Essie • Neo-Whimsical • Polishes

rated 3.3(23 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 rosebud222 on 1/7/2014 4:10:00 PM more reviews by rosebud222

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Many reviewers claimed the formula and application of Neo Whimsical was horrendous but I disagree. I'll admit that the first layer goes on horribly, with streaks galore and just all patchy and yucky. However, after letting the first coat dry slightly (try to give it 2 minutes if possible), the second coat went on just fine and almost fixed and covered all those bald spots and streaks from the first coat. My nails looked great with just 2 thin coats! And I absolutely ADORE this soft pinky-mauve color!!!!!!! It makes my nails and hands look so pretty and feminine! I currently have about 20-25 Essie polishes and this is definitely in my top five. It's lovely and I never want to to be discontinued.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LyndseyZ on 11/27/2013 2:10:00 PM more reviews by LyndseyZ

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I've always LOVED my Essie nail polishes before, but this one is a no go! It was WAY too tacky! I did everything I could to get it smooth and streak free but it was totally impossible!! I'm so disappointed with this color and of course I really want to just take it off but spent a lot of times doing my nails!! Total waste!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 veggienurse on 4/26/2013 11:37:00 AM more reviews by veggienurse

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I must have gotten a good bottle too. The first application I was disappointed. I had bubbles and it just wasn't as opaque as I had wanted. But I was in love with the actual color so I wanted to make it work. For the record I have pale skin and blue eyes, very fair. So next time I filed my nails and then put OPI Nail Envy on. I put one thin coat of this color on and let it dry for awhile. Put on another coat and it was PERFECT! No bubbles, opaque, pretty! Love this color and will wear it often! I put on a layer of OPI nail laquer over my polish when it dries and do not have a problem with chipping. Not sure if that's my bottle or the laquer, but neither time using this have I had issues with chipping - it stays on for days and days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lilmi on 3/18/2013 12:17:00 PM more reviews by lilmi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Essie nail polishes tend to be quite thin/watery so they usually need at least two coats to get the best out of them.

Saying that, I really like this colour. I'm around NC37 and pastel colours can sometimes be a bit tricky for me to pull off.

Neo Whimsical is a very pale pinky lilac - perfect for Spring! Two coats were all that were needed for full opacity. Plus a top coat, as Essie tends to chip within a few days on it's own.

I purchased this at a sale price, (around 3) I wouldn't buy it at full price (7.99) but on sale, I'd definately repurchase despite the cons, at 13.5mls I'd consider it good value.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 matt44bek on 12/11/2012 5:31:00 AM more reviews by matt44bek

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

im so in love with this color ... gorgeous pinky lilac (leans more pink) .. very similar to a discontinued Maybelline color called Purplink so was very happy to find this. Looks awesome with a tan on fingers and/or toes. Formula is ok ... not watery but a little streaky so i needed 3 coats. This is a bit of a drawback but won't stop me repurchasing ... the uniqueness of the color will mean i'll definately buy another bottle when this one is finished.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 11/28/2012 10:38:00 AM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

NW10, blue eyes.

This is such a beautiful color on me! I love the playful icy delicate cream lilac. Great choice for winter and spring. Didn't streak on me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blushie on 10/10/2012 8:41:00 AM more reviews by blushie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not sure how I've managed to get such a good bottle! Mine is a teeny bit streaky, but definitely not watery. It dries pretty quickly, and is opaque in 3 coats. Lasts quite well too. I probably would not have bought this if it wasn't on sale. It's such a pretty lilac pink and it suits my complexion perfectly. I'd like to try a few more Essie polishes now...since this one is apparently one of the not so great ones, I'm excited to try the more highly rated colours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 papierflora on 8/16/2012 12:31:00 PM more reviews by papierflora

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Pros:
-such a ladylike colour, IMHO it would work all year round

Cons:
-too streaky
-too watery
-uneven application
-not fully opaque even after 2 coats

Such a waste of money. :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DEWW on 6/12/2012 8:15:00 PM more reviews by DEWW

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first (maybe last) Essie nailpolish; in the bottle it's a very pretty cool pastel baby pink, but I needed 4 coats (maybe 5) to get opacity otherwise it looked streaky and ugly, it's goopy and chipped on the second day so it's very high maintenance, the brush is a nightmare to work with... any cheap brand is way better than this...Will not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Julia941 on 3/26/2012 8:04:00 PM more reviews by Julia941

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is the first very pale pink/lilac that I really like. Excellent coverage with two coats and I didn't have any problems with streaking. It is a creme finish and I'm very pleased with it. Much easier to apply than something like Mod Pink for me. Highly recommended.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products