Serge Lutens L'Eau

3.3

15 reviews

40% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/20/2013 2:43:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Serge Lutens' crisp ironed white shirt fragrance but of course a very expensive haute couture white shirt !
This fragrance though it's been criticised as being totally out of character for Serge Lutens and perhaps a commercial type release actually has subtle nuances in it that takes it a league above the clean type fragrances so popular in Sephora.
It was another not love at first sniff scent but it grew on me and I took time to smell the little changes in the scent here and there.
it begins with lots of clean ,clean , steamy searing just ironed shirt aldehydes and also some citrus -bergamot ,neroli notes . It then goes through a metallic lily stage. Some people like metallic and some don't ...it took me a while to appreciate. Then it settled down to just a clean musk with light lily . Very interesting if you *listen* to it change . Still it's a clean scent. It also has great but subtle longevity through the day. You will just smell clean and not perfumed. Better than any scent you may find in Sephora under the clean category .Very good.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/24/2012 9:18:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I wanted to love this and it is a pleasant fragrance, not sickly but fresh and citrussy. it just smells a little dated to me like an updated Issy Miyake. It is very nice if you are feeling abit off colour and do not want a heavy hitter but, it is just a little boring for a Lutens. I may be being a bit unfair because I am judging it against SL's other fragrances which contain some magical works of genius. This is not one of them. I prefer Mugler cologne for my clean hit, but I do not hate the Lutens it is just a bit meh. I get quite a lot of melon from this but have no idea if it is a listed note. Also, my skin eats fumes and this has not got SL's magic staying power. Still is is a l'eau so I am probably being too Judgemental. I would not buy again.


on 8/11/2011 4:56:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I am very surprised that I like this perfume so much, especially given all the flack it's been getting for being a boring, uninspired, selling out to the Asian market who cries for "clean" type of scent. I figured what the heck, let me give it a go after receiving a sample and I quickly realized that Uncle Serge didn't sell out, he's just testing new waters;)


It's clean and refreshing scent and I get the laundry reference but no, it's not like sniffing a box of tide for god's sake. This is a highly sophisticated rendition of "clean" and worth every penny. It's light and lovely, beautiful for year round but especially for spring and summer. It's an effortless, doesn't have to try hard kind of a scent; it has no hidden agendas. It may not be as exciting and mysterious as some of Luten's other perfumes but it certainly has an elegance to it. It's not at all soapy- at least not on me. I get a hint of bergamont? and sage at the beginning and the sweet magnolia stays with you the whole day; it starts to dry down ever so sweetly and gently. Oh, it's a magical perfume, it really is... it is deceptively simple and I love that. People won't notice it off the bat because it's unobtrusive but when you get a hug from a friend, a kiss on the cheek from a loved one they will compliment you on how lovely you smell. The sillage is amazing... it will last.all.day. I can still smell it on my wrists at the end of a long day and it lifts my spirits up and puts a smile on my face. I highly recommend that you test try this out; get a sample of it if you can and judge for yourself.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 8/25/2010 11:02:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Great soapy, crisp clean fresh scent, like linen on the line. Reminds me A LOT of Nickel Au Maximum in the crisp clean thin citrus department. Nice, but ultimately as advertised: A non-perfume. I sorta like perfume.


on 7/29/2010 9:00:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This smells like buttered popcorn to me. Faintly, but it does. I have no explanation. I'd really like to love a Serge because the bottle shapes are gorgeously simple, but no luck so far.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

L'Eau which conjures up the smell of a cleanly laundered ironed white shirt. Great for days you're just in the mood for something fresh and etheral. Soothing, crisp and long lasting.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/19/2010 12:49:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a "Perfume for people who don't like perfume." For those who don't like floral, cloying, musky fragrances, this is going to be "IT".
Perfume houses have been making scents somewhat like this for men for years, but Lutens has done it better. This scent has no rough edges and is perfectly rounded.
I happen to like my perfume a little more dangerous and exciting.
Perfectly Unisex, clean, fresh, you can wear it anywhere. People will like how you smell, but not know why.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 6/15/2010 10:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

You can pretty much smell all of the notes in here if you pay attention, including the soft magnolia, however the overall feeling is of a clean fresh soft citrus, very slight herbal feel, totally unisex. But a bit boring too.
I have had no luck with any of SL's perfumes, and I bought this thinking that i might just love it as it's supposedly such a departure from his normal work, well it is, but I wouldn't buy this either. I just don't like his style.


on 3/28/2010 1:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

While this starts out smelling clean and inoffensive (not too much of anything), it is so tenacious and can get rather cloying quickly. It reminds me too much of an aquatic and air fresheners - not my cup of tea at all.


on 3/21/2010 4:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I can't really add much to this that the below reviewers haven't covered, clean soapy lalalala. You get the picture. What I can add is that the SA that was helping me sprayed this on his skin and I got a distinctive flintiness to this - that sensory equivalent of stone somehow. Very interesting, but not for me.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1374 Reviews
Chance
Chance
960 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
140 Reviews
No.5
No.5
944 Reviews
Si
Si
44 Reviews


Back to Top