Stridex • Maximum Strength Soft Touch Pads Alcohol Free (Red jar/box) • Treatments

rated 4.0(41 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 Kimmeh5 on 11/18/2013 4:45:00 AM more reviews by Kimmeh5

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was very surprised at how much I liked these pads. The menthol isn't working for me though, I think it dries me out too much, but it doesn't break me out otherwise. Salicylic acid also has some mild anti inflammatory properties so it actually soothes my redness and rosacea problems while unclogging my pores. (I had some closed comedones on my forehead.) Because I have mildly dry skin to begin with, over use can dry me out quick. But it's worth checking out, especially for the price and ease of availability.

It's not written on the packaging, but wash your face and let your face fully dry before using. Excess water can mess with the product. Before applying anything else, wait until it's dry or 10 mins or so--either or works fine.

I plan on trying some Silk Naturals BHA toner since it doesn't have menthol. But I'll keep these around for my body and occasional face use. (And also for my husband.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 superfille on 11/10/2013 11:39:00 AM more reviews by superfille

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

These have become HG and completely essential for me. I use them ever night and every other morning after cleansing with Ponds cold cream and before I use L'Occitane Immortelle Divine Cream. This "cleans, tone, moisturize" combination keeps my pores cleaner and and my skin clearer than it has been in years. Highly recommended.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bluestar21 on 10/11/2013 10:14:00 AM more reviews by bluestar21

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Normally I would pass this item up, thinking that it's something I would have used in middle school. But this product has a cult following on Reddit's SkincareAddiction so I gave it a shot. I think I bought this at CVS and it was about $4.50 for 1 box or 2 for $6. Plus there is a $0.55 coupon inside on the flap. That's just really reasonably priced. You get 70 pad in a container and you can even cut them in half and it would be enough.

I use this every morning and once in awhile in the evening. I'm 25 and my skin had been looking awful. In about 2 weeks I have seen major improvements in my skin. New blemishes still pop up, but they're less severe and go away in about 2 days. I got a few whiteheads or something the first few days I used it but that went away quickly.

Salicylic acid is a BHA and doesn't cause sun sensitivity, so that's why I use it in the morning. In the evening I use a AHA. My skin is just smoother overall and I think is starting to finally clear up.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SHeust on 9/13/2013 1:37:00 AM more reviews by SHeust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I am acne prone on my chin and was hoping this old teenager standby might help me with my late-20's skin problem. I only used these for about a week before I couldn't anymore. They completely wreaked havoc on my skin.

The good:
Cheap
The wipes are well-soaked with product and generously sized
Decreased oil production on my chin quite a bit

The bad:
Hard to find - I could ONLY find at CVS (not at Target, Ulta, Rite Aid, Walgreens...)
Dried out my skin so bad that it started flaking and peeling and feeling tight and painful
Seemed to cause more acne than curing it! I had way more blemishes pop up during use of these at once than usual. I don't know if it was just revealing them or my skin reacted that way to it. Either way, I developed about NINE new blemishes while using these, which is definitely not normal for me.
Didn't seem to do much to heal my older blemishes
Did nothing to fade acne marks

I used these once or twice a day but they only seemed to be making things worse and my skin looked terrible. Be very wary if you have dry or sensitive skin, these probably aren't for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mewables on 7/31/2013 2:18:00 AM more reviews by Mewables

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I use this as an astringent of sorts after washing with a medicated cleanser and under 10% benzoyl peroxide. This product doesn't do anything for oil- sometimes I forget the benzoyl acne gel and my skin has oil slicks an hour later. Doesn't burn at all, and I love how wet each pad is! Enough to thoroughly saturate the whole face, I make sure to use both sides. Leaves skin feeling very clean. Excellent price, I get them for under $4 at Walmart for 70 pads. I use these 2-3x a day with no burning or irritation. However, I have the most ridiculously oily skin ever, still needing the strongest products, skipping a face wash is inconceivable to me! I had awful acne as a teen and never had strong enough products. I do envy normal/combo skinned gals!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MES on 7/28/2013 11:05:00 PM more reviews by MES

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have dry, sensitive, eczema prone skin, but I also have a lot of clogged pores. It can be difficult to find a product that will exfoliate and clean pores without drying me out. Benzoyl Peroxide was too drying for me, I used to use an OTC retinol (ROC) but even that was too drying for daily use. I had thought about using these every other day just to be on the safe side, but took the plunge and have used them four nights in a row now. So far no flakiness, no redness, no drying. My skin feels smoother, and I have already noticed some of the pores around my nose clearing up. I do follow up with a moisterizer about 30 minutes after using one of the pads. These are super cheap, and they work well.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 circusriddle on 5/30/2013 3:20:00 AM more reviews by circusriddle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My skin type: Oily, acne prone, clog prone, large pores, sensitive and easily prone to redness (irritation.)

