Origins • Starting Over (with Mimosa) • Moisturizers

rated 3.7(39 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* StarsnRocketsES on 12/11/2014 11:19:00 PM more reviews by StarsnRocketsES

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm unsure if I would repurchase this cream in the future. I'm using the oil-free version on my acne prone skin. Thus far, I love how it hydrates the dry patchy areas on my skin. My skin is much more glowy since using this cream. I have gotten break outs so now I'm just using the cream on my dry areas (forehead and cheeks). I'm not sure if this cream is causing the breakouts since my skin also doesn't like makeup brushes, so it could be my use of brushes causing the break out. The cream does not have a scent. Overall it's a good product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 irongirl9 on 11/16/2014 3:00:00 PM more reviews by irongirl9

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

On my 5th or 6th jar of this cream (not oil-free version). Absolutely love it! Makes my skin supple and glowing when I wake up every morning. I wish it weren't packaged in a jar so it's easier to pack for travel and more hygienic and it were a bit cheaper but what are you gonna do - my skin loves it. Will continue to use for the foreseeable future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* emodel on 11/12/2014 1:42:00 AM more reviews by emodel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

OIL-FREE version: I must say i REALLY like this product, although i haven't used it long enough yet. My skin has been messed up lately. No wrinkles but redness, large pores, and the texture just wasn't pretty. Plus almost anything i tried just made me red. I really thought this cream would cause some bad reaction, but really, the opposite happened, my skin LOVED it even at the very first application! It has been a week and my skin looks better than in a long time. Smooth, very even (pale) toned, and the large pores are a lot smaller! No irritation, no redness, just healthy skin and the texture is so nice, i swear I do look younger by using this! I think the $49 is pretty fair as you get 50ml (1.7oz). And i really love the smell, like mandarins. Cute packaging! (I like the look and feel of jars, if you don't, just use a small spatula or something, but really i never had 'bacteria' problems in my creams). (Also, many creams have an effect on my skin that by the evening/after washing it is drier than if I hadn't applied anything on it. So I have to put something on. I think it happens when glycerin is high on the list in a product, as it plumps up skin for a while BUT draws the water from the deeper layers, creating more dryness -something that nobody talks about, lol. This cream doesn't have that drying effect!)
I might try to get a sample of the regular version to compare... By the way i bought the matching eye cream and i really like that too... :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glamstep on 5/17/2014 4:52:00 PM more reviews by glamstep

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I was fortunate enough to try out a deluxe sample size of this for a little over 2 wks. I now feel confident to report that although a good moisturizer its not worth the money for what it actually is. I enjoyed the lightweight lemony-orange scent & the pale yellow cream color is calming for my eyes and nose to apply. It sinks into skin, without leaving a film/grease while still taking care of dry patches and flakes. Smooths out & preps my face nicely for foundation, enough that I can skip primer even. The ingredients and everything about this moisturizer are supple, just that nothing extra. I noticed no changes in skin texture, wrinkles, sunspots, pigmentation or overall tone. Maybe 2 wks wasn't enough but I can usually assess if an item is worth even a hundred bucks within a couple of days use & this was while good... I just moved on to the next deluxe skincare sample! Don't like the tub or price tag. Nothing special, for me atleast.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sciencegeek on 4/2/2014 12:08:00 PM more reviews by sciencegeek

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Wow. What a disappointed, sums it up. But of course, I am going to give you more details about why I was so let down by this product. I am not really an Originis connaiseur, however I bought their spot remover out of desperation (after getting the most horrible aggregate of pimples on my chin). Seriously, it was an aggregate. A little community, with a leader and everything. I was pleasantly surprised by the quick delivery (orgins.co.uk) and so had a look into their moisturisers as I needed a new night moisturiser (after deciding not to bother with Eucerin Q10 anymore- granted the little community was the straw that broke the camel's back).

I was curious about the brand due to the claims of being oh so effective, oh so organic and so gentle... This moisturiser, that I bought in the oil free version, claims to be 'age erasing' and improve the appearance of lines and wrinkles. I am 29, so my aim was to prevent rather than correct. But first things first, when I opened the parcel I was unpleasantly surprised by the oh so strong chemical/herby smell coming from the box with the moisturiser. That was before even opening the little box! There you have it, it stinks like crazy. The smell is not terrible, I could perhaps handle it on a body moisturiser but not on my face!

Secondly, this did not make me look better. On the contrary, it made me look older! Suddenly I had dehydration lines all over my face and my poor eyes, especially, looked like I had aged 10 years in two nights. Wow, if that's not impressive I don't know what is.

This moisturiser sucked all the moisture off my skin which wasn't much anyway after trying the harsh modern friction sample I was sent. My skin looked terrible and my cheeks were tingly, at times my cheeks were also red and my face felt sensitive and hurt.

On a good note, the delivery was free and quick and the moisturiser sinks in quickly. The packaging is cute but a bottle with a pump would be better. The low rating, however, is for how dehydrated, fragile and at times irritated this made my skin look!

Returned it, will be very happy to get my 38 back. You might say 'maybe she needed the version that contains oil'. Well, maybe. But still. This moisturiser it's so bad, I wouldn't want it for free. It's irritant, too fragranced, too expensive for no good results and it doesn't even moisturise your face, let alone 'erase' years. The only thing it 'erased' was my skin's suppleness!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rayoflight121 on 11/21/2013 12:30:00 PM more reviews by rayoflight121

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

It smells nice and sinks in quickly. ..but that's about it. I used this for a month and saw nothing impressive nor is it moisturizing enough for the winter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TeeCube on 4/3/2013 10:50:00 AM more reviews by TeeCube

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I just used this after a facial and I quite like it. It's very soothing and completely soaks in immediately, and it leaves my skin hydrated and smooth but not greasy or sticky at all. It's very good. It has a citrusy scent and a little goes a long way. I would recommend this to others and would purchase it again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hayleighlynn on 3/22/2013 12:43:00 AM more reviews by hayleighlynn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Silver, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE THIS! My skin reacts very easily to most products and i breakout horribly, but this doesn't break me out at all!
It doesn't feel greasy on my skin even though i use the regular and not the oil free version.
it sinks right into my skin and leaves my skin moisturised all night. Love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 primpednpink on 3/20/2013 2:10:00 PM more reviews by primpednpink

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a drugstore kinda gal for most of my skincare. I was searching for a better moisturizer for winter months to really hydrate my skin, as well as provide anti aging benefits as I am 27 now, and figure better start preventing now. Love the smell of this project and the moisture. It doesn't seem to aggravate my skin (I have oily, acne prone skin with hormonal breakouts). Wish it was cheaper but it was a splurge item and I feel it was worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariella99 on 2/9/2013 12:54:00 PM more reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

A while back, I purchased the Starting Over Eye Cream and I'm very pleased with that product. I've been searching for a less costly night cream to use in place of my Clarins Super Restorative. It's a nice cream, to be sure, but it's not "nice enough" to justify the ridiculous price tag. So I began my search and decided to give the Starting Over moisturizer a try. I have to say I am reasonably pleased with this product, though it is not as richly moisturizing as I had hoped it would be. It is wintertime where I live and the cold weather combined with indoor heating means I need something a bit heavier duty than this cream, though I think it will actually be perfect in spring and fall. For now, I'll probably use it in combination with one of my Clarins facial oils. I think they make this in a lighter, "oil free" version but I was very careful not to get that one but still, this could be a bit more rich and moisturizing.

As I purchased this with my Shoppers Drug Mart points, the price was great too (as in "free" - can't get much better than that) but even at regular price, this cream is a far less costly option compared with Clarins.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Origins products

More Moisturizers products