Chanel Rouge Coco in Mademoiselle 05

4.3

163 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/15/2015 7:24:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this lipstick...the color is a great that works with my very fair skintone...but my tube isn't manufactured properly & the gold part comes off with the lid, leaving me with only white plastic! Oh and I found an EXACT DUPE of this: Make Up For Ever color N9 (copper pink)!! I have both & they are identical in color, shade & texture! Go figure? I guess I'm taking one back...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 4/30/2015 8:09:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I wanted a lipstick with elegant packageing to carry in my purse. Naturally, spending this $$ on a lipstick, I wanted it to be PERFECT. Great color, moisturizing, good staying power and a tolerable smell/taste. The color is gorgeous on me. A subtle, but not boring rose. All I can say is that if I could only wear one makeup product and dash out the house, this would be it. It totally lights up my face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/5/2015 9:12:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have fair skin (I usually buy the lightest foundation shade they got) and almost any lipstick goes pink or changes color on me. My favourite Guerlain Kiss Kiss lipstick was discontinued and I went around looking for another lipstick. A trip to Sephora, and after trying on countless colors, I really really liked NARS Dolce Vita lipstick. A trip to Macy's and I noticed the Rouge Coco line was different and found out they just released a new reformulated line.

I tried on several colors without looking at the name, and kept on coming back to try Mademoiselle. I ended up buying this one, and the new shade Marie. I used to only wear lipstick on rare or special occasions and now I wear it daily in the office.

I like that I can either wear it with one swipe and it's a 'like my lip color but slightly more/better', and another swipe produces a more opaque color. I use a Chanel lipliner with it and it lasts a much longer time. I know the color looks great when other women in the office ask me what shade I'm using.

I would recommend this color for anyone afraid to wear a lipstick daily. What really helps is finding a matching lipliner, and you don't have to use the Chanel, even a drugstore one would work to. This color made me a lipstick convert.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/8/2015 1:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I bought this as a gift to myself when I got a promotion, and am so happy with my purchase. I bought the shade "05 Mademoiselle" because it was the colour featured in the launch advertising I had seen in print and video... and I was charmed by how it really seemed to light-up the model's face so easily and naturally.

Upon first application directly from the bullet, the lipstick has a texture of a beautiful rich-cream. It is full-coverage and beautifully pigmented. There is an ever-so-slight sheen or glow that is really quite natural and lovely. It is not shiny at all, but my lips look naturally slightly moist and healthy. On me the texture wears beautifully, slowly diminishing from the centre out. The colour and texture together make a very forgiving combination.

This wears like any lipstick: about 3-4 hours without eating. It does not get cakey. The colour makes it easy to apply with or without mirror, so it's no big deal to pat on a thin layer after lunch, then touch-up at my desk if I have a meeting.

Personally, I wear this lipstick 3 ways: light & natural (I apply then gently blot for a enhanced-natural lip colour and add some balm); medium for work or day (I swipe one coat straight from the bullet and soften the edges of my lips); and evening/special occasion (I apply full-coverage and with a stronger edge, for a date or evening event with my partner).

The colour itself is quite ideal because it flexible to be both soft and strong, and works well with a "natural look" or more "smokey eye" dramatic look. A very versatile shade. I need my makeup kit to be streamlined. In fact, upon cleaning out my makeup kit, this was one of the two lipsticks I kept!

Last word, the packaging is absolutely elegant, and the very gentle fragrance is pure beauty. As with all Chanel products I've tried, using this lipstick makes me feel elegant, beautiful, cared-for and womanly. It is definitely worth a try and a repurchase.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/29/2014 8:49:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is the colour that Channel used in its advertising for the range which was why i purchased it. I immediately fell in love with the colour, natural enough for everyday and for special occasions.

The quality is also excellent and easy to apply. I've tried other brands which slip on application and run (and thus requiring a lip liner). This lipstick could be applied with precision without a lip brush and it smells divine!

The packaging is excellent and so beautiful that it would be a waste to be left in a bag. Worth the money!

The only negative is that it does not last long - 3-4 hours at most, however that is a feature of lipsticks in general rather than the fault of this particular product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/20/2013 2:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I love Chanel lipsticks. They are hands down my favorite and leaps and bounds better than Trish, NARS, MAC, etc. That being said, this formula is great, but two lippies off for this shade, which looks horribly orange-y on me. It doesn't look anything like the pictures of others wearing it. Sad. For reference I am MAC NC15 or Studio Fix N4 and have some pink in my skin tone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/7/2013 2:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I debated for a long time on whether I wanted this shade or something like Cambon. Since I'm more of a bright lipstick gal, I have plenty of reds and pinks. I figured I should try something neutral and pretty. This is perfect for me. It's more of a coral mauve on my lips than a brown mauve. It looks elegant and simple. If really makes your face look beautiful but not overdone. I am in love and have been reaching for it more than my other lipsticks. The texture is not drying or moisturizing, more of an in between.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/6/2013 4:17:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So I saw some reviews and thought this would be perfect for me.. not really. The color is chic and neutral but the texture is too dry. And dry lippies just give me the dreaded "aging" mouth. Moister lips look more youthful.


on 10/12/2013 11:20:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Mademoiselle is a lovely shade that is really flattering and looks great for all occasions. It goes on medium rose on my lips. The formula is great - very creamy, moisturizing and doesn't dry out the lips.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/11/2013 10:04:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I was a little apprehensive about purchasing this color, because I read reviews calling this color, pink, nude, peach and coral, so I wasn't sure what to expect. I'm very cool and any hint of warmth in a lipstick pulls orange and looks like I've been eating Cheetos. Despite my reservations, I took the $34 plus tax USD plunge and I'm glad I did.

This is a beautiful color. There are so many ways to describe it, but the color that comes to mind is "wood rose." On me it's a rosy pink with a hint of beige-brown. It's neutral, yet leans slightly warmer, but does not pull orange. This color apparently looks different on everyone, which is what makes it so versatile. What I like the most, however, is the feel. Very lightweight and moisturizing. This doesn't chap my lips and is long-wearing. I've been touting Estee Lauder's Rose Tea as my HG, but Mademoiselle might be the one.

The price is pretty outrageous, so if you're looking for an affordable dupe, a lot of people are comparing Mademoiselle to Revlon's Soft Rose. I find it to be similar to MAC's Cosmo, but Cosmo is more mauve.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
191 Reviews
Provocalips
74 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top