Origins Starting Over (with Mimosa)

3.8

38 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Myrtle Leaf Water, Bitter Orange Flower Water, Chamomile Flower Water, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Myristyl Myristate, Butylene Glycol, Dicaprylyl Maleate, Stearic Acid, PEG-100 Stearate, Behenyl Alcohol, Cetyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2, Cetearyl Alcohol, Mimosa Tenuiflora Bark Extract, Grapefruit Peel Oil, Bergamot Fruit Oil, Rosemary Leaf Oil, Ginger Root Oil, Orange Peel Oil, Coriander Seed Oil, Limonene, Linalool, Citral, Coffee Seed Extract, Boswellia Serrata Extract, Chestnut Seed Extract, Centaury Extract, Chlorella Vulgaris Extract, Wheat Germ Extract, Argania Spinosa Lead Extract, Turmeric Root Extract, Cucumber Fruit Extract, Apple Fruit Extract, Scutellaria Baicalensis Root Extract, Barley Extract, Soybean Sterols, Sodium Mannose Phosphate, Myristyl Laurate, Ceteareth-20, Yeast Extract, Polysorbate 20, Trehalose, Myristyl Alcohol, Caffeine, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Cholesterol, Squalane, Thermus Thermophillus Ferment, Acetyl Hexapeptide-8, Arginine, Tocopheryl Acetate, Salicylic Acid, Aminopropyl Ascorbyl Phosphate, St. Paulís Wort Extract, Maltodextrin, Sodium Hyaluronate, Phospholipids, Glyceryl Stearate, Dimethicone, Xanthan Gum, Carbomer, Glyceryl Polymethylacrylate, PEG-8, Ethylhexylglycerin, Potassium Carbomer, Chlorphenesin, Sorbic Acid, Phenoxyethanol


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm unsure if I would repurchase this cream in the future. I'm using the oil-free version on my acne prone skin. Thus far, I love how it hydrates the dry patchy areas on my skin. My skin is much more glowy since using this cream. I have gotten break outs so now I'm just using the cream on my dry areas (forehead and cheeks). I'm not sure if this cream is causing the breakouts since my skin also doesn't like makeup brushes, so it could be my use of brushes causing the break out. The cream does not have a scent. Overall it's a good product.



on 11/16/2014 3:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

On my 5th or 6th jar of this cream (not oil-free version). Absolutely love it! Makes my skin supple and glowing when I wake up every morning. I wish it weren't packaged in a jar so it's easier to pack for travel and more hygienic and it were a bit cheaper but what are you gonna do - my skin loves it. Will continue to use for the foreseeable future.


on 11/12/2014 1:42:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

OIL-FREE version: I must say i REALLY like this product, although i haven't used it long enough yet. My skin has been messed up lately. No wrinkles but redness, large pores, and the texture just wasn't pretty. Plus almost anything i tried just made me red. I really thought this cream would cause some bad reaction, but really, the opposite happened, my skin LOVED it even at the very first application! It has been a week and my skin looks better than in a long time. Smooth, very even (pale) toned, and the large pores are a lot smaller! No irritation, no redness, just healthy skin and the texture is so nice, i swear I do look younger by using this! I think the $49 is pretty fair as you get 50ml (1.7oz). And i really love the smell, like mandarins. Cute packaging! (I like the look and feel of jars, if you don't, just use a small spatula or something, but really i never had 'bacteria' problems in my creams). (Also, many creams have an effect on my skin that by the evening/after washing it is drier than if I hadn't applied anything on it. So I have to put something on. I think it happens when glycerin is high on the list in a product, as it plumps up skin for a while BUT draws the water from the deeper layers, creating more dryness -something that nobody talks about, lol. This cream doesn't have that drying effect!)
I might try to get a sample of the regular version to compare... By the way i bought the matching eye cream and i really like that too... :-)


on 5/17/2014 4:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I was fortunate enough to try out a deluxe sample size of this for a little over 2 wks. I now feel confident to report that although a good moisturizer its not worth the money for what it actually is. I enjoyed the lightweight lemony-orange scent & the pale yellow cream color is calming for my eyes and nose to apply. It sinks into skin, without leaving a film/grease while still taking care of dry patches and flakes. Smooths out & preps my face nicely for foundation, enough that I can skip primer even. The ingredients and everything about this moisturizer are supple, just that nothing extra. I noticed no changes in skin texture, wrinkles, sunspots, pigmentation or overall tone. Maybe 2 wks wasn't enough but I can usually assess if an item is worth even a hundred bucks within a couple of days use & this was while good... I just moved on to the next deluxe skincare sample! Don't like the tub or price tag. Nothing special, for me atleast.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/21/2013 12:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

It smells nice and sinks in quickly. ..but that's about it. I used this for a month and saw nothing impressive nor is it moisturizing enough for the winter.


on 4/3/2013 10:50:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I just used this after a facial and I quite like it. It's very soothing and completely soaks in immediately, and it leaves my skin hydrated and smooth but not greasy or sticky at all. It's very good. It has a citrusy scent and a little goes a long way. I would recommend this to others and would purchase it again!


on 3/22/2013 12:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Silver, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

LOVE THIS! My skin reacts very easily to most products and i breakout horribly, but this doesn't break me out at all!
It doesn't feel greasy on my skin even though i use the regular and not the oil free version.
it sinks right into my skin and leaves my skin moisturised all night. Love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/20/2013 2:10:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I'm a drugstore kinda gal for most of my skincare. I was searching for a better moisturizer for winter months to really hydrate my skin, as well as provide anti aging benefits as I am 27 now, and figure better start preventing now. Love the smell of this project and the moisture. It doesn't seem to aggravate my skin (I have oily, acne prone skin with hormonal breakouts). Wish it was cheaper but it was a splurge item and I feel it was worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/9/2013 12:54:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

A while back, I purchased the Starting Over Eye Cream and I'm very pleased with that product. I've been searching for a less costly night cream to use in place of my Clarins Super Restorative. It's a nice cream, to be sure, but it's not "nice enough" to justify the ridiculous price tag. So I began my search and decided to give the Starting Over moisturizer a try. I have to say I am reasonably pleased with this product, though it is not as richly moisturizing as I had hoped it would be. It is wintertime where I live and the cold weather combined with indoor heating means I need something a bit heavier duty than this cream, though I think it will actually be perfect in spring and fall. For now, I'll probably use it in combination with one of my Clarins facial oils. I think they make this in a lighter, "oil free" version but I was very careful not to get that one but still, this could be a bit more rich and moisturizing.

As I purchased this with my Shoppers Drug Mart points, the price was great too (as in "free" - can't get much better than that) but even at regular price, this cream is a far less costly option compared with Clarins.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/19/2012 2:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have acne-prone skin and had no problems with the oil-free version breaking me out. The smell did not bother me. I wish it was in a squeeeze tube rather than jar though. I recommend this product but personally will be sticking with Origins VitaZing because I prefer the slight tint.


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
Moisturizing Cream
1284 Reviews
Strobe Cream
Strobe Cream
441 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
Sweet Almond Oil
200 Reviews
Back to Top