Cover Girl • Smoky ShadowBlast • Eye Shadow

rated 1.5(196 reviews)

Average Rating.1.5
Would buy this product again.9%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 hannahps on 1/15/2014 12:46:00 AM more reviews by hannahps

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I got the purple combination a while back, used it once and stashed it in my drawer. It goes on pretty nicely, but creases within minutes - and its blendability is awful. Somewhere in between a powder shadow (which is easy to blend with a brush) and a cream shadow (which is easy to blend with fingers), this is an impractical product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* seaswan on 6/28/2013 8:54:00 PM more reviews by seaswan

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

It's a greasy, frosty, creasy, mess! CG what were you smoking when you came up with this?
I got the bronze duo and returned it the next day. If you some day see this for a dollar don't waste your buck.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Neivahismyname on 3/30/2013 12:25:00 AM more reviews by Neivahismyname

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This product..... oooh this product. It's a big no no. I got this in the bronze color and i must say the colors are gorgeous! The one side is a sandy light shimmery color and the darker side is a cute copper. I'm a sucker for the nude like colors. I put this on right after i got it, came back to the mirror literally 10 mins later and BAM huge crease. The formula is creamy and nice but really? how can it crease that quickly? And it was a littler pricier. I would not reccommend this to anyone at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 katie0804 on 1/21/2013 5:49:00 PM more reviews by katie0804

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Honestly, I don't think this stuff is that bad. The color is nice, and it lasts for a while. I have had issues with it creasing, but if you put a little translucent powder in the crease of your eyelid over the makeup, it helps a lot. On my brown ShadowBlast the darker side popped out, but I just put it back in, and I'm a little more careful with it. Overall, I like this product. I think it looks pretty good, and there aren't too many problems with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ColorDream on 1/7/2013 7:28:00 AM more reviews by ColorDream

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I don't really have anything bad to say about this product. I have the pink/brown combo as well as the silver/grey combo. The pink & brown is my favorite for everyday use. I use my eyeshadows more as accents so the full-blown smoky look never really mattered to me. Having said that, it might be important to note that I use these as separate colors and not together. I don't like a heavily made up look and these colors are perfect for the natural look that I prefer.

I've read a lot about these breaking and /or creasing. I haven't had trouble with either. The product goes on smoothly and I don't have problems with it being too heavy, greasy, or sticky. I also apply them as they are without any sort of eye shadow base or anything. My recommendation would be to use this product with a light touch and an even hand. You can always layer more color if you prefer a more dramatic look. Besides, you don't want to pull the delicate skin around your eyes as much as possible. Also, for those desiring the smoky look that this product was intended for - don't forget to blend!

Overall, a more than satisfactory product (at least for me).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 twilightbloom on 12/30/2012 6:23:00 PM more reviews by twilightbloom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I read the reviews about the tip breaking off and thought it wouldn't happen to me. It did and I wasn't even using it at the time. I got it out of my purse and the onyx side broke of my oynx/smoke. Also the color wouldn't go on my lids smooth.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 RoseJade on 11/29/2012 4:51:00 PM more reviews by RoseJade

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I thought it might have just been me but i guess not...these really do suck..haha im sorry CG i just really HATE these. They looked so lovely that when I bought them i got 2 different colors and the matching eyeliner (liquilineblast). On the box it said use both the liner and shadow for an ultimate intense smoky eye look, which was exactly what I wanted so I figured I'd give it a shot.
Before I get sidetracked I must say that both the silver sky and purple plume hardly show up on my lids. They don't even feel good, they feel sorta sticky and dirty. Lastly I must stress DO NOT waste your money on this!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MakeupFreak93 on 10/22/2012 3:03:00 PM more reviews by MakeupFreak93

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I'm actually very surprised to hear all of the negative feedback about these shadows because I've had great luck with them. I have Bronze Fire (bronze & gold), Silver Sky (silver & purple), Purple Plume (pink & purple), Tempest Blue (blue & blue and Onyx Smoke (white & black). Pretty decent cream eyeshadows that do take a little practice to get good at applying, little bits goes a long way and if you use too much they do crease.
The Tempest Blue is way too blue for a fair skin tone and I think that it would look radiant with someone who has a dark skin tone with really dark eyes.
The Onyx Smoke is the trickiest to apply, and even with care and little bits, you can still end up with a raccoon eye, my least favorite shade.
The Bronze Fire and Purple Plume really warms up your skin and almost makes your eyes smolder, with fair skin, it really brings out color in my cheeks.
Silver Sky is a super-seducing shade and is my ultimate favorite, great for party nights.
Ultimately, pretty decent line, I haven't tried Citrus Flair but perhaps in the future I will. Just didn't think the colors would flatter me at the time. The tricks are to use sparingly, blend crazily and you'll love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AllieMonique on 10/17/2012 9:27:00 PM more reviews by AllieMonique

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

i have this in bronze fire #815 and i dont understand all the bad reviews i think im the only one that this worked for :S
Anyway I use this basically every day for running around and it has replaced most of my eyeshadows it seems to last along time and doesnt crease at all and i have gotten loads of compliments about it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 coaliemanslittlegirl on 10/2/2012 9:01:00 PM more reviews by coaliemanslittlegirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Maybe I got a really good one, but I actually really like this product, and in the way I use them, they don't crease at all . I put on my eyeshadow primer, then apply a thin layer of these as bases, and then top them with a complimentery powder eye shadow. You can't wear these alone or they'll crease like crazy, but they're amazing bases in really beautiful colors. I have the grey and purple one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Eye Shadow products