Bourjois • Healthy Mix Foundation • Liquid

rated 4.1(673 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 SalemX on 11/19/2014 11:23:00 PM more reviews by SalemX

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I remember being in school and trying out so many foundations, most of them made me look cakey or broke me out.
But Healthy mix foundation was refreshing! It was felt light but covered a lot of my acne and didn't break me out as much. It became a favourite for many months but I stopped using it to try and find something even better!

It's now a few years on and I've just bought it again; I'll update once I've tried it out again for a few weeks! Hopefully it's as amazing as I can remember!

Edit: I've definitely love this foundation because of how light it feels and the glow it gives you! It doesn't cover everything but by using along side my Maybeline FIT me foundation I covered all of my acne scaring without looking like cakey! Good price & good for sensitive skin <3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yoshiii on 11/13/2014 12:55:00 AM more reviews by yoshiii

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Purchased while visiting the UK at Boots for 10 quid (~$17 US exchange rate at the time). It's so good for oily skin! It's not a heavy foundation at all and also works well for my Asian skin, which is more warm-toned (usually drugstore foundation does not work for me bc it's too pink-toned). Very natural looking and lasts all day. I've never purchased a drugstore foundation, but this one has high online reviews, so I decided to try, and I'm happy I did. I will definitely search on eBay for more (and if it's true that another reviewer said it costs $14 for them, then that's cheaper than when I bought in store that actually sells this foundation).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 liluc on 11/11/2014 5:48:00 PM more reviews by liluc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I am very new in the foundation world.this is my second one.so I like it.in summer it was good on my skin.need some powder too.but in winter when my skin is very dry and flaky it fails.no matter how I apply it.it catches my dry patches.looks horrible.i am on the hunt of new one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nani51 on 11/7/2014 12:11:00 AM more reviews by nani51

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

My Skin
I'm Asian with NC20-25 skin. Neither of them matches me perfectly. And I have been matched to MUFE HD #140 through Sephora's Color IQ. It's close but not quite. And I'm between L'Oreal True Match W2-W3. I have combination oily skin that is dehydrated. (I'm bad at remembering to moisturize hence dehydrated) I mainly wear foundation to cover some hyper pigmentation from old acne scars and just even out my skin tone. I am prone to acne and that is a worry when I'm trying out foundation.

The Foundation
Since I live in the US, I bought it from eBay for what seems to be a fair price of $14. The seller makes a profit but it's not unreasonably price compared to drugstore foundation in America which generally goes from $10-15. It comes in a glass bottle with a red pump and clear plastic cap. The foundation has an oddly fruity smell which is quite pleasant, it's just unexpected. I bought it in shade 52 Vanilla which doesn't quite match me. It's has a light yellow tone, but perhaps not yellow enough for me, giving me a bit of a ashey tone when I wear it. It's also a tad too light for me, but close of enough that I can get away with it using powder. I'll be trying number 53 the next time I purchase. Compared to my other foundations, this is lighter and less yellow then the MUFE #140. Next to it the MUFE looks almost orange from the yellow/gold undertone. It's also lighter then the True Match in W3 but darker then True Match W2. I don't have a MAC one to compare it to now. It blends easily into the skin and looks quite natural as long as you don't have dry patches for it to cling onto. It dries to a satiny finish. Not at all matte or dewy. It does nothing for the under eye circles but redness from acne is easily covered

My Routine
I first moisturize my face. With dehydrated skin, I need about 10 minutes with a good moisturizer before I apply the foundation. Make sure to wipe off the excess. I pump one pump on the back of my hand and apply with the ELF Studio Powder Brush. I then pump a second pump and finish applying the foundation on my face. With two pumps I have a medium/full coverage. I powder and finish applying the reset of my makeup.

The Wear
I have oily skin. I have super oily skin. And I have yet to find a foundation that wears very well on my oily skin, so I didn't expect this one to either. And it doesn't. Within 3-4 hours or so I need to blot and powder. But then even MUFE Mat-Vel+ didn't keep me matte. So take that into consideration.

