Living Proof • Full Thickening Cream • Styling Products

rated 3.3(99 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 MegsSister on 6/7/2014 7:15:00 PM more reviews by MegsSister

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have fine hair and always am looking for something to provide more body to hold a style. I tried this, but I didn't find that it worked any better than my current combo of Aveda style prep for volume and Tigi Superstar. And I could smell the fragrance all day. It's not bad, but it's way too strong. Back to Ulta it went.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KimD507 on 5/5/2014 8:56:00 AM more reviews by KimD507

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Im torn!
I def think it gave my hair volume...wish it helped with the condition/softness
After blow drying and using a little heat my hair was def thicker/fuller but I had to use a little argan oil etc because of some dryness
I also think though the bottle will last, it is $$ for the amount you get

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 awong1 on 4/29/2014 9:35:00 PM more reviews by awong1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

IT WORKS!!!!
FIrst, let me start my saying - my hair is not in it's usual 'texture' - as I had it DESTROYED by an at-home bleach job (my fault), and then stupidly, at a salon a year later. My poor hair is having a bad year!! So - I literally have tried every protein treatment, deep conditioner, etc., etc., to try and repair my hair. Although I've gotten a few results, let me tell you, the best result I have gotten out of any product (and lately - I've tried A LOT), is this!! It's not going to "volumize" your hair - it's going to add weight and texture. My biggest problem after bleaching, was that it 'thinned' my strands - they were getting tangly, ends were snaring everywhere, and this product does that it says - it thickened my hair. PERFECT!! My hair needed some extra 'weight' to help it hang and lay properly.

No, this is not going to pump up your roots to give you texas beauty queen hair (that's what mousse is for) - but this product does exactly.what.it.says - it THICKENS!!

The only thing I can`t report on, is if the hair gets used to this product - the results were so amazing the first time, I posted on it, so hoping I get the same results the next time I use it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Bclancy on 4/23/2014 1:54:00 PM more reviews by Bclancy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This was my second Living Proof product. After having such a good experience with their PHD 5 in 1 cream I was excited to try something else. Sadly, this cream did not make my hair appear thicker of fuller. The same thing happened as always happened when I blow dry my hair lifting at the roots, blow dry upside down, ect. My hair looks buoyant and volumized for about five minutes, then calms down to its normal flat self. My hair is medium texture so it's not totally flat. But I cannot achieve BIG soft curls. At least this product didn't make my hair crunchy though. Most volumizing products make my hair look matted, feel crunchy, and completely destroy that soft silky feeling PHD gives my hair. Products manage to do this while at the same time giving me NO volume at all! So at least Full Thickening Cream didn't ruin my silky soft blowout. Fact remains though: for me it hasn't done what it was supposed to do. I'm going to play around with this for another week or so to see if I can get better results from it. If I do I will update. If not I'll exchange it for a spare bottle of PHD :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ShoeGal95 on 4/2/2014 6:56:00 PM more reviews by ShoeGal95

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My stylist insisted I try this Thickening Cream. She used Jennifer Aniston's financial investment as a reason. Also, she told me my hair was "like hers". Not in style, but fine and highlighted. Ok, ok! I did not like this product in the least. It's heavy, too much is difficult to dry and hair looks dirty. I saw no thickening or any rewarding reason to use this product. From then on, I refused to purchase any other product without a sample, first. My stylist kept giving me samples of other products in this line. I personally did not like any of them. My hair is very long, wavy, fine and partially foiled. I see a gray here and there, too grr…lol.
I would not purchase any product in this line. Not one quality result for my hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Caramel_Apples on 2/2/2014 5:56:00 AM more reviews by Caramel_Apples

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The first time I tried this, I really liked it. It made my hair look much more refined than usual - less frizz, more style. Maybe a tiny bit flat, but not noticeably. My hair gets weighed down easily, and I was surprised that a thick cream didn't do that.
But after using this several times, I'm not getting the same results as I used to, and now I feel like it just makes my hair look limp and lifeless when I use it. I want to guess that this is the type of hair product that builds up if you don't use a clarifying shampoo regularly. But even if so, the initial performance wasn't so amazing that I care to spend money looking for the perfect clarifying shampoo to try and make this work again.

