make me look just down right terrible - but this is completely flattering. I paired this with Givenchy's Lipgloss is Pop Fuchsia (404) - it works wonders.

This color mixed w. Ever Hip makes a gorgeous pink coral color as well.

All in all - a huge surprise for me - LOVE LOVE LOVE.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 captainlindarg on 6/19/2010 6:17:00 PM more reviews by captainlindarg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love this for summer!

The color is a bright fuchsia that's surprisingly quite flattering. The finish is Amplified which is my favorite of MAC's finishes, because it's not quite matte, but goes on very nicely and lasts a long time without drying out the lips.

The only reason I took a point off is because I don't see myself wearing this shade much in fall/winter because it is so bright/"summery". But for that purpose it's amazing :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vyvyanne on 6/3/2010 2:06:00 PM more reviews by vyvyanne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

first off, love this color! it's such a bright pink and I love MAC's amplified creme formula. It goes on smooth and doesn't dry out my lips. Top it off with some gloss and it REALLY shines :) It also stains somewhat so hours after the lipstick's faded it leaves a subtle pink to the lips. I also love how you can build up the color. At first I would wear it thick and dramatic-like but other times I just apply with a light touch and it is still considered very bright.

Also, I let a few friends try it and it looks just as good on different skin tones. love!

The packaging is also a refreshing and cute change to traditional MAC lipsticks. Too bad this is LE

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rocksteady on 4/26/2010 7:22:00 PM more reviews by rocksteady

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm really loving MAC lipsticks right now. This colour is a bright fuschia that looks intimidating but so gorgeous on. I thought I would be too fair (NC25) to pull it off but it works. Since its limited edition...I think some great dupes for it from MAC would be Show Orchid, or Full Fuschia.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 username994920 on 4/25/2010 3:39:00 PM more reviews by username994920

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm NW20 and I didn't think I could pull this colour off but I was proven wrong. It is quite suiting considering the bold colour, I usually don't pull off bright colours that well. The Amplified Creme texture is my favorite, its a great texture that doesn't do alot of sliding or travelling. It was also great in the sense that it didn't end up on my teeth. Petals & Peacocks actually did the opposite of what most bright colours do and made me teeth look more white. The lipstick is long-wearing, and was still on my lips after hours of drinking beers, lol. This is a beautiful colour that pairs well with MAC's Lip Pencil in Magenta. I love the packaging it comes in as well, and is a fair price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lsc87 on 4/20/2010 3:39:00 PM more reviews by lsc87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I am very fair skinned (NW15) and this looked bright neon pink on me, my friend went "whoa what the hell! That's very erm...bright" when I wore it, which isn't really the reaction I go for when I wear a lippy lol! I would have looked like a tacky raver if I wore that! Needless to say I didn't buy it, thank god I tried it in store first! I can imagine it looks awesome on darker complexions, but I am just too light skinned to pull it off :[

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tifferifficxo on 4/16/2010 5:48:00 PM more reviews by tifferifficxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i finally got my P&P in the mail today & i am beyond pleased. it's a super pigmented, vivid, almost electic, magenta color. this is a color not for the faint of heart. however it can be toned down with a light dabbing of the hand. i love how it looks with my skintone. if you love bright lipsticks, this is definitely one that you should add to your collection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products