Serge Lutens • L'Eau • Fragrances

rated 3.3(15 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.40%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Melloney on 5/20/2013 2:43:00 PM more reviews by Melloney

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Serge Lutens' crisp ironed white shirt fragrance but of course a very expensive haute couture white shirt !
This fragrance though it's been criticised as being totally out of character for Serge Lutens and perhaps a commercial type release actually has subtle nuances in it that takes it a league above the clean type fragrances so popular in Sephora.
It was another not love at first sniff scent but it grew on me and I took time to smell the little changes in the scent here and there.
it begins with lots of clean ,clean , steamy searing just ironed shirt aldehydes and also some citrus -bergamot ,neroli notes . It then goes through a metallic lily stage. Some people like metallic and some don't ...it took me a while to appreciate. Then it settled down to just a clean musk with light lily . Very interesting if you *listen* to it change . Still it's a clean scent. It also has great but subtle longevity through the day. You will just smell clean and not perfumed. Better than any scent you may find in Sephora under the clean category .Very good.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BigEars on 1/24/2012 9:18:00 PM more reviews by BigEars

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I wanted to love this and it is a pleasant fragrance, not sickly but fresh and citrussy. it just smells a little dated to me like an updated Issy Miyake. It is very nice if you are feeling abit off colour and do not want a heavy hitter but, it is just a little boring for a Lutens. I may be being a bit unfair because I am judging it against SL's other fragrances which contain some magical works of genius. This is not one of them. I prefer Mugler cologne for my clean hit, but I do not hate the Lutens it is just a bit meh. I get quite a lot of melon from this but have no idea if it is a listed note. Also, my skin eats fumes and this has not got SL's magic staying power. Still is is a l'eau so I am probably being too Judgemental. I would not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ckapp on 8/11/2011 4:56:00 AM more reviews by ckapp

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am very surprised that I like this perfume so much, especially given all the flack it's been getting for being a boring, uninspired, selling out to the Asian market who cries for "clean" type of scent. I figured what the heck, let me give it a go after receiving a sample and I quickly realized that Uncle Serge didn't sell out, he's just testing new waters;)


It's clean and refreshing scent and I get the laundry reference but no, it's not like sniffing a box of tide for god's sake. This is a highly sophisticated rendition of "clean" and worth every penny. It's light and lovely, beautiful for year round but especially for spring and summer. It's an effortless, doesn't have to try hard kind of a scent; it has no hidden agendas. It may not be as exciting and mysterious as some of Luten's other perfumes but it certainly has an elegance to it. It's not at all soapy- at least not on me. I get a hint of bergamont? and sage at the beginning and the sweet magnolia stays with you the whole day; it starts to dry down ever so sweetly and gently. Oh, it's a magical perfume, it really is... it is deceptively simple and I love that. People won't notice it off the bat because it's unobtrusive but when you get a hug from a friend, a kiss on the cheek from a loved one they will compliment you on how lovely you smell. The sillage is amazing... it will last.all.day. I can still smell it on my wrists at the end of a long day and it lifts my spirits up and puts a smile on my face. I highly recommend that you test try this out; get a sample of it if you can and judge for yourself.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 8/25/2010 11:02:00 AM more reviews by tessture

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Great soapy, crisp clean fresh scent, like linen on the line. Reminds me A LOT of Nickel Au Maximum in the crisp clean thin citrus department. Nice, but ultimately as advertised: A non-perfume. I sorta like perfume.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Catttt on 7/29/2010 9:00:00 PM more reviews by Catttt

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This smells like buttered popcorn to me. Faintly, but it does. I have no explanation. I'd really like to love a Serge because the bottle shapes are gorgeously simple, but no luck so far.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AlineEtValcour on 7/21/2010 more reviews by AlineEtValcour

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

L'Eau which conjures up the smell of a cleanly laundered ironed white shirt. Great for days you're just in the mood for something fresh and etheral. Soothing, crisp and long lasting.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 whitecountess on 7/19/2010 12:49:00 AM more reviews by whitecountess

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is a "Perfume for people who don't like perfume." For those who don't like floral, cloying, musky fragrances, this is going to be "IT".
Perfume houses have been making scents somewhat like this for men for years, but Lutens has done it better. This scent has no rough edges and is perfectly rounded.
I happen to like my perfume a little more dangerous and exciting.
Perfectly Unisex, clean, fresh, you can wear it anywhere. People will like how you smell, but not know why.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 9154mf on 6/15/2010 10:51:00 PM more reviews by 9154mf

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

You can pretty much smell all of the notes in here if you pay attention, including the soft magnolia, however the overall feeling is of a clean fresh soft citrus, very slight herbal feel, totally unisex. But a bit boring too.
I have had no luck with any of SL's perfumes, and I bought this thinking that i might just love it as it's supposedly such a departure from his normal work, well it is, but I wouldn't buy this either. I just don't like his style.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cors on 3/28/2010 1:40:00 AM more reviews by cors

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

While this starts out smelling clean and inoffensive (not too much of anything), it is so tenacious and can get rather cloying quickly. It reminds me too much of an aquatic and air fresheners - not my cup of tea at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KelseyP on 3/21/2010 4:30:00 PM more reviews by KelseyP

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I can't really add much to this that the below reviewers haven't covered, clean soapy lalalala. You get the picture. What I can add is that the SA that was helping me sprayed this on his skin and I got a distinctive flintiness to this - that sensory equivalent of stone somehow. Very interesting, but not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Serge Lutens products

More Fragrances products