Tarte • Amused • Lipstick

rated 3.9(12 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 88angels on 11/3/2012 11:23:00 PM more reviews by 88angels

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this new craze in fat lpencil lipsticks. I personally think the old school lipstick packaging should be done away with forever. When using on actors they get their own pencil and i generally don't even use a lip brush anymore. Great for touch ups on set and super easy (ok, when I am doing print or red carpet I still like the control and precision of a brush) I have tried lots of these style pencils: Tarte, Clinique Chubby Sticks, Bite, Urban Decay. I love them differently for different reasons and I think its helpful to see all in one review.
Tarte: I love the option of sheer or more pigmented matte. the colors are so fashion forward with the brighter matte choices. The sheers are perfect for every day wear and are fairly moisturizing
Clinique Chubby Sticks: Sheer and moisturizing. Love the color selection. Two Ton Tomato is such a fun orangey bright red and you don't have to have a surgeon's steady hand to apply like you do most reds. I apply it on the go mirror free! and Bountiful Blush is just hands down the best natural color out there. It works on everyone!
Sephora Bite: Not a huge color selection as of this review (4 or 5 colors at most at this point) but what they have is great! highly pigmented and smooth application. Great find!
Urban Decay: I love this pencil. But it is not for the shy one. The colors are super vibrant (wow!!!) and yes, some of them quite loud. Which is so fun!!! Very pigmented! and smooth silky app. love love!
Hope this helps! If you are still going old school with your lipsticks, ditch 'em grandma!. come on over to fat lip pencil lipsticks - you'll never go back! (unless of course you are a makeup artist for runway, print, or redcarpet events where the control of a brush is still a tool we should be using... but who needs all that hassle if you're not??)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SARAHD33x on 10/18/2012 11:48:00 AM more reviews by SARAHD33x

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Love this product. I use this colour all the time, when I want a light sheer lip that's comfortable and has just a slight flush of colour. This product smells great, and has a nice cooling sensation on the lips. It increased the moisture in my lips and prevented any flaking or chapping. I think of it as a 2-N-1 Lip Balm and Stain. I do find it needs reapplying after eating, though.

in my opinion this is way better than the Chubby Stick. It also has natural ingredients that the Chubby Sticks don't.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* timothybcat on 3/18/2012 11:58:00 PM more reviews by timothybcat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this in my Birchbox a few days ago, and have been using it ever since because it's really gorgeous and comfy to wear. The color I have is Amused, which is a sheer but pigmented magenta pink. It has a nice minty smell that doesn't last long, and it feels good on my lips. However, "stain" is a complete misnomer. It does leave some pigment behind once it wears off (which it does, quite easily), but certainly not an even stain, more like little patches of pink on my lips. So it just looks like your lipstick wore off, which it did. I found it to be very similar in texture, pigmentation, and feel to Revlon Lip Butters. Considering you can get those for six bucks, I would absolutely NOT pay $24.00 for one of these. Nice lip tint, but you can get a whole lotta Butters for that price. UPDATE: I really liked using this "stain" because I liked the feel and minty smell. What really got irritating was that when the point wore down it was really hard to apply. It's usually not a big deal to apply because it's a blunt end (I mean, that's what lipsticks are), but the product is so soft that little crumbs roll off and wind up outside the lipline. Then of course it broke, and while I tried to hold onto what was left, the rest of my product is now MIA (probably falling off at some point after I had reapplied it) and I have an empty tube. Again, this is such crap for what you pay for these, especially because now Revlon has their own version of these that's a fraction of the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xPINKBEARx on 8/31/2011 2:13:00 AM more reviews by xPINKBEARx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

LOVE this product! I wore it for my wedding day and it had pretty good staying power- better than a lipstick, not as good as one of those "longwearing" 2-step lipcolors, but definitely more natural feeling. I love the minty scent/taste and the slight glossiness that it has (that other stains lack).

My only complaints is the crayon tube is kinda weird and if I were to wear this all the time, every day, I KNOW my lips would get really dried out. And its pretty expensive, but I purchased it for a very special occasion so it was worth the splurge.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* darkharbour on 8/14/2011 8:20:00 AM more reviews by darkharbour

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

A stick gloss in a pencil form. The pencil twists up nicely. The gloss has a minty taste and cool feel. Amused is a vivid hot pink. Texture similar to Tarte's cheek stains. Not terribly long lasting on the lips due to the slippery texture, thus I think the term "stain" is a misnomer. Soft and moisturizing on lips.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sabsprincess on 4/8/2011 10:22:00 PM more reviews by sabsprincess

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is such a pretty color! It's a bright magenta, but if you apply lightly it adds a subtle pink color. It's so versatile, which I love. It IS expensive, however, so I'm looking for another option. But I love this :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lips75 on 2/8/2011 7:09:00 PM more reviews by lips75

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this lip stain. Its a beautiful sheer l pink color and worth the price. I plan to purchase other colors. I like how soft it made my lips feel. It doesn't dry out like most lip stains.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lhalvor on 7/26/2010 3:25:00 AM more reviews by lhalvor

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great product. I just picked up Amused after having two other colours. The product is so great. It makes wearing lip product effortless, unlike sticky lip gloss and smudgy lip stick. I also love that it is pointed so I can line my lips as well. I just LOVE these products, I think they need more colours!! So I can buy more of them! Only down fall is the price.... BUT since I hate lip gloss AND lip stick, this is all I really use. I am not feeling to put out by it. I love this colour as well. I have decided that my signature lip colour is Amused, a bright fuschia pink!

OH, and it's hydrating, so I don't feel sad to leave my lip balm at home.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 peps123 on 5/23/2010 8:48:00 PM more reviews by peps123

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The color goes on bright but tones itself down considerably. These lipstains smell like Doublemint gum and feel moisturizing when you first apply them. The moisture feeling does not last a really long time but my lips don't feel dried out either. It leaves a VERY LIGHT stain for quite some time. Not really thrilled with this product but I don't hate it either.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 montanachica on 5/3/2010 8:04:00 PM more reviews by montanachica

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This review is for Tarte Natural Lipstain Pencil in Amused.

I really like this product. The color is definitely bright when it goes on. I don't wear a lot of other make up when I plan on wearing this, as it becomes a focal point. The texture is nice and I like the minty smell. I plan on buying in some other colors. I have overly sensitive lips and this doesn't bother me. Bottom line: Not for the faint-hearted, as it is a punchy pink!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tarte products

More Lipstick products