E.L.F. • Daily Brush Cleaner • Makeup Brushes

rated 3.4(84 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 asideofladies on 12/14/2014 3:20:00 AM more reviews by asideofladies

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Does its job and the price is GREAT. I just wish it didn't smell so strongly!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Veyvii on 10/15/2014 6:14:00 AM more reviews by Veyvii

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm mixed with this hence the 3 lippies and here's why:

Cleaning: I spray twice, once on each side of the brush or three times on a kabuki and it does clean with ease. It's not meant to fully clean and cannot replace your weekly cleaning schedule, so it does what it claims. (I've uploaded a pic of my white waffle cloth and I took about 10mins to wipe clean 20 of my brushes.

Smell: it starts off a strong floral scent, then dissipates to an alcohol hairspray-ey smell that's quite pungent. I kept sneezing in the 10 mins! Once the brushes have dried (20mins later), I smell it faintly on synthetic brushes and no smell on goat hair brushes. I read those who said the smell stays on are perhaps over-spraying it? 6 or 7 times is probably an overkill imo.

Price and package: $8 Aud is cheap, see through bottle helps to see inside but nothing fancy.

Overall: for the price you pay, it does a good job at what is should be doing which is lightly cleaning and sanitising your brushes. I find the process quick and simple, yet helps keep hygeine which is what I'm after HOWEVER... If you have sensitive noses like me, it's not worth sneezing over.

So I might persevere until it's used up whilst wearing a mask (?) and then make my own solution in the ELF spray bottle :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JeniDelight on 10/9/2014 6:02:00 PM more reviews by JeniDelight

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE THIS STUFF! I use it after I've done my eye makeup to quickly spot clean my brushes everyday and it works wonderfully. Because seriously, who has time to wash their brushes everyday? i know I don't, so this little guy has become a staple in my beauty collection, and you really can't beat the price tag!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AlexisTarantino on 10/9/2014 5:58:00 PM more reviews by AlexisTarantino

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

For $3, this is pretty amazing. I bought this, came home and cleaned out my kabuki brush, blusher brush, angled bronzer brush AND my eyeshadow brush. It didn't take much to clean out all of my brushes. 6 spritzes on each side and a wipe on some tissue and it's clean.
Everyone is talking about the scent and I don't think it smells like grandma. It smells like fruit to me and isn't too strong but that's everyone's preferance.

The price is fair considering the size of the bottle and quality of the formula.

The packaging looks very professional and makes the fluid look expensive and I think that's pretty impressive to me.

All in all, I would suggest this to anyone who is looking for a quick clean to their brushes without hurting their wallet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 porsche63 on 9/23/2014 7:10:00 PM more reviews by porsche63

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

This stuff smells kind of like cucumber melon body spray from B&BW, if you remember that classic scent from the 90s. I've read the other reviews that say it stinks, but I don't think it smells like a grandma or a hooker. It works great for in-between cleaning of brushes or for travel when you are trapped in a hotel room or car and need something quick and easy for your brushes. If you are applying multiple eyeshadow colors and only have one brush, it will get you through a quick change. It is also nice to use for cleaning brushes if you drop them on the floor and you don't want to or have time to scrub them.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CMarie92 on 4/23/2014 2:21:00 AM more reviews by CMarie92

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I think that this work really well. I can spot clean my brushes in between my weekly deep cleansing which means I don't use quite as many brushes- especially eyeshadow brushes as i can just spray this, wipe it on a towel & then use the same brush with a new color PLUS doesn't leave a lingering smell once my brushes are dry! I've tried a few brush cleansers & I think this once is my favorite. I really liked Macs brush cleanser but it was so expensive so I didn't like to use it everyday but because this one is not I find myself not being afraid to use it daily..which is obviously a good thing!! ;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nancygia on 4/9/2014 8:28:00 PM more reviews by Nancygia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I wish I had been able to see the reviews before purchasing this at Target. Thank goodness it was only $3. As other reviewers said, it is heavily perfumed. Now who thought that cleaning eyeshadow brushes with perfume was a good idea? In addition, it doesn't work at all. I had to reclean every single brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 KristiCho on 4/9/2014 7:58:00 PM more reviews by KristiCho

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

The smell was the first thing I noticed when I opened the package. Like other raters said, it smells like cheap perfume or my grandma's potpourri. I guess it does the job but I don't tend to cake product into my brushes. I will definitely keep the bottle once it's empty and perhaps make my own green non-smelly version of daily brush cleaner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mmherman on 12/21/2013 2:01:00 AM more reviews by mmherman

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

No good even for a spot clean. I have used other liquid brush cleaners before and this one is hands down the worst. It can't clean a brush even a tad to save it's life. Definitely a waste of good money. Bummer :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jwinter00 on 11/17/2013 5:21:00 PM more reviews by jwinter00

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this because I was tired of having to actually deep clean my brushes every time I used them and I actually kind of like it! I have a very sensitive nose and the smell doesn't bother me, it's actually quite pleasant, and it seems to do the job in getting my brushes clean. Packaging is kind of flimsy but then again, for $3, you can't really go wrong!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Makeup Brushes products