Living Proof • Full Thickening Cream • Styling Products

rated 3.3(95 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 ShoeGal95 on 4/2/2014 6:56:00 PM more reviews by ShoeGal95

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My stylist insisted I try this Thickening Cream. She used Jennifer Aniston's financial investment as a reason. Also, she told me my hair was "like hers". Not in style, but fine and highlighted. Ok, ok! I did not like this product in the least. It's heavy, too much is difficult to dry and hair looks dirty. I saw no thickening or any rewarding reason to use this product. From then on, I refused to purchase any other product without a sample, first. My stylist kept giving me samples of other products in this line. I personally did not like any of them. My hair is very long, wavy, fine and partially foiled. I see a gray here and there, too grr…lol.
I would not purchase any product in this line. Not one quality result for my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Caramel_Apples on 2/2/2014 5:56:00 AM more reviews by Caramel_Apples

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The first time I tried this, I really liked it. It made my hair look much more refined than usual - less frizz, more style. Maybe a tiny bit flat, but not noticeably. My hair gets weighed down easily, and I was surprised that a thick cream didn't do that.
But after using this several times, I'm not getting the same results as I used to, and now I feel like it just makes my hair look limp and lifeless when I use it. I want to guess that this is the type of hair product that builds up if you don't use a clarifying shampoo regularly. But even if so, the initial performance wasn't so amazing that I care to spend money looking for the perfect clarifying shampoo to try and make this work again.

I will say that this made my hair feel thicker in texture, but not necessarily in a good way. I cannot feel the product in my hair at all, which is nice, but my hair feels somehow heavier when I use it. I've tried using less product, but my hair looks the same before and after when I don't use a decent coating. Also worth noting is that my hair rarely tangles, and for some reason I found that this product gave my hair noticeable tangles beginning with the first use. Overall, I can see how this would work for some, and I may recommend it for someone who badly needs frizz control or whose hair absorbs products easily and never gets weighed down. The 1.7oz pod is $15. I'd estimate I get about 10-12 uses out of it for my long hair.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heathermrm on 1/14/2014 6:48:00 PM more reviews by heathermrm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I couldn't decide between this and the mousse. I ended up trying this first and it was pretty good...but for this price point, i expect FABULOUS! I did some fairly good volume with this, but I was looking for more va va va voom. So, based upon the reviews here, I decided to try the mousse version = much better volume for my fine, color treated hair = will stick w/ the mousse. Also, I found best way to store this is upside down. Not too much product ever comes out and cuts down on dispensing time vs keeping product right side up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jessamay on 12/18/2013 1:41:00 PM more reviews by jessamay

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Sigh...I did not want to like this product due to the price. I know it does not work for everyone so it took me some time to buy the small size (and I am always looking for the perfect product out there to handle my fine, thin dry hair...don't tell me it does not exist ; ). This works VERY well for me. It created a solid amount of volume/feeling of thickness (not the puffy kinda) and it does not dry out or dull my hair. I bought the trial set of volumizing products at Sephora for $10.00 and the whole line has impressed me. I am not sure about the Prime Style Extender as I need to try that a few mores times and compare my hair when I use and when I don't. As of now, it seems to work as well. It is gonna kill me to buy the full sizes as they just seem so overpriced but that being said, this product delivers what it says for me. I DID NOT want to buy into what this line is selling especially at the price point but I think they have a really good product.
EDIT 1.14.14 - Still liking this product a lot but I have stopped using the Prime Style Extender with it and that seems to lessen the volume effect just a little. The Extender left me with greasy hair the next day so it just was not worth it. But this thickening cream still gives soft volume (not TONS of volume but a good amount).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Saspants on 7/31/2013 9:13:00 AM more reviews by Saspants

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really like this product, it does add volume and body to my fine hair. I purchased the entire Full line of products and some additional to supplement my hair care routine and I really like them all with the exception of the root lifting hair spray.

