MAC • Victorian • Lipstick

rated 3.7(28 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 wednesdei on 4/8/2012 11:01:00 AM more reviews by wednesdei

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Victorian is a frosty soft fluorescent pink with gold shimmers. It actually reminded me of a more pink version of Nars Super Orgasm lip gloss but in a lipstick form. The color is gorgeous, but the formulation sucks. Yes, it's creamy and opaque. But it's it a pain to put on. I find it goes blotchy (which is the reason for my uneven lip swatch below) and its frostiness settles into the lines of my lips. I also resent how the gold shimmers in it stay adhered to my lips when the actual color fades away (not a pretty sight!). It is also drying and doesn't have the greatest lasting power. It's a shame because the actual color is gorgeous. I bet if it was an amplified or even a satin, I would love it forever.

For full review and swatches go to my blog: http://mygorgeouspinkcheeks.blogspot.com/2012/04/mac-victorian-lipstick.html

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 missDeeblue on 2/14/2012 4:05:00 PM more reviews by missDeeblue

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this shade - in fact it is the only MAC lipstick I own. If you are in the UK the perfect dupe shade to this is Boots No7 stay perfect lipstick in shade #40, Mischief

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NikkiDagger on 5/16/2011 2:24:00 PM more reviews by NikkiDagger

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE Victorian. Which was honestly a complete surprise to me. I always think that pinks look good on other people, but never thought that I could personally pull off a pink lip. Victorian is a light true pink with a yellowy-golden sheen. I do not own, nor have I ever seen a single lippie anywhere close in color. I think that the yellow/gold in it warms it up just enough to be really flattering against my C5/NC42 coloring. But I'm very confident that cooler, fairer complexions can easily pull this off, too. FYI, whenever I want to gloss it up, I use Virgin Kiss Lipglass on top. I'm definitely going to snag another one if MAC ever re-promotes it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sunnyisland on 8/23/2010 1:09:00 AM more reviews by sunnyisland

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

MAC describes this as a frosted light golden pink. In the tube this looks like a light cool toned coral pink with tonnes of gold shimmer although on my lips, it appears like a light but rather bright pink and the gold shimmer is quite subtle. Provides a bit more colour than MAC's Angel and is brighter than MAC's Bombshell. Worth a try if you like something in between these two colours. Rather pretty for spring and summer. Rather drying but I like the colour and hence would buy it again if it were not limited edition.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Riverso on 5/18/2010 9:18:00 PM more reviews by Riverso

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

The reason I got this lipstick is because it is such a unique color. I've never seen any dupe to this lipstick out there before. I think this is a perfect spring/summer color. It is very bright pink with golden undertones and shimmer. Yes, it does settle in the lines of my lips. It is a limited edition lipstick and despite its unique color it also reminds me of the 70-80s's lipsticks a little bit. So I am proud that I have a lipstick that stands out from the other ones in my lipstick collection. I also like pairing this lipstick with my NARS Orgasm blush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ilexica on 4/16/2010 4:57:00 AM more reviews by ilexica

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I just love Victorian. I held off because I was worried it was going to wear as bright, bubblegum pink (which rarely suit me). Actually, on me, this is surprisingly subtle - the base tone is slightly brighter and more obviously than my natural lip colour, with a gorgeous gold pearl. (For reference, I'm NW15 with a flushed pink undertone to both skin and lips). I would describe it as a slightly brighter version of creme de la femme on me, although I don't know if this would work as a dupe for those with different colouring and less pigmented lips. If you're dithering over it, though, I would definitely give it a go :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 showSTOPPER on 3/25/2010 8:00:00 PM more reviews by showSTOPPER

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is super beauutiful in the tube, and I love it on my lips. I'm like NC15 really, but wear about NC20-25 colour to match the rest of me.
This is such a fun corally, goldy pink, and it will not look good on everyone, but most lipsticks don't.
I apply over a think layer of carmex (so as not to experience that settling in lines effect which I seem to get with all lipsticks - not just this one). Does not bleed on me.
Would only wear in summer/hot weather (which it still is here in Aus).
Pretty opaque, can be layered for super bright or just a quick slick for a bit more toned down - like a stain.
Isn't super drying for me, but I don't feel like it makes my lips look glossy or anything like the lustres.
Its limited edition from the spring forecast collection 2, still available here, but maybe not in the US.
Unfortunately, MAC is priced quite high here, even though the Aus dollar is up. $35 for this.

Stays on ALL DAY for me, even drinking, still noticeable after eating as well.
Really recommend it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kwelly on 3/20/2010 12:58:00 AM more reviews by kwelly

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I actually really like this lipstick, but I agree that it's not going to work for everyone. It's like a bright coral pink color(more pink though) with cool undertones, but there's gold shimmer in it so it's not overwhelmingly cool on the lips. Definitely glad i bought this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bubbleheart on 3/18/2010 4:37:00 PM more reviews by bubbleheart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Very pretty color that I kept being attracted to so figured I may as well buy it while I could. I was a bit scared that it would be nearly identical to lollipop loving (looks similar in the tube) but I dont think it is really. It appears a bit darker/more coral on me than in all the swatches/pics Ive seen of it, but it is still a pretty summery shade that really lights up my face. Once again, this is one that really looks flakey/yuck unless you have super healthy smooth lips, so that might make it challenging to wear sometimes. Overall, I like it and Im sure I'll wear it a lot but I dont think I'll be running to get a backup of it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Bambiina on 3/18/2010 12:55:00 PM more reviews by Bambiina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Pros: This paired with cha cha lipglass from same colection makes my skin look so fresh and glowing. Paired it with a brown smokey eye looks really good on my nc15 skin. Looks a lot like lollipop lovin but more pink. perfect spring/summer shade and winter to give my face a little light :)
Cons: a bit drying

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products