New York Color • Smooth & Natural Matte Powder Foundation - Metro Tan • Powder

rated 2.7(25 reviews)

Average Rating.2.7
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 SineadQ24 on 6/28/2012 4:26:00 PM more reviews by SineadQ24

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This "foundation" is the worst i have ever bought. I got it in the lightest shade they had, and it is completely orange on my skin. It doesn't spread at all, and sticks in patches to certain parts of my face. I do have quite dry skin though. I used the small sponge it came with to apply it and it does not spread it, and when using a brush to apply it, it doesn't even go on your face. It was only four euro, and the packaging is fine, but not very sturdy I would say.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AutumnBliss on 5/26/2012 9:03:00 PM more reviews by AutumnBliss

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This makes my complextion look good. Nice coverage too. It did turn a little orange, but I found away around that, I use a primer first. The primer keeps the powder foundation from turning orange on me. I will probably buy this again.
Love the how my skin appears with this on, and it is cheap.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* waymire01 on 2/18/2012 8:57:00 PM more reviews by waymire01

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this on a whim when I found it on clearance. I think I paid about 75 cents for it. Tried it this morning when I was in a rush and just wanted the basics since I had to run a few errands. Was not expecting much... but wow. I just used the little sponge it came with and it went on like a dream, extremely smooth, light to medium coverage, instantly evened out my skin. The feel of this is wonderful, it was really comfortable, and my skin was like silk. Lasted really well, looked totally natural, a very slightly satin finish. No shine as the day went on and I was out in the rain and humidity. I was wearing primer. The only problem was that it was too dark for me ( and this was the lightest shade). I will not be able to wear it now... but maybe this summer it will be ok, and I can see this being a perfect summer foundation. If you have a bit darker complexion (I'm a w2 in true match) I highly suggest it. Definitely a warm tone so cool girls won't like it.. and for sure pick a shade lighter than you think.

Edit: I have found this seems to do better without primer, it does not darken as much. I think it is reacting to something in the primer. Also definitely apply with a brush, tap into the product and buff in instead of the sponge, gives a much more sheer coverage. I fall back on this often now on days when I want a little something on my face but do not have time to fuss with foundation. It evens out skin tone, does a great job at controlling oil, and has a very smooth finish. Does not cake, or give a powdery finish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jessicahailey101 on 2/16/2012 9:40:00 PM more reviews by jessicahailey101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

this is pretty good powder. it makes my face look clear but it does feel a little bit heavy, but over all it's a great product (:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Suzy9797 on 2/10/2012 2:21:00 PM more reviews by Suzy9797

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

found this 75% off and figured i'd give it a whirl. i bought it in urban light. i tried it on without having any makeup on, and let me tell you.. it shocked the hell out of me. it covered redness on my chin and even helped the bags under my eyes. evened out my complexion. i don't think i could ever leave the house without foundation under it, but it's great to put over foundation. my only complaint is it looks a little powdery when you use the sponge, so try it with a brush. after i buffed it out, it looked great. for the price, it's definitely worth trying! they must be coming out with new stuff because a lot of the line was 75% off.
EDIT* after using it a few more days, i'm actually going to give it a 5 out of 5. the coverage is perfect and it really lasts. this isn't something i would expect from this brand, honestly. every powder has let me down. the fact that it's so much better than the stuff 3-4x the price is crazy, since this is obviously being discontinued : (

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 floatsmyboat on 1/5/2012 12:35:00 PM more reviews by floatsmyboat

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I liked this product a lot, however, i did not use it as a foundation, but as a finishing powder. it provides a nice natural coverage over tinted moisturizer . some advice to using it would be take a big, loose bristled brush and lightly sweep across your face! (:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ssslasher23 on 11/28/2011 12:18:00 AM more reviews by ssslasher23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Yuck, I'm pretty sure this is the product that made me break out. Looks powdery and cakey. completely unatural. Would not buy this product again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 breaktheattraction on 10/23/2011 2:53:00 PM more reviews by breaktheattraction

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this powder foundation in Urban Light, and let me just say, this is a great powder. It has matte coverage and worked great with my Avon foundation. It was a little cakey though, but it stayed on all day. Not to mention, It was nice and cheap. I bet I can find better powder foundations though, because this broke me out mildly, and my face kinda felt heavy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Parfumfan on 9/29/2011 6:26:00 AM more reviews by Parfumfan

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I got this in Metro Tan, which looked way lighter in the package than on skin. I think I should have gotten the lightest shade Urban Light instead, because it was way too orange on my light combo skin with pink undertones. The powder foundation has a smooth consistency, almost moist but not quite. It gave me light coverage (I need medium to full) and went on matte. The instructions suggest to 'apply one or more layers', but more than one layer will probably result in a cakey mess, at least on me. It managed to keep me matte about 3 hours, which is pretty good compared to other foundations I've used. Unfortunately it turned even more orange after a few hours of wear.
The packaging snaps close, which is a huge plus IMO: their mosaic face powders have loose lids that are a real pain to travel with. The sponge isn't too bad: it does what it's supposed to do; I've seen far worse. I like that this foundation doesn't have a discernable smell to it, and I like that it's fairly cheap overhere in Europe: 5 ($6.80) for 8 gram (0.28 oz).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 bozorico on 8/5/2011 7:53:00 PM more reviews by bozorico

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

This is horrible. I purchased this product because it was cheap. This powder foundation oxidizes and turns orange, is cakey, and has poor coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Powder products