HG status in my skincare routine. I use this every night after cleansing and it not only makes my skin radiant and glowy, it significantly diminishes any breakouts I have and helps keep new ones from erupting into cystic sized mountains. I only use this at night even though the box recommends morning and night, because exfoliating in the mornings is a big no no. It leaves your skin more vulnerable during the day and that's when we want to protect it the most (SPF, very important!)

I saw this product all the time in drugstores when I was in my teens, and I'm not going to lie, I scoffed at it. No way could a product that cheap, found at the drugstore, and so obviously targeted toward my demographic really work. Boy, do I wish I had taken a chance on this $5 jar of salvation. It might have saved me years of embarrassing acne and scars from self-conscious picking.

Then at 22 years old, after ages researching skincare routines, I was looking chemical exfoliants and the lovely folks on the MUA SkinCare Board recommended I try this one out. Thank you, thank you, thank you to all those who did, because I picked up a jar and never looked back.

I normally don't believe in "purging" effects from skincare products (an initial period of time when you first use a product and it causes you to break out, "purging" all the infections- acne- underneath your skin) but my skin was terrible the first two or three weeks I began using this. It could have been a few other contributing factors, but after the horrendous breakouts during that time, my acne started to all but disappear. It wasn't completely gone, and still isn't, but my skin was radiant and smoother. My acne no longer came in huge red bumps, or if it did this quickly worked to bring them down, decreasing acne bumps by almost 50% overnight.

Its been less than a year and I've never had better skin since I hit puberty. My pores are smaller, clogs are reduced, and my skin glows. As I mentioned earlier, I still get breakouts but they are much more manageable and fewer and far between. Hormonal breakouts do give me cystic acne on my chin, but usually they're gone after two or three days just from using this every night. And the large one's never hurt because they just never get to that stage of full on flareup.

Could this be better? Yes. I'm not happy that it contains fragrance and it does have another ingredient that is not so great for those with sensitive skin. Thankfully, neither one is a problem for me, but I just think its a shame that what could be a perfect product is ruined with these two ingredients.

But all around, I love this product for my skin. The price is just unbeatable and the amount you get with the product saturation is perfect. My only concern is that its getting harder to find this in drugstores.




2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 StupidUserNames on 4/28/2013 3:57:00 AM more reviews by StupidUserNames

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I initially bought these for my milia outbreak I was having on my neck and it did help but I feel these were too gentle on the nasty milia so I stopped using them. Then one day one of my dogs developed ringworm and gave it to another one of my dogs and caught it from her too I was so desperate to get rid of the itchyness that I put put these on the ringworm and this really helped soothe the area and just dry up the ringworm fast and I got rid of it in about a week! If only I knew this sooner I'd probably would have avoided suffering with many ringworm infections that lasted months!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 csann on 3/4/2013 2:54:00 AM more reviews by csann

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have dehydrated skin with oily t-zone. I bought this to help with my blackheads and it worked! I used to use clay masks (Queen Helene, Kiehls Rear Earth mask etc), while it helps to absorb the oils, and pore are minimized, it's effect was only temporary and the masks also makes my skin dehydrated. With this, I use half a pad at a time and only use it on my t-zone every other night. I've used this for 2 weeks now and is seeing a significant reduction on my blackheads. Because it's alcohol free, it does not dry out my skin. This will last me sometime, it's cheap and works great! This product does contain menthol, so beware if you are sensitive to menthol. I also use this to prevent razor burn as it contains almost the same ingredient as tendskin. Stridex is not sold from where I live, I ordered this from iherb.com. Use code FPK731 for $5 off your first time order (or $10 off for orders more than $40)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rainshine on 2/19/2013 2:30:00 PM more reviews by rainshine

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

HG staple for my combo-oily skin prone to breakouts. I use these every night. When I skip a night, I usually break out the next day. If my skin feels dry, I just wash with something milder instead, or use moisturizer after this. Now if they'd only bring back the Stridex PowerPads, my skin would be even better!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stridex products

More Treatments products