Cacharel Gloria

4.2

52 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/23/2014 10:11:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Ha, ha milktoast24 has a good description, "resinous, boozy, honeyed pipe tobacco".

The top notes I get at first are Cherry and Amaretto Liqueurs (boozy), wafts of pipe tobacco and hints of leather. Love! It dries down quickly to a middle of powdery vanilla, sugared almond and tobacco, with light woods and hints of cherries. Its sweet in a berries way (although I didn't get the honey milktoast24 detected), but the tobacco adds a dried herbs and woods feel that made it feel closer to nature and more complex. From the powdery vanilla I'm surprised Helitrope isn't on the list. The base is close to the skin and delicious, as like cherry vanilla fudge.

If you can't find this a very similar scent still in production is LaLique "Le Parfum", in the blocky square bottle with the red tassel.

I don't usually like tall skinny bottles but I think Gloria is very cute with juicy pink glass, matte gold collar, and a bright pink cherry like button on the top!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 7/15/2013 8:56:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was very lucky to get a large decant of this DC'ed scent. As an almond junkie, i was eager to try this much-lauded fragrance for almond lovers.

i was expecting bitter almond, (that heavenly marzipan/almond extract/white almond), but disappointingly, i got a resinous, boozy, honeyed pipe tobacco scent that eerily evoked both Kilian Back to Black and Escada Collection -- only a hint of floral-y almond BLOSSOM (not even bitter almond). Not that this was bad in itself (i'm a fan of the latter two frags), but really was hoping for a true, bitter almond.

It's a nice scent if you like dark, boozy, gourmandy fragrances. This is SO similar to Back to Black that i keep sniffing my wrist thinking it's a Kilian.

as for my bitter almond HG - i'm still looking. I've been told that the essential oil is very fleeting and volatile, and stable only in certain fatty emulsions (unlike alcohol/water bases) which explains the dearth of bitter almond frags. Sniff.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/20/2012 6:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Does anyone know a perfume similiar to Gloria at all ?

Its my best friends birthday in June and she is inlove with this perfume! Reason being, her mother (who has sadly passed away) use to wear it all the time and now my best friends loves the perfume because it reminds her of her mother.

I would really love to make her happy if i could get my hands on Gloria or something similiar!!!

Any suggestions ladies ?


on 1/20/2012 10:49:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Soft pretty floral with an ambe-rish, almond base, almost powder, but in a nice face-powder way. Sweet with tart notes and woody notes. Lovely and interesting. The almond comes up stronger as it dries, in a light velvety base with those sweet tart flowers on top, just lovely. Almost like a pretty, well-behaved cousin to Equitrius or Putain des Palaces, both of which I love. Add this to the Love list. Beautiful. Thanks, Lisa, for letting me try this gorgeous scent!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/15/2011 2:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Please Cacharel, bring Gloria back!
It's a beautiful scent - vanilla with gorgeous amaretto note that gives this perfume wow effect. It could be stronger and more longlasting though:) Love it and I miss it... I hope they'll bring it back...


on 9/12/2010 4:14:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This was my signature scent from the time it was released until it was discontinued. I have never loved a perfume more. It is THE saddest thing that they no longer make this. Love love love it.
I have never found a perfume that smells similar either.
Then today I went to the pharmacy and as I normally do I spray on a scent I haven't tried before to see if I like it... And Jil by Jil Sander smells so much like Gloria. I can't stop sniffing myself. I'm going to grab a couple of bottles tomorrow. Seriously, these perfumes smell almost identical (how I remember Gloria)! I can't get over how similar they are.

Still...
Cacharel: BRING BACK GLORIA

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/22/2010 9:14:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

A friend of mine who had been to Paris got me a sample of this perfume when it was just released. I absolutely fell in love with EDP. Wish Cacharel could give Gloria a second chance!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/25/2008 4:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It was my signature fragrance for years, so am sad that it has been discontinued.


on 10/17/2008 10:27:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Gloria is sensual, smokey, boozy goodness. When I wear it, I feel content, yet empowered. Heady, but somehow soft and light. Almond, vanilla, and a touch of floral that I can't quite place my finger on. EDT has surprising sillage. Love.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/1/2008 6:34:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

I bought this as I was looking for a cheaper Guerlain SDV. This starts off heavy on the pepper, very spicy but sweet and the amber being quite prominent. I can just about smell the rose and vanilla in the background and something boozy - amaretto perhaps but to my nose I can't distinguish an almondy note. The pepper then smoothens out a bit although it is there throughout, the rose and amber becomes rather quiet and the woods become stronger still with the vanilla in the background.

Although both are "boozy", compared to SDV, Gloria is drier, slightly sweeter and definitely spicier. SDV is smoother and resembles something I'd like to drink while Gloria, because of the pepper, was smokier. This is also a touch more floral and yes I would call it an oriental and verging on gourmand but no way would you smell foody when you're wearing this. It is indeed yummy and would work well as an SDV substitute.

Gloria is definitely feminine but not "young" girly. Although spicy this is one that won't offend anyone. It goes on well in the colder weather but is not too strong for warmer weather either. Sillage is average and lasting power is short. After about 3-4 hrs it stays very very close to the skin.

One thing I hate is the bottle. I mean what is it? I dont think that a lovely scent like this deserves such a boring, plasticy, uninteresting bottle. I usually couldn't care if the bottle is fancy or simple but this is just cheap looking to be honest. This is a discontinued fragrance but if they do decide to bring it out again could they please spend just a litte more time thinking about the bottle design.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
141 Reviews
Black Opium
Black Opium
18 Reviews
Chance
Chance
963 Reviews
Alien
Alien
356 Reviews
Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1377 Reviews


Back to Top