Chanel • Shadowlights- Vega • Eye Shadow

rated 4.4(142 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ilymed2 on 3/1/2012 1:46:00 PM more reviews by ilymed2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My first Chanel eyeshadow. Not sure they still carry it, but they should. Great color payoff taupe that seems to be universally flattering. Doesn't crease on me and is easily buildable for more dramatic looks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mickinicki on 12/26/2011 9:52:00 AM more reviews by mickinicki

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Great shimmery/metallic taupe a little too dark for daylight but easily blendable. Very nice using in the eye socket area to deepen "le regard". Very pricey though, there is a similar shade in Lancome which is far more buttery and less metallic but still shimmery, a little less expensive. As always, Chanel packaging is faultless. Will buy again when finished, although it is lasting ages!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 llbeanpole on 5/21/2010 6:42:00 AM more reviews by llbeanpole

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a beautiful metallic taupe that is neutral and very easy to complement. The shade is more akin to a beige-grey metal, yet it doesn't look harsh or glittery. It is very versatile as a highlighter shade and can be paired with deeper warm or cool eyeshadows. Although there are prettier taupes out there, Chanel's Vega outshines them in terms of texture and longevity - it applies smoothly like a silky satin, stays on all day and no fall-out on the cheeks. It's one of those no-brainer eyeshadows for when I'm in a hurry and needs to put on my make-up on the run.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anna_hstad on 9/27/2008 9:37:00 AM more reviews by anna_hstad

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

An oldie but goodie...I always come back to this one..I love the colour especially in the summer paired with a tan, makes my blue eyes pop, bit of sparkle but not over the top...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jillyjill on 1/27/2008 10:41:00 AM more reviews by jillyjill

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am a self proclaimed taupe addict...I ran to get this when I heard it was being dc. Sadly, I didn't love it as much as everyone else did. I felt the texture wasn't on par w/ the price tag. I swapped it away and never looked back. Chanel's Safari is now my HG taupe.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Annuta on 4/10/2007 7:59:00 AM more reviews by Annuta

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love this color and am afraid of running out myself, like posters below mentioned. It's a beautiful taupe color with just the right amout of shimmer. Color can be made more intense for a night out with layering. A sweep of this shadow makes my green eyes really stand out. This is one of few shadows that I've actually gotten compliments on from my male friends.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jennifer_Mc on 11/22/2006 6:57:00 PM more reviews by Jennifer_Mc

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I feel like I am in the midst of break up with Vega. After reading the fabulous reviews from years ago about this shade, I still remember my excitement when I finally surrendered to my lemming and shelled out the $$ for this e/s. I anxiously went home to try it and sadly found it simply didn't do for me what I thought others had described it had done to them. Specifically, I was bothered that I looked incredibly tired and drained even though I wasn't. I expected a shimmer that didn't appear on my PPP blonde blue-eyed complexion. I tried to ignore my own questions about it and continued to use it for years. However, everytime I glanced at myself in the mirror, I would think that this isn't the right shade for me. Finally, I happened upon a review for Cover Girl's Tapestry Taupe and decided to cheaply wander there, never thinking I'd eventually give up Vega for TT. Well, for me TT was the color I really wanted Vega to be. It is more shimmery and doesn't go on as dark. I believe it's the multitint of grey and violet shimmer that can darken Vega. I'm sure it's great for many, just not me. I eventually came to terms that Vega needed to be replaced by omg - a d/s brand. There's no denying Chanel's quality, the beautiful packaging, the feeling of investment that one gets when puchasing a luxury shadow. For this reason, I gave it the 4 lippies. But truth be told, I gave CG's 5 lippies.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 La_Belle on 8/19/2006 12:58:00 AM more reviews by La_Belle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love you Oh Vega!!!!
Too bad, so sad...the story of our lives, why they always discountinue the good stuff?! (I live in Canada and "Shadowlights" (including Vega) are gone here as well...)
I still have some left though. Plan B: go get Lancome Color Dose "Spice Islands", it has a creamy texture and it's a tad darker than Vega, but it's pretty darn close!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Love8Brain on 6/18/2006 11:06:00 PM more reviews by Love8Brain

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have half a pan and one back up and I'm so nervous about running out. My Holy Grail. It's gorgeous and one quick swipe and I look fabulous all day. It stays on like all the Shadowlights all day long on me. I have really oily eyelids and I work hard. This makes me crazy that they discontinued it. Is there anywhere we can buy it still? Mail order? Anything? Bueller? Anyone?Edit; NeverSeenBlue helped me out by telling me this is still available in Canada, so I did a search and found it is still available on Amazon.com. YAY! I now have an additional two backups. I feel so safe and secure! Plus I have a friend who is in Paris and she says that the new Shadowlights are to die for! YAY!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 absolutbuffy on 4/11/2006 1:37:00 PM more reviews by absolutbuffy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I love taupe eyeshadow and I have to say that this is probably my favorite. It is a cool taupe with no red undertones and can be built up for more intensity. It is shimmery, but definitely not over the top. I am a PPP with blue eyes and this makes my eye color pop. It is similar to MAC's coco, but I find Coco to have the slightest bit of red undertone while Vega does not. This is very expensive, but well worth it. This color has been discontiued in the U.S.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Eye Shadow products