Neutrogena • SkinClearing Mineral Powder • Powder

rated 3.1(65 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 directioner123 on 2/4/2014 2:14:00 AM more reviews by directioner123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

this was an overall good product. i got this on sale for $9. it somewhat covers my imperfections. its very sheer but enough to cover. the "skin clearing" thing isn't really a lie but not really the truth either. it doesn't clear up acne, just kinda makes it smaller but enough to make it unnoticeable. i really like that it is really milled and is easy to apply. a downside to this product is it only has shades for light toned people. i have somewhat dark skin but the powder is very sheer and blends amazingly so thats not really a problem. would i repurchase? maybe, but only if its on sale because the original price is around $14 at the drugstore.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 yesjessica on 12/27/2013 4:26:00 PM more reviews by yesjessica

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought Nude 40, which looks a tad too dark on my light skin in the winter time. The powder does a good job of covering my jawline acne and redness and it doesn't seem to cause any acne. It has talc and parabens though so I will probably switch to a true mineral powder even though they cost more. This is good enough to keep using until it runs out, but I probably won't buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* applecour on 10/29/2013 7:30:00 PM more reviews by applecour

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

BROKE ME OUT. I used this back in 2010 and couldn't remember why I ever stopped because it looked so pretty on, and even overt liquid foundation. then about a week in, I noticed pimples on my forehead and clogged pores on my chin. returned for full refund. won't ever go there again. guess this is why I stopped using it in the first place.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beccaisapunk on 10/23/2013 6:44:00 PM more reviews by beccaisapunk

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Can I just note something alot of people don't know and it makes SO MUCH DIFFERENCE ANYTIME you're wearing a POWDER FOUNDATION or even a setting powder that you're applying.

USE. A. SETTING. SPRAY!

I have combo skin that has been giving me so much trouble out of the blue for somebody who has always had "perfect" skin. Flaking all over, yet having greasy spots and pimples/whiteheads/and blackheads appearing everywhere.

I've used this several times before but never really by itself but with my skin acting up I wanted to see what I could do.

I used a moisturizer, let it soak in, and used a classic powder puff I got from the ELF HD setting powder. Anyhow, I applied it in classic ivory and I find that it did take me awhile because I REALLY had to swirl around a few times to get a good amount of product to cover well. Once I did that it's going to looks just.. powdery so I sprayed on elf's moisturizing setting spray. let that dry and now my skin looks and feels like satin.

I didn't use any concealer or anything, and it's definitely not full coverage but it gives the skin a more evened out look, and a great healthy feel.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kimdashylips on 9/16/2013 1:53:00 AM more reviews by Kimdashylips

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

ABSOLUTELY READ THIS REVIEW BEFORE TRYING. most of those reviewing this product simply do not understand its use or even how it works. First: if one has very dry skin, then ANY POWDER (WHICH IS ALREADY DRYING) with salicylic acid in it obviously is going to be way to overwhelming for your skin. Even combo may not like this powder. However I AM AN ACNE SUFFERER. I get tons of extremely clogged pores. I started using maybelline bb cream and then topping that off with this powder...WOW. this powder hides all pores, and ISNT FOR COVERAGE, but is for a nice matte flawless/poreless finish. It is drying but my skin is very oily and thats what I need. The applicator is amazing, and I get tons of compliments about my skin after using this. I can build coverage using mac fix plus. Me an my friends swear by this makeup and the fact that IT GETS NO CREDIT IS ANNOYING. like if this gets discontinued ill freak out because its great. FOR A NORMAL ROUTINE for those with different skin then I, USE A HEAVY MOISTURIZER, FOLLOWED BY PRIMER. PUT ON YOUR FOUNDATION AND THEN FINISH OFF BY PATTING THIS ON. F-L-A-W-L-E-S-S. ITS GREAT.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tessamen on 7/31/2013 11:55:00 AM more reviews by tessamen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I like this powder but it doesn't have much coverage. I've purchased 2 or 3 because I use it to set my makeup, I have acne prone skin and it keeps me relatively shine free until I need a touch up. I think I'll try Neutrogena's shine free powder, it's reviews are a bit better

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 FireyHeart on 7/22/2013 4:10:00 PM more reviews by FireyHeart

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I didn't like this powder at all at first. It didn't cover up ANYTHING, it caked up easily, and it's ironic that they call it "mineral" powder because it includes talc, parabens, etc. that some people usually avoid.

The salicylic acid percentage is too low to actually heal up your acne. At an only .05 percentage, you need to use this in conjunction with other things (such as the skinclearing liquid foundation and other skin care products) to really heal acne, but using up all of these products at once will obviously dry your skin out like crazy, which may result in even more exess sebum, ironically breaking you out even more, thus defeating the purpose. However, it does seen to prevent acne from getting any worse. It doesn't break me out.

However, there is some good in this powder, too. At first when I used it, I caked it up in an effort to make it cover up something and not only it failed, it looked abnormally matte and cakey, which made it obvious that I had powder on. After not using it for quite a while, I gave it one more chance by simply setting my makeup with it. It actually looked pretty good. With only a sheer layer, it mattified and set my makeup. Any more than just one layer will automatically make it look way to dry and cakey. I should also mention that because it contains a low percentage of salicylic acid, it's safe to use around the eyes.

Overall, I would use up this powder until I run out, but I wouldn't recommend this powder to anyone at this performance and at this price point, especially to dry skinned people. Trust me- if you have dry skin, you'd hate it. I will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 adreanac on 7/7/2013 5:53:00 PM more reviews by adreanac

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Other    

I really like this powder. It's not full coverage, but looks really natural. I moisturize, apply concealer, then apply this powder with a big face brush. My skin looks so natural & people ask if I'm wearing makeup. Perfect for summer because its light and not heavy. I buy it on sale bogo half off. So if you're looking for an everyday product that is natural & not so done up- this is great. Doesn't break me out or leave me oily. I have combination skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kgallagher12 on 6/27/2013 3:13:00 PM more reviews by kgallagher12

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This did not clear up my skin at all! Its great as a setting powder over liquid foundation. But alone it gives absolutely no coverage! I would not repurchase this because it isnt the best powder and i like the rimmel stay matte better

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ayeitsmonica on 6/19/2013 8:59:00 PM more reviews by ayeitsmonica

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Even though it claims to "help treat and prevent breakouts" and even though the powder is titled "Skin Clearing" this broke me out because it contained some harsh ingredients like talc. Most powders avoid using talc for a reason. It also contained mica but I don't know if mica is either bad or good for the skin as I've heard people argue about mica...This powder is NOT for sensitive skin. Probably not for acne prone skin either because it might cause break outs. Also, it didn't have any shades for darker skin tones for females with darker skin. The powder claims it's "non-irritating" but the ingredients are pretty irritating...My overall rating was based on how the powder reacted to my skin since the powder's purpose was to help and prevent breakouts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Powder products