I will get out of the shower and dry off saving my hair for last, I gently squeeze dry my hair with a soft towel and then will gently detangle but not thoroughly comb out. I apply the Full thickening mousse to my roots for volume and then about a dime size dollop of Full thickening cream and work through my hair. I follow with a small pea sized dollop of Prime style extender by Living Proof and comb through and then use 1 pump of serum only mid shaft to ends. My hair will stay styled and looking great for 3+ days with only touch ups needed on my stupid "horns" which are these God awful cow licks right on my forehead at the corners leading to my temples, they curl downward really weird and look like horns so I am very conscious of them.

I also live on the Texas Gulf Coast and the humidity and 90-100 degree weather that we experience most of the year is insufferable and just wrecks havoc on my hair. This combination of products really blocks the humidity and let's me keep my style days at a time. I highly recommend and will continue to use.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dianelarsenemail on 5/28/2013 11:27:00 PM more reviews by dianelarsenemail

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I like using this before blow drying my hair. Helps to prevent from split end breakage. Glosses and makes hair shiny! Smells yummy too!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 violetpython4 on 5/14/2013 7:13:00 PM more reviews by violetpython4

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

So I love that the whole full line is like skincare for your hair. I've used up the whole bottle now and my hair is much thicker than when I started . At first I felt like it would dry my hair out if I blew dry after but after cocktailing it with a shine treatment I fell in love . Most fullness hairstyling products contain chemicals and plastics that coat the hair shaft to make it appear thicker . No good! Living proofs full line does not!! That alone makes it a product I will be repurchasing !

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetgardenangel on 3/19/2013 10:44:00 PM more reviews by sweetgardenangel

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'm thrilled with the entire line of Living Proof, including this product.

It builds volume into my fine hair, which is styled into a bob, chin length. It makes it "swing" and looks fab.

Definite keeper.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lagomorph on 3/17/2013 5:23:00 PM more reviews by lagomorph

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have full, thick, frizz prone hair that I often straighten when I haven't kept up with my Brazilian keratin treatments. After a day or so the top/crown area tens to flatten out and doesn't have that just washed bouncy volume that I like. What I love about this stuff is that it adds great volume without any residue/stickiness. I do find it builds up on my hair after a few days but a vinegar rinse takes it out. Works for me on wet hair, just a tiny dab. Expensive but I use so little it lasts forever. Only thing I dislike is that it's very very hard to get the right amount out of the bottle. Bought on ebay for less that retail.
:( They say they don't test on animals but the answers are vaguely worded on their blog and I think they might have third party testing. They simply state they don't test but they won't elaborate when asked about third party testing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 marley100 on 1/6/2013 7:10:00 AM more reviews by marley100

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Like many reviewers, I have mixed feelings about this thickening cream. First, I can't stand the smell. I'm sensitive to smells, and this is a heavy men's cologne smell. That said, if you apply it before going to work etc., it dissipates and doesn't make your pillow smell too awful. But why they can't make an unscented version....


I bought the stuff this fall, and when I first used it I was disappointed. It gave me great body--for about 10 minutes, and then collapsed. I have fine, straight hair, but a lot of it and wear it in a bob. People think I have thick hair until they feel it, and then they're disappointed :(. For some reason the stuff makes my hair full of static; maybe it's exacerbated by the dry winter weather. So I added my hair gel to it (Kiss My Face Upper Management, which, by the way, has a terrific but faint grapefruit smell). I use a pea-sized amount of the thickening cream, followed by my hair gel and then blow dry. With that combo, I have great results--and it stays looking great and volumized for hours.


However, if I use the thickening cream every day--I usually wash my hair every day--it drys out my hair and makes it full of knots--and I've NEVER had knots before. However, my hair is color-treated and highlighted, so it's a little dry to begin with.


Thickening cream shouldn't be a problem if you have oily hair or normal hair. But if you have dry, watch out. For me, the only way around the dryness and knots is to increase my conditioner, but that leaves my hair flat, which just compounds the problem that I want to solve.

So now I just use the thickening cream when I really have to have my hair look fabulous, and that works really well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Living Proof products

More Styling Products products