Atelier Cologne - Orange Sanguine

3.8

23 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/15/2015 11:25:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Ordered online from Sephora and selected Orange Sanguine as one of my samples. Surprised I like it as much as I do. I like citrusy scents, but not too sure about orange; however, thought to myself, "it's a sample, go for it."

When I first apply this, it smells like an orange peel. Flowers open during middle notes, and drydown I smell orange, florals, sandalwood, tonka beans and musk. Musk isn't listed, but to my nose this is slightly musky, and in a good way.

Wish MUA had a Maybe button to click when asked, "If you ran out, or lost this product, would you buy it again"? Clicked No, but am undecided if I will purchase out of my pocket. If I don't purchase, will enjoy using the sample until the last drop.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 10/26/2014 4:14:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Smells of the hands after freshly squeezing tangerines and peeling off mandarin skin. It so realistic and doesn't smell like the artificial soda-like orange that can either be awakening or sickly sweet.

Great fragrance for layering, definitely.

TOP NOTES are more bitter orange, and blood orange.
HEART NOTES... honestly, all I can think of is... orange.
BASE NOTES are definitely there as a musk, and amber.

PERFECT FOR...
Expanding a fragrance collection.
Enjoy perfume oils opposed to perfumes.
Work Place.

Attractive, fresh, and adored by men, you'll love this fragrance as much as I did if you're someone who enjoys realistic fragrances like a watered down rose from L'OCCitane or the true smell of bergamot from Brambleberry.

Strong sillage, and moderate lasting power.
Lovely fragrance over all, you'll adjust to the fragrance eventually (all fragrances are like that way for me, so technically, I love all fragrances).

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/23/2014 10:21:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Smells more like tangerines than oranges, but it definitely has a freshly peeled citrus scent. Then it mellows to some sort of floral and sandalwood. It's nice, but reminded me of the old BBW Tangerine Dream or whatever it was called splash, and it lasts about as long as a BBW body splash.

Overall, inexpensive, not gross, but not outstanding enough to repurchase.


on 10/15/2014 7:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

A spritz of pure radiance. It's a peeling blood orange with the rind and pulp almost reading holographically, it feels so real. My twenties so far feel like a series of experiments in existential despair (or what passes for it in my extremely privileged life), but this makes me happy, especially on days where it's gloomy outside and all I want to do is hide under the covers. Highly recommended for other sad sacks, you WILL feel a little less bleak if you can trick your nose into happiness.


on 9/5/2014 9:25:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is an okay scent. I like the scent of sweet orange, but there is another note in this perfume that I just do not like in conjunction with the orange. It cuts the sweetness of it and makes it smell synthetic. I will not purchase the full-sized product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/23/2014 3:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This was my first true citrus perfume. As others have said, this smells exactly like the freshest squeezed orange juice. The longevity is pretty solid then dries to a creamy sandalwood. I'm not typically a fan of sandalwood as the sweet milkyness sometimes gives me a headache but this is light enough that it doesn't bother me. I only wear this in the summer when it is too humid for anything else.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/25/2014 3:00:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Quite simply, this stuff is amazing. It smells like oranges- not a fake orange scent, but the scent of squeezing an orange all over your body. So, fresh-squeezed orange, but less sticky, and some sort of note that makes it smell ever so slightly more refined and better than just the orange juice. I love it. As soon as I put it on my wrist is never far from my nose. I want to keep smelling and smelling and smelling. This also lasts longer than the typical citrus. While in a certain sense this scent is very summery, it also makes me think of Christmas. It's not explicitly spicy, but there's a hint of a Christmas orange in here. I'm totally in love.




on 3/28/2014 11:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The truest blood orange scent there is. This is citrus par excellence. Orange Sanguine has an incredibly juicy opening. This absolutely smells like the real fruit. And yet, once it settles on the skin, it is warmed by the jasmine and amber. I feel this prevents the fragrance from wandering into the realm of orange-scented cleaning products. It is an incredibly vibrant and uplifting fragrance. I would love to layer this with diptyque Vetyverio or something similar, just to add some more depth. The scent is delicious as is, though. My only criticism is the longevity; it is gone without a trace within a few hours. Do not be surprised if it leaves you wanting a tall, sunny glass of fresh-squeezed juice.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 10/19/2013 7:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love Orange Sanguine when it's first applied. It starts off as a very realistic orange fragrance, juicy and sweet smelling, but it quickly dries down to have sour and soapy undertones that I don't care for. After a half hour, it smells a lot like a citrus scented dish soap on me. I prefer Masaki Matsushima's Mat; Orange for a more realistic and less bitter/soapy orange.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/6/2013 8:35:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I'm no expert on fragrance notes, but this smells exactly like orange peel mixed with something clean yet warm and woody/floral. I do like the smell of orange peel, but this is so lifelike that it doesn't smell like perfume but like you have rubbed orange peel all over yourself.

I can see why this could be considered a unisex fragrance, but I think it initially has a sweetness to it that is unmistakably feminine yet turns more masculine as time passes. It doesn't last long at all which is a pity as I love the fruitiness of this. Not sure if I would buy a full size of this (I have a large sample) but I might look for more samples if the desire to wear this fragrance becomes a bit stronger. Worth a try!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Angel
Angel
1829 Reviews
Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1374 Reviews
Chance
Chance
960 Reviews
Pink Sugar
Pink Sugar
1886 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
140 Reviews


Back to Top