Clive Christian • X for Women • Fragrances

rated 3.7(32 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 lovesfinethings on 12/28/2013 8:45:00 PM more reviews by lovesfinethings

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Sexy, elegant and intoxicating. I bought the travel trio for women from Neiman Marcus in Atlanta, and knew immediately that I would have to own a full ounce of each -- especially X. In fact, Clive Christian X for Women has become my new favorite of all favorites -- and I have sampled and owned some of every fragrance. (I can't believe that it took all of these years for me to discover X).

This delightfully well-blended mix of fruit and floral is ladylike, soft and addictive. The scent is just plain yummy! (I want to nibble by own ear). The fragrance notes are just as described. I knew right away that X -- like all other Christian Clives -- cannot be confused with your average fragrance that is mostly alcohol. You can feel the essence or pure extract of the fragrance. It is warm and clings to you. It is a beautiful perfume, and I will never be without it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lurketylurk on 7/27/2013 2:29:00 PM more reviews by lurketylurk

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very pretty, well-blended scent. Improbably, it opens with peach and pineapple and jasmine. The two former notes are not really something you tend to think of as being extravagant or costly, so it seems unusual coming from a house that prides itself on sparing no expense on ingredients. They're not very fruity, though-it's a bit hard to describe, but the peach and pineapple are more like accents, edging around the jasmine but never coming close to overtaking it. As the scent dries down, the jasmine begins to blend more with vanilla and a soft musk. I would say that X has a younger feel to it than No 1, and I would guess that it would hold more of an appeal for the masses…if they could afford to spend $355 on a bottle of perfume. And it's not worth $$$$. It's essentially a more refined version of any number of fruity floral fragrances already on the market.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sh22 on 10/19/2011 5:40:00 PM more reviews by Sh22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my signature scent. I really just need three spritzes and I'm set all day. It smells divine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AnlisaC on 3/5/2011 6:53:00 PM more reviews by AnlisaC

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

What can I say but I LOVE THIS PERFUME!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* whitecountess on 7/19/2010 4:10:00 AM more reviews by whitecountess

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

In England, the response to this perfume was so strong that University Students actually composed a piece of Music in tribute to it!
Long Live the Queen....
X marks the return of those lush gorgeous fragrances. Perfumes that aren't afraid to be noticed. Rich, evocative, musky, and sweet but not too sweet, Christian Clive X smells like sex and money. Who doesn't love these two things?!
At $350 a bottle and up, this may be out of the price range of most. There are perfume sites that offer samples and smaller amounts for much much less. Many swear by Christian's #1, but this was the scent that made me echo the words of my English mother-in-law after smelling her favorite perfume on her own wrist, "I think I'm falling in love with m'self!"

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 julie11 on 5/2/2010 9:31:00 PM more reviews by julie11

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Hi!
well, Boy-Oh-Boy!!!personaly am in love with this perfume. I like the top notes,the middle notes and the bottom notes too:
))))
when i was purchasing this perfume the saleperson(guy),he sad to me:
there is no middle with this perfume,whether you love it or you hate it!
and Yes,i agree with him 100% .
even here on MUA,by reading some reviews,you can tell some of them are realy in love ,some are just not.
The only dropdown to this perfume,that's damn expensive.
I also tried the legendary #1 and 1872,and to be honest i wasn't impressed at all nd thank God:))),so less spendig money on perfumes:)

p.s. it's very normal & am glad that some of us like some perfumes ,while the others don't....imagine,if we would ALL smell the same!!!!!???????????

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mac789 on 12/4/2009 9:53:00 PM more reviews by Mac789

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

X is an extremely ladylike fragrance that takes the modern fruity-floral into new and uncharted territories. Fruits and florals aren't new to perfumery, they simply seem new because they are so overly and poorly exploited. What makes X interesting is that it fuses fruit with floral in the "modern" way (the earlier reference to Gucci Rush is not so far off the mark as it would appear) and not, for instance, in the manner of Mitsouko.

X begins with a clean, en vogue hairspray accord, hence earlier reviewer's remark about Rush. This note, which I find bothersome, announces that X is not one of those "parfums historiques" that would be found in a grandmother's toilette. Like the note or not, it is worth enduring in order to experience what comes immediately after: an astoundingly realistic golden peach colored and blushed as delicately and invitingly as one in a Japanese watercolor, with each layer of scent--the stone, the flesh, and the rosy-blushed outer skin--delineated. The peach more than makes up for the slightly unfortunate opening, which also contains a hot coriander note.



