Essie • Lilacism • Nails

rated 3.8(79 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 melumebelle on 2/4/2014 11:16:00 PM more reviews by melumebelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

While this is a very pretty color, I find the formula to be not so great, with streaky application and polish that gets lumpy if you don't immediately brush it out onto your nail. It's a little disappointing for the expensive price point.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SM824star on 12/15/2013 8:37:00 PM more reviews by SM824star

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

My mom was the one that bought this polish, and she didn't like it so she gave it to me. I think Essie is way overpriced ranging from 8-9 dollars depending on where you go. I had to paint this in 3+ coats because it is so thin and streaky. Some fingers even dried with bubbles, even though I used base and top coat. I dipped my nails in freezing water because it takes forever to dry, and it was fine for the first 12 hours ( I painted them at night) but I was doing homework the next day, and noticed they were already chipping! Very dissapointed, Essie.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* baldymonster on 12/12/2013 4:30:00 PM more reviews by baldymonster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Such a beautiful gray-ish lilac color! It's extremely similar to Essie St. Lucia Lilac, but a tad brighter and more vibrant. It also has a better formula (not that that's saying much -- St. Lucia Lilac is unbelievably thin and streaky). In a word, it's beautiful. Whimsical, flattering, feminine, playful, delicate, modern... I love it. In my opinion, this is one of Essie's all-time best polishes. Don't get me wrong, the tiny brush and patchy application still get on my nerves, but in this case, it's so worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Parisa909 on 9/12/2013 6:10:00 AM more reviews by Parisa909

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This isn't the lovely lilac-lavender nail polish the Google image swatches led me to believe it was. I was honestly expecting a true, bright lilac. 2-3 coats later and it's a muted blue-grey shade with a tiny hint of lilac. However, performance wise, 3 thin coats applied nicely, no streaking, dragging or glooping as I painted each nail. Definitely won't repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kawanii on 7/26/2013 10:34:00 PM more reviews by kawanii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

As a milky pastel purple, Lilacism took me three coats to get it completely opaque. It was fairly streaky for me. As an Essie Nail polish, I was partially disappointed in this color. It was fairly muted and was too milky for my tastes in nail polish. Nonetheless, I was glad to try it but I doubt I will use this color again. I got this in a swap anyways so it was a good chance to try!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GriffithsGirl on 6/1/2013 2:42:00 PM more reviews by GriffithsGirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Gorgeous, gorgeous shade, the perfect pastel lilac. Nice and glossy too. Looks stunning. However the formula is not so great. On my fingernails this chipped horribly after only a few hours (2 coats plus top coat). I retouched the chips and by the next morning there were more chips that were starting to peel. This polish is one of those ones where you can just peel the whole lot off a nail when it chips. Very very disappointing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ChynaLaShay on 5/14/2013 5:31:00 PM more reviews by ChynaLaShay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It's a pretty lilac color in the bottle but in some lighting it can appear blue. I don't like that but in the sunlight it's a pretty purple color

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 foppery on 5/9/2013 12:02:00 PM more reviews by foppery

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I wouldn't call Lilacism a true lilac color: it's a very pale lavender with a lot of blue and gray. In some lights it even looks more blue than purple. The lightness and creme finish make Lilacism look very mod, like something my mom would have worn in high school in the '60s (a good thing, obviously). I have very light skin, and the color looks stark and pale even on me! The formula is thin and runny and I definitely need three coats for opacity, but each coat dries quickly. Overall, a unique pastel polish for spring--a bit less sweet than the traditional lavender and pink and mint options. I wouldn't repurchase, due to the formula and the unflattering coolness of the color, but it's a nice polish to know about.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* clarissa90 on 4/15/2013 9:37:00 PM more reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first Essie polish and I bought this since I heard it would be a dupe of OPI's Rumples Wiggins or Done Out in Deco. This polish seems to have a grey undertone and I don't seem to reach for it that much. Maybe its just my olive skin tone. I will not repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mingalinga on 3/28/2013 1:44:00 AM more reviews by mingalinga

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good brand if you are looking to buy nail polish. It glides on nicely and is easy to use. There are a variety of interesting colors, so it can easily become an addiction. This particular color is soft and feminine. It is a light pastel lilac and compliments any
outfit because it is subtle and not overbearing. Definitely recommend!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Nails products