Cover Girl Clean Oil Control Pressed Powder

3.6

106 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Talc, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Zinc Stearate, Polyethylene, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Flour (Oat), Mica, Calcium Silicate (Anticaking Agent), Dimethicone, Quaternium 15, Dextrin, Lauroyl Lysine, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Propylparaben, Methylparaben, BHT, May Contain (+/-):, Ultramarines


on 6/18/2015 9:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have just finished up a compact this morning and of course, it wasn't until then that I realised how orange this turned on me! I must've walked around looking like a troll for many months! Good God! I have/had this in buff beige and although, in the pan it looks like a good match, it isn't. I'm an NC20 and most light, drugstore powders suit me well but this surprised me. I usually use Buff Beige in other CG products but this was off and didn't control oil well anyway depending on which foundation I used. Maybe this is why they got rid of it in most stores. I'll use up my backups and search again for my perfect setting powder.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 4/2/2015 7:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Not a great powder but it will do the trick if needed.
It does not control oil at all and I find the shade range to be quite hideous.


on 4/2/2015 12:13:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Ugh! This was very chalky! I have very oily, clog prone skin and hoped that this could be used on its own or over foundation. I got the shade buff beige, which was a great match. The packaging said that this was suitable for sensitive skin, which drew me to the product. It hasn't broken me out. But the powder is so chalky and just sits on top of your skin. Wearing it alone, the powder lasts only 2 hours without my skin absorbing it completely. It doesn't cake or get patchy as it wears away tho. Over foundation, this doesn't last at all. I get like an hour max before it disappears. There's barely any shine control. The only positive is that this doesn't clog pores and the shade matches me. But there are better pressed powders out there!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Cakey. Chalky. Packed on. Whatever floats your boat, those are the results you'll get with this powder. Being i'm in high school and on a budget I've purchased this twice on sale for 4.99 CAD. I would look so cakey and it was disgusting. After finding Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder that you can also get for 4.99 CAD on sale, I will never go back to this one. Also, BOTH times that packaging broke on me. Not worth my money.


on 12/24/2014 6:20:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this along with the Oil Control Foundation (I got the powder in the color Light Medium). When I applied it just looked cakey, so I had to apply a very thin layer (has a decent amount of coverage). I would get oily about 1-2 hours prior to applying it. When I tried to touch up, it just made it look bad and even more cakey looking. Creases pretty badly when you smile or do any face movements. Also, the packaging broke pretty easily. Not my favorite powder. I have tried it with other foundations as well, with no better results.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

so pretty much i love this powder but sadly they DO NOT make my shade.😠 i am medium to olive skin tone so i have a lot of yellow and green undertones so i have tried EVERY single one of there shade i tried CREAMY NATURAL (Way to pink) MEDIUM LIGHT (REALLY DARK LIKE A DARK PINKY ORANGE) WARM BEIGE (Ok warm beige made me look ORANGE LIKE A OOMPA LOOMPA WAY TOOOO DARK) this sadly is the only powder that does what i want it to do but they dont make yellow based powders which makes me mad cause i love it. I gotta try more of there shades to see if i find one that suits my skin color but i doubt i find one😞😣.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Although this is far from my HG pressed powder..I used cover girl way back when..starting in Jr high..I am now 35. Anyway..I ve used it on and off thru out my life..and I recently acquired some more cover girl pressed powder in thr is one-the oil control version..as well as the original one for normal skin that smells like noxzema :-) anyway--as far as shine and oil goes, it works OK...not the best..but it does OK. I find that I can only use like twice during the day or it will start to look cakey..and my oil will breakthrough and start melding weirdly with the powder. So I only use this on a limited, limited basis. If you asked me 20 years ago--i probably would've gave this 6 lippies on everything.. but now I know better so I am unable to give this more then 3 lippies now :-/ good product for the cost tho :-)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/11/2014 11:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

It's a pretty impressive powder for the buck you pay. It has a light coverage (rather than sheer) and can be builded well. The applicator is also thick and nicely made.

However I found that this powder clogged my pores and left a chalky film on my face.

If you have oily skin then you might fair better. I have combo and I used the sensitive formula.

I found CG's Advanced Radiance does not clog pores or leave a chalky film. Rather its more natural (while still matte).


on 7/30/2014 1:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My favourite powder! I've been using this ever since Covergirl discontinued their other powder. I find it really does control the oil on my face. It looks nice on my skin and it doesn't look cakey or powdery. I even like the case too, It's cute and it feels secure when it's closed. It's just that it can be a teeny bit hard to open.


on 7/14/2014 12:43:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Ugh wear do I start.
Pros:
Cheap
Colour that matched my skin
Cons:
Large chunks of glitter
Stuck to every hair on my face
Chalky as ell
Hard to open and close the packaging
Settles into PORES!

I wont even touch this with a ten foot pole


Back to Top