MAC • Viva Glam Gaga [DISCONTINUED] • Lipstick

rated 4.1(534 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 3 of 5 sirenes29 on 12/18/2014 6:33:00 PM more reviews by sirenes29

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm giving this lipstick a rating of 3 out of my own personal preference and fault of the product itself as well. When it first came out I was very excited to have it, being in 7th grade and loving Lady Gaga I knew I needed to have it. I am now a sophomore in high school and I regret this being my first MAC purchase.
This lipstick is a lustre finish. It looks like a gloss, and applies very smooth. However, it tends to sink into the fine lines of my lips. I do love the vanilla scent MAC lip products have though.
This cool tone pink does not look good on my olive skin and I have to put a very orange lipstick over it to even out the tone. I'm happy that I've almost used this product up. Sad that Viva Glam lipsticks can't be Back 2 MAC.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thepulptoyourfiction on 8/21/2014 4:57:00 PM more reviews by thepulptoyourfiction

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Such a cute babydoll pink!
This was the only shade I liked out of the Gaga limited edition line.
It looks good on anyone -- thick or thin lips, doesn't matter!

I'm only giving it 4 lippies because it doesn't look good on its own. It's very pale pink. BUT it looks amazing paired on top or underneath a bright pink lipstick, like Make Up Forever's Rouge Artist 37.

This is a better alternative to any of the bright pink Limecrime lipsticks out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 7/19/2013 5:48:00 PM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

MAC's Viva Glam Gaga is my first ever MAC product. This lipstick was limited edition and has now been discontinued for at least a year, but it seems to still be available on both eBay and Amazon, so I chose to review it for prospective buyers. As I'm sure you can infer from the product's game, this lipstick was part of MAC's Viva Glam line, which supports the MAC Aids Fund; 100% of the proceeds of all Viva Glam purchases are donated to this fund. This lipstick contains 3g (.1 oz) and retailed for $14 (MAC lipsticks now sell for $15 a piece). I won this lipstick in my friend Carly's giveaway. MAC does not test on animals. This lipstick was made in Canada.
This lipstick comes in a black cardboard box. The product name is printed on the front of the box, along with Lady Gaga's signature in metallic red lettering. A full ingredient list can be found on the side of the box. This lipsticks comes in a black, bullet shaped tube, the MAC logo is printed on the cap in red letters. Popping off the cap reveals a red twisting mechanism, with Lady Gaga's signature scrawling around it. The shade name can be found on the bottom of the tube. While the outer packaging seems pretty sturdy, the lipstick it's self is kinda delicate, it snapped right off yesterday at random.
I've heard so much good stuff about MAC's lipsticks, across the board. While I don't feel like MAC's Viva Glam Gaga is mind-blowingly good, I really like it! Viva Glam Gaga is a luster finish, meaning the formula is meant to be sheer and quite creamy, and oh is it creamy! This lipstick's texture is so lovely, it glides right on to the lips. Viva Glam Gaga is super comfortable and fairly moisturizing. Unfortunately that moist, creamy formula isn't very long wearing. This lipstick only stays on for about 60-90 minutes, but it does leave a slight stain behind. This lipstick has the signature MAC vanilla scent, and no detectable flavor.
Viva Glam Gaga is a bright, bubblegum pink with no shimmer to it. This lipstick is on the sheerer side, which I believe is typical for MAC's luster lipsticks. I apply two layers of this lipstick for additional opacity. Viva Glam Gaga has a lightly glossy finish that I really love. I don't typically gravitate towards pink lipsticks, especially not bright, candyish hues like this one. Initially I thought Viva Glam Gaga would look a bit off on me, but I actually really like it. I feel like the smooth, glossy luster finish is what kept this lipstick wearable for me.
I really like MAC's Viva Glam Gaga lipstick, it was a very nice introduction to the brand. The texture of this lipstick is wonderful, it applies like a dream and feels great on the lips - if only it stayed on longer. This bright, glossy pink is really pretty. Its a shame that this lipstick was limited edition. I've been lusting after MAC's Sheen Supreme Lipstick in Korean Candy, and now that I have a feel for what MAC's lip products are like, I think I'm going to take the plunge and buy it. A big thank you to Carly for sending me this lipstick. If you've been considering buying a tube of Viva Glam Gaga that you've found somewhere on the internet, go for it, provided it isn't too expensive. I really like this lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 imgracekelly on 6/25/2013 9:44:00 PM more reviews by imgracekelly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I'm pretty much obsessed with mac lipsticks. I like this color...it's very bright though so it's not a wear to work lipstick (personal preference). I like that it's soothing and moisturizing! I would buy again...but it's limited edition :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 peakvolume on 6/10/2013 1:16:00 AM more reviews by peakvolume

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

VGG is a great, cool-toned, blue-based pink. However, it's not the most unique shade (Gaga herself said it was a reiteration of MAC's Pink Nouveau; Saint Germain and Snobs are other dupes, just within MAC's range, that come to mind). It feels creamy and nondrying, but it doesn't apply evenly, and disappears after a disappointing 3 hours. It's pretty, but it's just average.

(Read the full review on peakvolume.blogspot.com)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Annelien1987 on 3/28/2013 3:21:00 PM more reviews by Annelien1987

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

One of the worst mac lipstick I ever bought. I have no clue why the hell I spend 19 on this stuff. I don't like lustre lipsticks, it almost doesn't show up on my lips but it does show all the imperfections. A very unflattering porn looking colour, i don't even like lady gaga, I actually badly dislike her but that's not the reason why I don't like this. It just doesn't work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SharonT14 on 2/26/2013 7:20:00 AM more reviews by SharonT14

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Color does not work with certain skin tones (warm especially). It washed me out and looked horrible. It also looks horrible if you haven't recently exfoliated your lips, like within the last 12 or so hours. Because it accentuates everything, even the tiniest dry spots. I don't recommend it, but glad it works for some people because the color is pretty when swatched.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sarah1325 on 2/21/2013 1:49:00 PM more reviews by Sarah1325

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've had mine for a looong time and just now writing a review. Its a blue based light pink and I love it! I just wish it wasn't a lustre formula as it doesn't stay long.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mrsmula01 on 11/2/2012 12:46:00 PM more reviews by mrsmula01

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE THIS LIPSTICK it is so pigmented and its a gawjuss colour! i would totally recommend this to anyone whos into girly pink colours xxx

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kate1011 on 8/23/2012 2:59:00 PM more reviews by Kate1011

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product and its just as same that they have stoped making it :( I really like the colour and I will be really upset when I use it up. If anyone knows a dupe of it please let me know.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products