The primary floral revealed in X is muguet, which marries perfectly with the peach without transcending it. The two components float together with each undulating in and out of prominence. This is heady stuff, but it is intoxicating. For some reason, at this center stage X reminds me of something Bond No. 9 would like to make (perhaps it is the very modernity of it, and the implied urbanity)...

Secondary floral is a sweet and tender jasmine, the first of the season. The jasmine meshes so well with the muguet that they become one flower, a new and mesmerizing hybrid. Rose is so very subtle that it too simply becomes part of this hybrid, and at this part of the development that pesky hairspray note is still in evidence, but quietly as an upstroke through the bouquet.



Hours later, a new fragrance emerges. This is the base, in which a warm white musk begins to throb. I am particularly sensitive to musk and find it unwearable in most instances, the exceptions being few and far between. One of these is X, and the other is Clair de Musc.



Sweet patchouli--if you can imagine the leaves steeped in the finest vanilla--is next, and it is conjoined to the musk in the most sublime fashion, as a marriage of opposing forces that works by virtue of perfect balance. Still, the peach remains as the most tenacious note, swirled throughout in a glorious rosy/golden ribbon.



The cost of X is dreadful. There's no way around it, and yet it is absolutely worth sampling to experience the high level of the perfumer's art when working in the same genre that has been so badly maligned by cheap synthetic and poor mixology.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 happilyme on 7/12/2009 5:03:00 AM more reviews by happilyme

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have tried this about 6 times now and every single time I adore it. I know I will own a bottle some day, the price freaks me out a bit. But it smells incredible. I sprayed it on my wrist yesterday around 3pm, and today at 11am, I can still smell it. I love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nata779 on 3/3/2009 3:58:00 PM more reviews by nata779

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Yes, I will buy this insanely expensive "perfume creation" (that's what the bottle says) over again. Oh God, the fragrance is so deep, so feminine, with such a strong Personality, if you will. Even with this economy I couldn't resist. The staying power is fantastic. And in order to get all the tones and undertones of it, just spray it on your wrist and give an hour to settle. Although initially I didn't like it, after an hour I was so impressed with the smell that I OWE IT NOW.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* socalsuperstar on 11/12/2008 10:43:00 PM more reviews by socalsuperstar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Im a very picky person with fragrances. I hate people that wear Pink Sugar, Dolce Light Blue, Chanel 5 (Except maybe Marilyn), Juicy Couture, Vera Wang Princess you get the idea. I don't care if I get flamed for the above statement. Fragrance is an expression of a person's personality. Smelling like 50 million other people says your..... pretty stinkin (pun intended) ordinary. I would rather smell bad than like the person next to me. But then again that would defeat the purpose of fragrance all together. When I walked into Saks an aggressive sales girl chipped in with "This is our new True Religion Fragrance". She forced the strip in my face. I was in a bad mood that day, I actually looked her in the eyes and said yuck, the only place true religion belongs is on my ass not in a bottle". After smelling next to 30 different fragrances including the infamous Clive Christian 1 I stumbled upon a cool black opaque bottle labeled X. I sprayed some on and my first reaction was ok this is nice, jasmine hits first. I wasn't wowed by it. So I left to do my shopping. An hour or so later I smelled my arm again and WOW. This was beautiful, but distinctive, elegant and sexy at the same time. It is so well blended, Im not sure anything could possibly top it. None of the other reviews mention it but there is a coriander note in it. It' just enough to add just a hint of warmth and softness. I read the previous reviews that compared X to Gucci Rush. Remember the Designer Imposter perfumes? If you like Tribe than you'll love Taboo! Thats what this very faint resemblance reminded me of. Just....don't. In the current economy I admit that I cannot afford $400.00 a bottle for the stuff. For that matter, anyone who can afford it is super foolish to right now but this is makeupalley not Saving With Susie Orman. There is a reputable website called The Perfumed Court that sells and stands by decants of fragrance. I purchased a 5ml roll on for my purse for $70.00. It will take several months to use up the decant. I have been getting endless compliments on this fragrance and it's the you smell good variety not the what fragrance are you wearing variety. If you are picky about fragrance and your not into sweet foody or musky headshoppy or boring aldehydes than I suggest you try this one. It's truly in a class of it's own.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clive Christian products

More Fragrances products