Annick Goutal • Ninfeo Mio • Fragrances

rated 2.6(16 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.25%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 lurketylurk on 7/7/2013 6:22:00 PM more reviews by lurketylurk

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Fig fragrances are nothing new, so Goutal had to really mix this one up to win the excitement of so many. Instead of the typical fig and sandalwood or fig and coconut combinations, Annick Goutal Ninfeo Mio pairs fig with citrus and lavender. An intriguing-sounding mix, I must say. I was expecting the most refreshing fragrance, a whiff of an Italian garden, a riot of green and lemons and herbs. I was NOT expecting dull sweetness and an unpleasant sharp note in the drydown. I can tolerate sweetish scents if they’re sophisticated but I have come to expect a fresh green sappiness from fig notes. Ninfeo Mio smells like a vaguely fruity vanilla. I know I’m in the minority here, but I do NOT like it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 topkapi on 3/15/2012 12:43:00 AM more reviews by topkapi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

I can see where this was going. It shot out of the bottle a quick nymph-like green...but, was quickly overtaken by a raspy lemon and a slow thick fig accord. The white flowers are drowned out in the milky bitter haze. The result is what a fig would smell like if they grew on tomato vines next to a pickled lemon tree. A green garden as drawn by Bosch?

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 catelfinel on 12/29/2011 9:05:00 PM more reviews by catelfinel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I would recommend sampling this (as with all scents really) but especially this as i think on the right skin it could be heavenly. Unfortunately on me it smelled 1/2 beautiful, of powdery and green soft figs and chocolate, and 1/2 of cat wee! I can't ignore the feline part even though I so want to.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 albinaalba on 8/23/2011 9:09:00 AM more reviews by albinaalba

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Turmeric and dill...and some volatile green( not ripe) fig...May be lovely, but my skin doesn't like it..I'd swap gladly my nearly full bottle:)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Wyrmiax on 2/3/2011 6:31:00 PM more reviews by Wyrmiax

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

My husband's most-hated fragrance note is what he describes as "green hairy vine," and for once I agree with him . After the galbanum opening, which lasted for 2 breaths (it is ever thus with galbanum, alas), it was all downhill with this one. Extremely astringent and bitter, especially in the heart notes. The drydown was utterly un-sweet fig, so I'd recommend it for someone wanting an un-sweet fig scent. But it was a scrubber for both of us.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ChiChi9 on 8/20/2010 3:34:00 PM more reviews by ChiChi9

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know if it just doesn't work with my chemistry, but this goes straight to a very strong cat pee smell on me! Terrible... scrubbed immediately.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 whitecountess on 8/7/2010 2:56:00 PM more reviews by whitecountess

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

When my father first came to American from Italy as a six year old boy, he saw a lemon on the kitchen table, and remembering the huge sweet lemons from home, took a huge bite. Our American lemons here are picked smaller and earlier for their biting sour taste, so he got quite a shock!
Ninfeo Mio is named for Giardino di Ninfa, a citrus garden near Rome. And it definitely gives you that Lemon feel, but Italian-style, big and sweet.
This scent was created by Isabelle Doyen, one of our most famed perfumers. Her scents are always complex. I recently sampled 'The Unicorn Spell' and it was a perfect show of her many-note talents.
Ninfeo Mio reminds me slightly of Herms Un Jardin en Mditerrane, a fragrance which truly makes you feel as though you're wafting through a garden, in a most beautiful sense.
Ninfeo is GREEN. If you love green, this is a wonderful new twist on that. You then get the citrusy lemon, and then it turns to something much sweeter, almost like someone has given you a spritz of lemonade in your champagne.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kittyc on 7/18/2010 1:32:00 AM more reviews by kittyc

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I tested this today and although I liked the green, over the top there was a scent that reminded me of something I would cook with, a spice or condiment of some kind. Maybe it's the fig. I'm sure my brain is just confused, and that other people would not react this way. But the result was that it seemed foodie to me, and I didn't like it. Still, I thought it unusual and extremely interesting and I may go back for another sniff. There will be people out there who will love NM to bits, I'm sure. Full marks as usual to Annick Goutal for diverting from the mainstream.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Funkly on 6/29/2010 10:24:00 AM more reviews by Funkly

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Citrus/fig/herby scent with good body and on me great lasting power. Fantastic in hot weather when you want to wear something that is both fresh but with more oomph than a straight cologne.
The milky fig and the green herby citrus play together beautifully. My only (very slight) complaint is that the lemon note is a little screechy especially on the opening, but otherwise a wonderful summer scent and a great fig.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KKAI on 5/14/2010 3:57:00 AM more reviews by KKAI

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

That was a small dissapointment! I expected something like Mandragore which I love but all I got was the smell of wet soil on my body. Yes,it is interesting and unusual but it is not me. The first impression is an earthy feeling with a strong lemon note. Then, after a few minutes, the green fig appears. Staying power is mediocre. It is definitely a unisex fragrance and I would personally prefer it on a man than a woman. I would not purchase a full bottle as I prefer my fragrances more feminine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Annick Goutal products

More Fragrances products