Conclusion
I like the coverage, and the way it feels on my skin. It doesn't feel heavy or cakey. If you have super oily skin, remember you will have to blot and powder quite a bit. Dry skin people might have problems with patchiness and I don't recommend it. Anyone with normal skin might love this. I'll be experimenting with UD All Nighter and De-Slick to see if that cuts down on the oily problem. Also I'll be trying shade 53 to see if I can get a closer match. For the price, I love this foundation, I just wish it wore better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MakeupOCD on 10/31/2014 6:09:00 AM more reviews by MakeupOCD

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

So, I have massive OCD when it comes to makeup but foundation especially. Honestly, i can probably say that over the last year and half i'm not far off spending 700. I have bought Urban Decay Naked Skin foundation, which had too much of a powder finish for my combination skin, Giorgio Armani Luminous Skin foundation and i was so disappointed with this considering it was so expensive to buy. It didn't stay on at all and it made my face oilier than usual. Benefit Oxygen was exactly the same! I thought going for a fuller coverage foundation might be better for me so i bought a lot of these too: Estee Lauder Double Wear Light, Smashbox studio finish and a lot more. Basically, i have spent a fortune for nothing... And then i fount the Bourjois Healthy Mix. For the price this foundation is amazing!!! When comparing this foundation to the huge list of products that i have already bought and tried, this foundation wins hands down. It keeps my forehead shine at bay, it gives a lovely finish (which i always struggle with because of my skin texture), it has great coverage and blends so unbelievably well, the colour matched my skin perfectly and you have full control of how much product you want to use depending on the type of finish/look that you want. OK, so it might not last as long Urban Decay but it puts up a good fight and for the price, you cant complain as it beats some of the other foundations that are mentioned above. When it gets to late afternoon, i just lightly brush my powder over my face and it looks smoother and fresher again without the powder really clinging to the foundation. I found this foundation through MakeupAlley under 'the best of the best' section and overall, i would have to agree!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ilusuens on 10/28/2014 11:55:00 AM more reviews by ilusuens

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I like the finish of this foundation. If I use my sigma f82 brush, I get a slightly dewy finish, if i use my beautyblender I get a glowy finish. So this foundation claims to provide a flawless finish while lasting up to 16 hours. Well I use around 1 pump of this foundation and i can cover up most of my acne scars. I'd say its a medium coverage foundation as I use estee lauder double wear (old formulation) and I also use around the equivalent of 1 pump but I get more coverage. As for the lasting power, it definitely did not last 16 hours. It barely lasted 3-4 hours on me. I wore this foundation at 7.20 am and at 10-11am my oil was breaking through. I didnt sweat or anything since I was in an aircon room. By the end of the day, I reached home at 10 pm, removed my makeup with bioderma and I only had to use 3 cotton pads as compared to the 7-8 pads I got from my double wear with the same wearing time. My face was super oily and shiny and I couldnt see any foundation on my face. I really wanted to like this foundation but I would only recommend it to dry-normal skinned girls. As an oily skinned girl I think ill stick to the double wear.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sahbear95 on 10/28/2014 6:13:00 AM more reviews by sahbear95

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Great everyday foundation, perfect for work or school, as it is a build able coverage that can start from a light to medium or become full if desired. Smells pleasant, but could be irritating to sensitive skin prone to breakouts. Love this foundation for when I'm feeling lazy and need something that looks fool proof. The foundation makes my skin look light and refreshed, even thought I have oily skin, and this foundation does not enflame that at all, with the right powder the foundation can last all day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KMCJM on 10/23/2014 7:18:00 AM more reviews by KMCJM

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I got this after reading reviews on here. I have acne prone skin, but this last winter my skin had been so dry and the foundations I was using just make it look dry and flaky and patchy.
Healthy mix has been fantastic, my skin looks fresh and dewy when wearing it. Even after finishing with a powder. You will need a powder and probably some kind of base too because it just doesn't last without it. Goes on and blends nicely, it's only a light to medium coverage, but can build it up a little and it still looks nice.
The smell is lovely and fruity. It is quite moisturising which I was looking for. I really like this and would definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 aidan83 on 10/21/2014 6:09:00 PM more reviews by aidan83

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I'm reacting to this foundation but the healthy mix serum works just fine.
Not sure why but i am so disappointed because i bought this one off ebay from UK.

Color oxidizes to more "beige" and "orange" than the healthy mix serum, the latter doesn't really oxidizes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Perfectbody on 10/9/2014 2:38:00 AM more reviews by Perfectbody

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Drug store foundation with affordable price. Texture and smell is good, easy to apply whatever you use your fingers, foundation brush or puff.I think it suit for dry or normal skin type but on my oily-combination skin it's really bad which my face was getting greasy than usual.

Pros
-light coverage
-good smell
-affordable price
-smooth texture

Cons
-not suit for oily/combination skin type

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bourjois products

More Liquid products