Pur Minerals Pressed Powder Foundation

3.9

581 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

ORIGINAL FORMULATION: Active Ingredient: Titanium Dioxide 8%; Inactive Ingredients:Mica, Boron Nitride, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Bismuth Oxychloride, Zinc Stearate, Magnesium Silicate, Magnesium Carbonate, Silica, Shea Butter (Butyrospermum Parkii), Tocopheryl Acetate, Iron Oxides. May contain: Ultramarines NEW FORMULATION: Ingredients Mica, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Boron Nitride, Bismuth Oxychloride, Zinc Stearate, Magnesium Silicate, Sodium Starch Octenylsuccinate, Mannitol, Sodium Gluconate, Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate, Waltheria Indica Leaf Extract, Dextrin, Ferulic Acid, L-Lactic Acid, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Silica, Thioctic Acid, Sodium Hyaluronate, Retinol, L-Ascorbic Acid, Ceramide 6 II, Magnolia Officinalis Bark Extract, Vitis Vinifera/Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Tocopherol, Lecithin, Maltodextrin, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Fruit Skin, Glycerin, Palmitoyl Tripeptide-5, L-Glutathione, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Hydrated Silica, Tocopheryl Acetate, Aqua, Glucosamine HCI, Pisum Sativum (Pea) Extract, Bambusa Vulgaris Leaf/Stem Extract, Magnesium Carbonate, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499). May Contain: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Ultramarine (CI 77007)


on 9/3/2015 4:07:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

After trying other foundations, I always find myself coming back to this. It is flawless, it blends like a dream , you could even apply this in the dark, I'm not kidding !! It's beautiful, it isn't cakey , it isn't oily , it doesn't clog pores and it is so, so beautiful ! It covers redness , it blurs pores, it covers pimples too. It's really quite amazing!

As someone else mentioned , make sure your skin is well moisturized and not oily before applying , for best results.

After a long search and trying everything under the sun , I am back to this and sticking with it!!



on 8/14/2015 8:14:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Excellent mineral pressed powder foundation. I'm in shade Light Tan. I prefer this over the IT Cosmetics celebration foundation.


on 7/24/2015 3:42:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Looked very fake on the skin.
Never set right and increased the oil on my skin.


on 6/30/2015 5:36:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This us great for a super quick ready to go application in a hurry. There's no blending or drying, it's just brush/buff and go and it's easy to achieve a full coverage. It's not cakey but it is powdery so it can look like you are wearing a powder and i personally don't like it under my eye it does settle into lines a bit.

My go to is usually Clinique beyond perfection, so I felt the price point for pur was pretty reasonable. I got the brush as well and despite reading poor reviews on it, I've had no shedding issues. You can use a real techniques expert face brush for the pur it's firm enough. Overall, pretty good I like it.


on 11/16/2014 3:22:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used this foundation for years. I finally gave up because it clogged my pores so much. Great color match, portable for a mineral foundation and the brush rocks.


on 7/9/2014 10:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Most of my foundations are minerals. This however is great to take along in your purse since it is pressed. Less messy. I love that it doesnt take much to achieve good coverage and it doesnt look cakey either. I use tan in the winter and medium dark in the summer. These seem to have a bit of a golden undertone to it which matches my olive complexion pretty well.


on 5/8/2014 4:19:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

My HG foundation by far. I can not compromise on this stuff. It's Pur or it's no makeup at all. Any other foundation liquid or powder simply looks like my skin with makeup on. Pur foundation looks like my skin, just way better. I get compliments about my complexion in a freakishly frequent manner when I use this. A gorgeous female doctor I worked with would go on and on about how beautiful my skin was and refused to believe I had any dark spots or reddened areas. Well, I do. My skin isn't horrible, but it's got sun damage, patches of redness, some dark spots, blah blah. I don't look stellar without a touch of makeup. I have dry to combo very VERY sensitive skin. (i'm talking, my own sweat makes my skin angry sensitive). I have been using this product for about 4 years and I fell that it only looks best when applied with a the round chisel brush to get the best coverage. It spanks bare essentials hardcore and leaves it crying. Bare essentials or whatever wacky way they spell it, makes peoples faces seem nice at first, but they always look like a weird, shiny, metallic, R2D2 version of themselves in a few hours. No thanks. The price is somewhat high for the average working slob like myself, however, considering it lasts a good two to three months depending on use - absolutely worth every penny.

