MAC • Colour 3 quad • Palettes

rated 4.4(11 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starrysim on 9/24/2010 11:56:00 PM more reviews by starrysim

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know what I was thinking when I swatched this quad when it was released - for some reason I was unimpressed and decided I didn't have to have it, despite being a lover of all things purple, especially eye shadows. Well, as soon as it sold out I decided I must have it, and after I finally tracked it down I'm happy to say it was worth the trouble. It's an amazing quad, probably my favourite by MAC. I think of it as a purple version of the Shadowy Lady quad. Bruised Plum is probably my favourite - it's buttery soft, shimmery with no fall-out, and an easy colour to wear anytime. Black Tulip is gorgeous as well - a darker, but vibrant and shimmery purple. Amazing in the crease, or on the outer half of the lid with Bruised Plum on the inner half. Jungle Moon is a versatile crease colour, and it blends very nicely. Mink Pink is not a stand-out colour to me, but I do use it as a highlight whenever I'm doing a look with this quad. I love this quad, I know it will be one of my favourites for a long time to come.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mondenkind on 8/18/2010 8:30:00 PM more reviews by Mondenkind

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm an NC20 with brown eyes and these colors look fabulous on me!

Mink Pink makes for a fabulous highlight color and out of the entire quad it's the color that I end up using the most. Bruised Plum is actually my least favorite color because it's a little too shimmery for my tastes. That shimmer with the light purple shade make for a bizarre combination but they pair up well with the other colors in the quad so I'm not complaining but I have yet to find anything else it works so well with. Black Tulip is everything that I had originally hoped Top Hat would be - a true rich purple color. Jungle Moon at first looked very intimidating in the pan since it looks almost black but when applied it goes on very smoothly making it easy to blend out and it caught me off guard by retaining a lot of it's purple pigmentation so I'm very happy to have it!

Over all I'm very happy with my color choice from this collection and it was totally worth the price for the entire set.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rubytitania on 5/11/2010 10:48:00 AM more reviews by rubytitania

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have red hair, green eyes and pale, cool-toned skin (around NW15 or a little lighter). Purples in general suit me pretty well and this quad is no exception - it's great for green eyes.

I agree with many of the other comments that Mink Pink is this quad's weakest colour. It's too matte and dark and I can't really use it as a highlight. If it was replaced with a lighter, shimmery colour then this quad would have been 5 out of 5 for sure!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bittersweetmoment on 4/27/2010 3:01:00 PM more reviews by bittersweetmoment

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

A really beautiful quad. Looks lovely on brown/hazel/green eyes.
It contains:
Mink Pink
Bruised Plum
Black Tulip
Jungle Moon
I was going to purchase Shadowy Lady but after buying this quad that include Jungle Moon I will hold off.
The quad features a magnetic closure and is nice and sleek.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beautifulscorpio83 on 3/20/2010 7:17:00 PM more reviews by beautifulscorpio83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This quad would have had five lipsticks if i had a lighter shimmer pink instead of the matte not visible on my skin Mink Pink shade. I originally wanted this quad for the Bruised Plum shade which on my NC30 skintone is a beautiful mauvey-plummy shade. I also love Black Tulip which is a mid-dark grapey purple shade, and Jungle Moon which is a matte dark blacken purple with a bit of brown thrown in for good measure. This color is perfect for the outer V, and to line eyes with. Love this quad!! just wish Mink Pink would love me back

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beworthington on 3/18/2010 7:00:00 PM more reviews by beworthington

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE THIS QUAD!!! The colors work so beautifully with each other. Definitely my new HG eyeshadow. The colors are Mink Pink, Bruised Plum, Black Tulip, and Jungle Moon (love those names!!!) They look gorgeous on a wide variety of skin tones. A+++!


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kohan836 on 3/6/2010 2:03:00 PM more reviews by kohan836

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Although I'm a longtime MAC fan (11 years now!) I almost never buy quads. This time I couldn't resist though, seeing as I can't resist purple eyeshadow. I think the 4 colours in this palette work very well together. If I could make one improvement, I would have swapped Mink Pink for a lighter, slightly shimmery shade - it's nice, but not really light enough to use as a brow highlight. This quad looks AMAZING over Fresco Rose Paintpot (which is a very similar colour to Bruised Plum). If you have this quad, run out and get Fresco Rose now!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lillylou2 on 2/23/2010 9:23:00 PM more reviews by lillylou2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I sincerely hope everyone got their hand's on this gorgeous quad.
Super pigmentation it all these shadows..I suppose you could try to dupe these with other Mac shadows, but you're not really gonna come close.
Black tulip is a beautiful color & the standout in this quad for me, but they are all so pretty!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beeutygooru on 2/23/2010 8:28:00 PM more reviews by beeutygooru

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Hello all!

I picked up both the color 3 and color 4 quads from MAC's Spring Forecast. What I was really impressed with was the color 3 quad.
It contains four colors (2 matte, 2 frost finish) and are all shades of purple.

They have a muted lavender, a vivid purple, a darker purple (perfect for the crease), and a pinky light purple (perfect highlight).

This is a MUST buy. I got the amber one and it wasn't nearly as impressive.

Yes, if you do own lots of purple it's a bit of a waste of time because it is easily duppable BUT if you don't this is a really great purchase!

The packaging in the Spring Forecast is different than normal quads with a thicker/ less sleek shell (not that it matters all that much). It is also now magnetized which is nice ( again doesn't matter much).

Hope this rave review was some help=)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* boogiepimp on 2/14/2010 10:00:00 PM more reviews by boogiepimp

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Wow. With all of the eye shadows designed to play up "green eyes" I have tried, none have ever worked to my satisfaction. They have usually been far too pink in the colours of purple they try to use and they end up making me look sick. I'm a cool-toned NW15 and shades like Stars-n-Rockets and Creme de Violet, Violet pigment, I have to use only sparingly and when I do, the colour stands out more than my eyes and it just looks "off". For purples I usually go for and like Fig 1 (cooler plum) Traxx, Sketch and Beauty Marked (purple-burgandy colours). I also like purples and have a lot in my collection, so when Mac's Spring Colour Forecast came out and I went to my Pro Store to get stuff from the collection, I had made up my mind based on photos, swatches and also seeing the palette in person I wouldn't get it (trying to really cut back!).

Then, my next time in the store the MA was wearing this and it looked fabulous on her brown eyes. She was wearing this palette and "Bruised Plum" on the lid and the sheen of the eyeshadow and the other colours just looked so good and so much better than it all does in the pan that I automatically changed my mind and wanted to get it. Next morning I was putting on all the shades and literally couldn't stop admiring how much it brought out my green eyes! I blame it on "Bruised Plum" really. It is a bruisy-plummy-pink type of colour that goes on slightly darker than it looks in the pan, but it still has a certain taupey quality in it which mutes it down compared to just a bright pinky purple which normally looks better on warmer toned green-eyed girls.

I also like that the palette blends many texture and all shades are not shimmery. Mink Pink is also pretty on the inner part of the lid or as a part highlight (but I would still use a lighter vanilla type colour in the center highlight point to lighten it up a bit) Black Tulip is sorta similar to Fig 1, but less bright and yes it's true that Jungle Moon is very close to Shadowy Lady, but I will take this whole combination and love it, because of the Bruised Plum and how they all tie in together. I am seriously considering a backup.

If you too are a cooler-toned and green-eyed and have the same problem as I do trying to find the right plums and pinks to make your eyes pop without having them make you look sick, please go ahead and try these colours out, or get an MA to put them on you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Palettes products