I will say that this made my hair feel thicker in texture, but not necessarily in a good way. I cannot feel the product in my hair at all, which is nice, but my hair feels somehow heavier when I use it. I've tried using less product, but my hair looks the same before and after when I don't use a decent coating. Also worth noting is that my hair rarely tangles, and for some reason I found that this product gave my hair noticeable tangles beginning with the first use. Overall, I can see how this would work for some, and I may recommend it for someone who badly needs frizz control or whose hair absorbs products easily and never gets weighed down. The 1.7oz pod is $15. I'd estimate I get about 10-12 uses out of it for my long hair.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heathermrm on 1/14/2014 6:48:00 PM more reviews by heathermrm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I couldn't decide between this and the mousse. I ended up trying this first and it was pretty good...but for this price point, i expect FABULOUS! I did some fairly good volume with this, but I was looking for more va va va voom. So, based upon the reviews here, I decided to try the mousse version = much better volume for my fine, color treated hair = will stick w/ the mousse. Also, I found best way to store this is upside down. Not too much product ever comes out and cuts down on dispensing time vs keeping product right side up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jessamay on 12/18/2013 1:41:00 PM more reviews by jessamay

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Sigh...I did not want to like this product due to the price. I know it does not work for everyone so it took me some time to buy the small size (and I am always looking for the perfect product out there to handle my fine, thin dry hair...don't tell me it does not exist ; ). This works VERY well for me. It created a solid amount of volume/feeling of thickness (not the puffy kinda) and it does not dry out or dull my hair. I bought the trial set of volumizing products at Sephora for $10.00 and the whole line has impressed me. I am not sure about the Prime Style Extender as I need to try that a few mores times and compare my hair when I use and when I don't. As of now, it seems to work as well. It is gonna kill me to buy the full sizes as they just seem so overpriced but that being said, this product delivers what it says for me. I DID NOT want to buy into what this line is selling especially at the price point but I think they have a really good product.
EDIT 1.14.14 - Still liking this product a lot but I have stopped using the Prime Style Extender with it and that seems to lessen the volume effect just a little. The Extender left me with greasy hair the next day so it just was not worth it. But this thickening cream still gives soft volume (not TONS of volume but a good amount).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Saspants on 7/31/2013 9:13:00 AM more reviews by Saspants

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really like this product, it does add volume and body to my fine hair. I purchased the entire Full line of products and some additional to supplement my hair care routine and I really like them all with the exception of the root lifting hair spray.

I will get out of the shower and dry off saving my hair for last, I gently squeeze dry my hair with a soft towel and then will gently detangle but not thoroughly comb out. I apply the Full thickening mousse to my roots for volume and then about a dime size dollop of Full thickening cream and work through my hair. I follow with a small pea sized dollop of Prime style extender by Living Proof and comb through and then use 1 pump of serum only mid shaft to ends. My hair will stay styled and looking great for 3+ days with only touch ups needed on my stupid "horns" which are these God awful cow licks right on my forehead at the corners leading to my temples, they curl downward really weird and look like horns so I am very conscious of them.

I also live on the Texas Gulf Coast and the humidity and 90-100 degree weather that we experience most of the year is insufferable and just wrecks havoc on my hair. This combination of products really blocks the humidity and let's me keep my style days at a time. I highly recommend and will continue to use.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dianelarsenemail on 5/28/2013 11:27:00 PM more reviews by dianelarsenemail

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I like using this before blow drying my hair. Helps to prevent from split end breakage. Glosses and makes hair shiny! Smells yummy too!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Living Proof products

More Styling Products products