I wish the packaging allowed for better use of the entire product. I have to get creative to use the very last bits on the edges when it's almost out.

Look, I know that I've read glowing reviews for products before and have been extremely disappointed in the results. Therefore, it is important to proceed with caution and know that everyone's genetic makeup is different and you may be cursing me for being so confident about this makeup. To avoid possible buyer's remorse and a bout of severe depression bc you didn't like it and then start to think you will never have nice makeup and will, therefore, be alone forever, own 9 cats and 5 parakeets, never learn another language, never see Paris in Spring, and you might as well go eat a lot of something :

1) Make sure you have your skin in as good of shape as you can before using this. My sister tried applying it in the bathroom when we were at a wedding - my sister has terrible oily skin, has never worn makeup, makes no attempt at daily facial care other than soap in the shower. ... it looked awful. It looked like she put a mask of awful stage makeup powder on and every single one of her neglected, dirty, tiny black pores, on her nose and chin, which before the makeup were't that noticeable, were now totally obvious and very exaggerated. I love my sister and she doesn't know really that this was the opposite of what should have happened bc she is not a girl who really cares about that stuff generally. So, to avoid a bigger scene of washing, reapplying, hoping, awkwardness, and apologizing - there in the ladies room - I told her it looked great and we went back out there and electric slid the night away. MORAL: take care of your skin the best you know how before using any foundation expecting it to work the way it's supposed to. only put it on clean skin that has been moisturized where it needs to be, and whatever goop you used has had a few minutes to absorb.

2) Buy the stupid chisel brush. I tried to use another brush thinking it didn't matter... WRONG. This makeup is an all in one - primer- foundation - concealer - finisher.
Let it work its magic by applying it with the right utensil. the wrong brush on't give the right coverage/effect to make this work well. Can another brush from another company that is designed the same work? Probably, but I don't know for sure, so if you want to try go ahead, but keep in mind my results are with the Pur chisel brush, and only that brush.

3) Start light and build if you need. You can always add a bit more, can't take it away. Apply it exactly the way it says : swirl the brush lightly in the powder, tap any excess, lovingly apply in soft and biggish circular motions from the outside in.

4) Always use an under eye concealer separate from your foundation for dark circles. When using powder foundation, apply and blend the under eye concealer before the foundation or you will risk looking weird. Don't use a powder concealer under the eye. If you like the mineral thing, fine - but choose something that won't settle into creases like a powder could.

I hope you give it a try and I hope you enjoy this awesome gift to womankind as much as I do!


33 out of 37 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using the product for 4 years and love it.I have extremely oily skin and can trust this product won't cause breakouts and will continue to use it.I don't like that they changed the compact so it no longer has a puff hidden under the powder, as I prefer that over brush use.I also find the power breaks into a million crumbly pieces when it's near done.This happens EVERY TIME!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/28/2014 2:24:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

For me, having a very red complexion naturally, i found that it takes a ton of product to get the coverage I like (which is a lot). There are not many powder foundations (I find) that can even come close to giving full coverage. Day to day, it's not practical to use that much of it because it is quite expensive ($32CAD), so I just use it lightly over top of my liquid foundation for an extra bit of coverage. This gives it a beautiful airbrushed look. I find however, I still have to use a setting powder over that, as this powder itself does not set my foundation (MAC studio sculpt) completely. I have this in porcelain and I still find it's a bit yellow-y, but if it were any lighter I'm sure I'd look like a zombie. Some days I'll also just use concealer with this powder over top, which gives me a very natural look as my rosy-ness and freckles peek through. The brush that they sell with this makes all the difference. I got it as a GWP, and I'm sure any short bristled kabuki brush would work too, but you wont get any coverage with a fluffy powder brush. Although this looks great over my liquid foundation, due to the fact that it doesnt set it very well and I rarely use it on its own, I may not repurchase when I run out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/1/2014 11:55:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Changed the formula - contains bismuth. BISMUTH BREAKS YOU OUT AND CLOGS YOUR PORES even if you are not acne prone. The positive reviews come from the AMAZING *old* formula, which they sadly discontinued.

12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top