Clinique Instant lift for brows

3.8

28 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/30/2015 3:50:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am always on the look out for makeup that is compact for travel and easy to use. Wanted something for my brows that didn't require carrying a powder and a brush. Tried the Anastasia brow pen, but that didn't work well at all. Saw this on Paula's site and, Love!

I use soft blonde which, contrary to Paula's assertion, does work well with my light auburn/light brown hair. The package calls it a "crayon," and that's basically what it is - narrow, softer and more waxy than eyebrow pencil. It glides on well, but can make thin wispy lines and avoid harsh edges, easy to blend. Twists out of the tube with a snap on cap to close. Other end of the tube has a champagne-y coloured highlighter which is OK - a bit too shiny and dark for my tastes; I'm more of a Benefit High Beam gal. But it's handy to have one available in the same tube.

Price is kind of high for the amount of product provided, but the convenience/performance is such that I'd repurchase. Have not had problems with it breaking, but I don't twist too much up at a time and always twist it back down into the tube before capping.



on 4/17/2015 12:09:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I can't say I am extremely impressed by this. Yes it's very handy you have the highlighter at the other end, and it does give a nice finish, but frankly, you can achieve this even with a shadow these days, without having to pay 16.
I was going for the darkest shade (black/brown) and it's a good job they didn't have it at the counter so I went for shade no. 3, which frankly is dark enough for my colours. I agree with some reviews that it can be too obvious so you need to be light-handed when you apply it.
The highlighter is a nice addition, it does give a lift, but I think you can have a more subtle effect with an eye shadow.
I am not entirely sure if I will actually buy this again, or I'll stick to my Rimmel one which was much cheaper and more subtle...


on 9/22/2014 1:00:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I just bought this product today and came home now to apply it, first things first it doesn't look like it's going to last very long, the colour is nice but I don't like the texture or the waxy looking build up it gives me and for $38 at Myers it's kinda expensive for a produce that I can only see lasting me 2-3 weeks


on 5/27/2014 8:45:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I can't say I'd buy it again right away, but it worked great for a recent tropical vacation. I was looking for products to do double-duty if possible, with staying power in hot and humid weather, but natural looking in full sun, so when I saw this at the Clinique counter I was intrigued. And who could resist an instant brown lift? The SA sampled the product on me and I liked how my brows looked very much, and the highlighter made them look brighter and lifted. On the trip, it performed well. My brows didn't slide off or fade away, and looked as natural as I wanted - not too much of a made up look, so I was very pleased. The colour was perfect - not too grey or taupe-y, but very natural colour. The highlighter was easy to swipe on - I also used it in the inside corners of my eyes, so it was great for quickly doing that too - and overall this complimented a minimal makeup look while adding a pretty glow. (posted a few pix) However since being home and I've noticed a few things that make it less than amazing overall.

The brow crayon slipped out of the tube and fell on the carpet. I was taken back by how short it was - this is not going to be a long lasting product. I wiped it off and I popped it back in, but ew. The crayon is on the thick side and wobbles a bit in the tube, so it's hard to get fine strokes, or finesse a light application. And the highlighter crayon applies kind of dry and obvious, so it has to be blended with a fair amount of pressure, which I don't need to put my eye lids through. Today I skipped it in favour of my Anastasia brow makeup - not sure why, except I think under florescent lighting (instead of gorgeous Hawaii lighting!) I wasn't happy with the look as much - maybe it's just me.

However if I was heading back out on trip, I'd grab this item for it's staying power, and dual functionality but as an everyday use item I may not repurchase, it's not a good enough value.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Blue

About me: NW13 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW.

This is very warm toned. I needed a taupe brown for my brows. This ends up looking very obvious : ( Plus, I don't really use the highlighter.


on 3/20/2013 3:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

For instant lift, I remember absolutely hating the highlighter and rarely using it. It came out heavy and chalky, not natural at all, and way too pink for the eye area (very surprising for a Clinique product). The brow color side is fine, but very little product for your money since it's only half a brow pencil, as the other half is the highlighter.


Waste of money. Don't purchase. If you are specifically looking for a Clinique brow pencil, try the Superfine Liner for Brows (but I also think that one gives little product for the value).


on 3/14/2013 12:59:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I really dislike this. They gave me this when I complained about disliking their other brow pencil which turned reddish on me. This one was no better as this one was super creamy and turned greasy in a very short time and I don't have oily skin. I think this would only be perfect on those with extremely dry skin. And beware your color--it will oxidize--so choose lighter than you think. They put me in a brown which was without red but was too dark for me.


The only thing I do like is the slanted tip.


Since this was already an exchange I guess this will go in the trash; I don't feel up to dealing with the Clinique Nazis again.


on 2/8/2013 6:05:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have quite light eyebrows. I purchased this because I have never seen anyone talk about it. I use it for the first time and love it! It looks super natural and doesn't look obvious and drawn on. Another plus is the highlight that is on the opposite side of the pen. I love this product, but I might not repurchase just because I want to find something for my brows that are waterproof.


on 1/7/2013 9:51:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Not crazy about the highlighter end, kind of dry and too much sparkle. I have gotten used to the brow pencil and like the way my brows look but I will not re-purchase because it breaks too easily. The first one I bought was broken when I got it so I exchanged it for a new one and within a few weeks the new one was broken. This just really annoys me, especially from a company like Clinique that has been around for a long time and usually has good quality packaging.


on 1/4/2013 7:31:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

BEST browshaper ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I used to use Armani's pencil or Chanel brow kit which both are great but this one just surprised me! The best brow pencil I've every used. REALLY easy to work with, nice color and texture and it last all day... I use the highlighter as a eyeshadow in the inner corner of the eyelid and it makes my look bright all day :-)


Popular Brows Products


Castor Oil
Castor Oil
393 Reviews
Define-A-Brow
Define-A-Brow
458 Reviews
Eyebrow Kit
Eyebrow Kit
641 Reviews
Brow Pencil
Brow Pencil
165 Reviews
Back to Top