Sexy Hair Concepts • Powder Play • Styling Products

rated 3.8(43 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 desertrose1 on 1/8/2015 2:09:00 AM more reviews by desertrose1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have thick layered hair, I bought this product to add volume to my hair between washes. It did for about 10 mins and then went flat. Waste of money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 stau0024 on 9/10/2014 3:52:00 PM more reviews by stau0024

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

You have to apply it right for it to work. I have fine thin hair that's cut in a bob which gets flat easily. With this powder I put the product in one hand and in the other hand I dab it on the roots where I need the volume and the oil gone...then I tease it a bit more with my fingers and BAM...fuller hair. I think if I was just to dump it on my roots it wouldn't work as well. You have to be strategic in how you place it on your hair.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* goodtiger on 8/12/2014 1:47:00 PM more reviews by goodtiger

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Lawd this stuff is horrid! :p Made my hair feel like cotton candy EW! I sprinkled it on the roots and tried to floof it up as recommended but it just made my hair look WIGGY! Clumpy and not good. It stuck to my scalp and made it itch and feel dirty. For the record, my hair is fine, straight and medium length and I just wanted some lift at the crown. Out this stuff goes.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LilMissMatched on 8/8/2014 3:57:00 AM more reviews by LilMissMatched

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I use this along my roots and at the crown of my head and then tease with a teasing brush for volume. I think I'm the only one who notices- its that subtle. I like Regis Designline Powder Boost volumizer much better.

Pros:

This is just an unexpected, unintended benefit but it soaks up oil like a dry shampoo.

Adds a bit of texture to ends.

Cons:

Not very powerful.

More effective products in the same price range, so for me, it just doesn't compare. It sits on my counter along with my other products, and I will use it up, but won't be repurchasing. It's just a disappointing product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lizzchan12 on 8/5/2014 12:37:00 PM more reviews by lizzchan12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

After reading all the positive reviews about this product here on MUA, I decided to give this powder a try. It was also on sale at Ulta at the time, so I figured even more reason for me to buy it. I have a short, layered A-frame haircut that's fine-textured so I'm always looking for good volumizing and texturizing products. I have used this product for several months now and tried many different methods that I've looked up how to use with it, but this powder has been a total fail for me. It always has a weird pasty feel in my hair no matter how I use it and I don't notice any added volume or texture. I'm glad I didn't pay full price for this product because even if it did work for me, paying $17 USD is pretty ridiculous for 0.53 oz of powder, in my opinion. I really wanted this powder to work, but I guess it's not meant for me for whatever reason. Hopefully others will have better luck with this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Jessicaxjane on 1/23/2014 5:34:00 PM more reviews by Jessicaxjane

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'll be 100% honest, I could NOT figure out how to make this product work for me. I used just a little bit when my hair was dried, and my hair got really oily less than an hour later. (while I was at work, AT A BEAUTY STORE, of course.) Blah. I wish I could make it work. :/ I just don't understand.. Anyone have any tips? I'm definately still open to it, not gonna throw it out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Courtneybrynn on 11/26/2013 10:10:00 PM more reviews by Courtneybrynn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have very fine and limp hair that really does nothing but lay flat on my head. I like having some volume to my hair, but most volumizers leave a crunchy or sticky texture that is just not touchable and I just can't stand.

Powder play changed the entire game for me. It gives hair a lot of volume with no crunchy texture. It leaves a little stickiness but, nothing bothersome. The powder is white and I have color treated red hair, I have used quite a bit of it at a time with no visible residue. I also love that the effect lasts a long time, hour after hour and doesn't really diminish the way a spray volumizer would.

When I use it, I shake it into my hand and then apply it with the other hand. I find I get more control with the application than shaking it directly into my hair.

I have only tried one other powder volumizer, and it was by TIGI. I like this one better because I felt like it had a stronger effect and lasted longer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ECMac25 on 11/12/2013 12:41:00 AM more reviews by ECMac25

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I've rocked a pixie cut for the last seven years and this is the only product I've found that truly gives hair incredible lift. On dry hair, I sprinkle it onto the roots/scalp where I need it, massage, and style away. I can use it to add subtle volume and texture or completely make my hair stand on end for crazier faux hawk and sculptural styles. And it LASTS. With other root boosters or volumizing products, I'd have to add more product and mist my hair continually with hairspray in order to keep it from collapsing by midday. Not with Powder Play! The best part about this product is that it gives touchable hold, doesn't flake, and is very easy to wash out. Big big thumbs up - I will cry if this is ever discontinued!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* goddessintraining on 8/2/2013 5:32:00 PM more reviews by goddessintraining

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have very fine hair, & not a real abundance of it. I use this product by first hot rollering/or other, then sectioning my hair & sprinkling this on the roots...then sort of fluff/scrunch it in a bit. I do a little extra teasing at the crown. It gives me more volume than I would otherwise have & my hair definitely looks more full. Sometimes it falls a little after a while but lifts back up if I lift it with the tail of a comb or do that "scrunch" thing at the roots with my fingers.

I would definitely repurchase.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Di57 on 8/2/2013 5:21:00 PM more reviews by Di57

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I had been using Schwarzkopf Osis Dusting Powder and whilst that did the job well, it was like having fairy floss stuck through your hair. In comparison, Big Sexy Hair Powder Play does the job just as well, but is much more easy to manage. You can run fingers through it to arrange it after dusting, and your fingers don't get caught up and stuck like I found with the Osis powder. It gives a natural lift and 'big' look to my fine, short (above shoulder) hair. I did have my hair cut very short and am growing it out. This product works great to plump it up and out - makes me look as though I have twice the hair I do have. And can still run fingers through it and plump it up through the day. Really happy I got onto this product. Hairhouse Warehouse talked me into buying a 3-pack of the powder, spray & play hairspray (also excellent!) and mousse (also great). The pack was on special for just over $30, so a good deal all round.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sexy Hair Concepts products

More Styling Products products