NARS • D Gorgeous • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(10 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Susan2148A on 2/6/2014 12:26:00 PM more reviews by Susan2148A

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

As I've hit my 50's, I have been trying to simplify my daily routine. I don't want to spend a lot of time looking good, and too much makeup just screams "trying too hard" on me. So, with NARS D. Gorgeous and Biarritz, I have found an easy, natural, flattering eye look for me. I'm NW20-25 and D.Gorgeous just seems to erase the veins and blueness of my lids, leaving a bright, natural look. (I use Biarritz on my brow bone.) A little black mascara and my eyes are good to go. If I want a little more umph, I line my upper lid with navy powder shadow (currently Bobbi Brown Navy). I love that it's matte but definitely not chalky and smooths out my lids' imperfections; other mattes I've used seem to emphasize my lids' texture as much as a shimmer. I will definitely repurchase this shadow.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Loulou921 on 4/15/2013 1:43:00 PM more reviews by Loulou921

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This was recommended to me by a sales associate at Sephora. I have natural coloring on my eyelid. This shade does not appear lilac on me, but it just seems to neutralize my lids, I apply over primer, and it takes away any redness, yellow. It's fantastic! I use it almost every day, either on it's own, or simply as a base. It helps make deeper colors look true on me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NinaFranklin on 1/19/2013 11:22:00 PM more reviews by NinaFranklin

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This is my HG shadow. Weirdly it neutralizes the veins in my lids and looks completely natural, more so than any natural beige or bone color. I just bought it for the second time because I used up my first one. It has a nice consistency and lasts.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AllAboutMe83 on 3/6/2012 10:46:00 PM more reviews by AllAboutMe83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Green    

D.Gorgeus is a very prettty grayish/lilac which I purchased along with the new eyeshadow Lhasa. The 2 e/s look perfect together, with a little Nymphea as a browbone color, the 3 e/s give a classic all year round look that looks amazing on my fair/cool skintone and light green eyes. I can see D.G work with many other gray/mauve/pink shades that's why its a shade that I will always own.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 n3worl34ns on 2/1/2012 11:08:00 PM more reviews by n3worl34ns

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is slightly disappointing for a lilac. It is satisfying as a lid color with daphne in the crease and outer v heavily but the color is almost a bit dreary for me.. and once it is applied I dont find it looks clean.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Caramellane on 12/12/2011 11:29:00 PM more reviews by Caramellane

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This color looks so pretty in the pan, but was very underwhelming once applied. First off, it's sheer and it's very pale, so it was about as pale as my skintone (nc15) but just added a sheer, subtle pastel grayish lilac cast to my lid. It's not a bad color, but just isn't worth the amount I paid for it, with tax the total was $25. I returned D gorgeous, because after some thought I realized I could spend a few dollars more and get a Nars duo, or a palette would have only been a little more than 2x as much as the single. I'm considering the Pleasures of paris palette, sugarland, violetta, tokyo or charade duos instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ellenmarie1959 on 10/24/2010 2:13:00 PM more reviews by ellenmarie1959

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I can't really add much to what the previous reviewers have said. I have blue eyes and wanted to see if I can wear any shade of purple. I think I can get away with this shade of lilac (lot of blue in it), and I like that it's matte.

My only complaint is that I have tried two NARS e/s so far, this one and a bone color (can't recall the name), and was disappointed in just how sheer they are. I really like more of a color deposit. I think MAC shadows are more pigmented that NARS, unless it's just the pastel shades that are so sheer.

I think for my medium/light blue eyes, I need a lilac/lavender with more pink in it. This shade, however, would be perfect with hazel/green/brown eyes.

Thanks for the previous poster who recommended a navy Urban Decay eyeliner with this shadow for a wide-awake look. I love to read how others do their eyes.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KASelway on 5/26/2010 10:45:00 AM more reviews by KASelway

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I read about this product after details surrounding Marc Jacob's Fall Winter 2010 show came out - FranÁois Nars did the make up for it, and thats where this color premiered. It looked beautiful and dreamy on the models! Needless to say, I'm no model, so it takes a little more work to get this product right. Although this product is a part of the Spring 2010 collection, I feel like its more of a winter color. The color is a light matte lavender. At least on my skin tone it looked almost chalky, but I think thats the point (if that makes sense). I usually wear a pearly taupe from MUF as my base shadow, and these two colors don't work well together. But on its own, this shadow is beautiful. The color really makes your eye color pop, and I feel like it would complement most eye shades. This isn't my everyday eye shadow, so I don't use it enough that I need to worry about stocking up soon. But I would purchase this shade again if I ever lost it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 3110hello on 4/17/2010 7:54:00 PM more reviews by 3110hello

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Really like this color for the lid of the eye. I have brown eyes that are a little hazel and this matte light lavender applied over NYX's milk as a base (as the previous commenter mentioned) is a great look. It is a very wide awake look and I use a navy liner with it which really makes my eyes pop even more. The liner look I use is a blue Urban Decay liner with Nars' China Blue pressed over it for better wear. Very, very nice color! Really recommend it for brown or blue eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* careypiper on 3/9/2010 6:28:00 PM more reviews by careypiper

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I figured out that my hazel eyes look their best with purple e/s. And NARS had just released this in their Spring 2010 line-up. I've never spent $23 on a single eyeshadow, but I loved the color. Cool and lovely for both Winter and Spring seasons. The shadow is chalky (matte) and not very pigmented (pastel), but a light base with a NYX Jumbo Pencil in Milk your good to go. I've paired it with UD AC/DC (<3) and Flash (Underland). Yes I would repurchase.


UPDATE (01/01/2011) Swapped away, Pastels are hard to pull off.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More NARS products

More Eye Shadow products