Urban Decay • Eyeshadow Primer Potion - Eden • Eye Primer

rated 3.9(294 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jdmcgi2 on 10/24/2014 9:00:00 PM more reviews by jdmcgi2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not a fan of eden it is just too yellow for my taste but it does work just as well as the original eyeshadow primer potion which is my favorite. Eyeshadow sticks to this like glue and won't move for hours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Siofs on 10/19/2014 8:38:00 AM more reviews by Siofs

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this primer free with the Urban Decay Naked 3 palette along with samples of their original primer, an anti ageing one and the sin primer potion (a really dark primer). I adore this product! I have really bad trouble with eyeshadows and getting them to last and stay on my lids and in comparison to the original primer eden was a thicker more sticky consistency and it made my eyeshadow stick to my lids like glue! Also the fact that its slightly yellow in colour meant that it covered up any purpleness around my lids (I'm very fair and find this a problem). Not only this but at 21 euro it was a great price, due to the fact eden is so sticky it goes a very long way so I can see this tube lasting me a loooong time! The packaging is done in traditional urban decay style and is very pretty. Overall I adore this primer and think its much better than the original! Would 100% recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 saraminebowen on 10/13/2014 4:43:00 PM more reviews by saraminebowen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Ugh. Luckily, this was a sample in my Naked 2 palette, so I paid nothing for it. I wish someone would've paid me to use it, though, because it did nothing but mess up my shadow colors and didn't even keep the colors in place. I look like I wiped concealer all over my eyelids- even WITH dark eyeshadow shades like Busted & Blackout on. I'll be throwing this sample away, not even going to give it away, because I'm a good friend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tmill on 9/18/2014 10:22:00 PM more reviews by tmill

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I got a sample of this from a friend, along with several other "flavors" of UD eye primer. It was kind of a toss up between this and the original. It came down to the original being a bit easier to work with and lasting just a little longer. If they ever stopped making the original, I would probably buy this one instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Fark222 on 9/6/2014 6:12:00 PM more reviews by Fark222

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

As a huge fan of the original UDPP, I was really excited to try Eden, because for the same price it had a little extra tint to it (helpful for those under eye discolourations).

But I am so disappointed! I have to agree with the other reviewers that Eden's consistency is totally different from the original formula- it's thicker, harder to blend, and applies streakier. Additionally, after only a couple of hours out and about, product which hadn't melted off my face had caked into the creases of my eyelids.

Stick to the original formula, people, $24.00 CAN is an awful thing to waste.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BeauPeep on 8/29/2014 9:50:00 AM more reviews by BeauPeep

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Well, l don't know to be honest. After picking up on the hype l went on eBay to get one (Eden), since Sephora packed up and left last spring. ls it supposed to stay 'wet', even after 5 or 10 minutes? Cause when l was stil in the process of putting the rest of my makeup on, this stuff was still creamy and even creased itself on my eyes, l could still move it around (l didn't use a lot) and l thought it would dry after a minute or so. Now l've bought the Tarte CC primer, but it's almost the same story. Think l'm gonna put those reviews aside next time, cause it's 3 buys and 3 (semi) misses..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 srxxx on 8/20/2014 8:26:00 AM more reviews by srxxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have hooded eye lids and it makes eyeshadow staying put complicated. I've tried many primers from high end to drugstore and really like the urban decay ones best. Of them all, Eden is my favourite. It is a rich creamy, consistency which stays perfectly matte and in place all day, even without eyeshadow on top. I like that it is a nude colour as it has coverage in it. I love the primer even more in it's new packaging! The tip to this is less is more, which makes it a great investment, it lasts forever. Holy grail eyelid primer, I have nothing bad to say about it.
And it's not just for eyeshadow. A little tip also with this product, if you're having difficulty with creasing of concealer under the eyes, use a little bit then put a light later of concealer over the top, then powder. It will stay put all day!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BeautyBySantaAna on 8/13/2014 10:46:00 AM more reviews by BeautyBySantaAna

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

If your use to the original formula read this. This color may be really light. but this is good if you want your eyeshadow to show more of its color. Think of this, when you prime your wall white...why do you have to prime your wall before you apply the paint color on? Because that is how the true color is shown. The only thing I don't like about it this primer it tends to get watery sometimes so I always shake the bottle well done then it's good to go. I personally wouldn't buy this again, but I'm just going to stick with the original formula instead.

I only use it if I want to wear bright eyeshadows on my eyes or either I'll just use a different brand primer that is a white. Here is my video tutorial that featuring this product. Be sure to subscribe my channel




    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ImaaniAmira on 7/30/2014 2:32:00 PM more reviews by ImaaniAmira

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

My favourite Primer Potion out of the 4!

As a professional make-up artist I use this Primer religiously. Due to its beige colour, it acts a waterproof concealer and brightener for the lids which is something I need myself due to the natural discolouration of my eye lids. Unlike concealer, it's oil free and dries down to a waterproof finish so no creasing, and the discolouration of the skin on my eyelids cannot be seen!

When I use this on myself, I apply it with my fingers. It's important to only use the tiniest blob of this product because it spreads and covers a large proportion of the eyelid very easily although if you use too much, you end up with an unnecessary thick layer. The great thing is, just like the Original Primer Potion, it holds the shadow wonderfully and keeps it neatly in place.

The Eden Primer is also excellent if you use only matte shadows as the matte quality of Eden works in harmony with the matte shadows, ensuring and retaining a matte look throughout the day


TIP 1: Try this! Squeeze a decent sized blob on to a mixing palette (I use a small, clean, white kitchen tile as a mixing palette). Taking a clean sanitized finger, run your finger through your favourite eyeshadow picking up a good amount of pigment before gently blending the two products together. This should create a cream eyeshadow! Apply this to your eyelids but DO NOT open your eyes straight away as the product will crease. Let this dry (either use a hairdryer at arms length on a cool setting, or let it dry naturally before opening your eyes to prevent creasing). This then becomes a waterproof eyeshadow that resists rubbing and does not need to be applied again for almost 30 something hours (I've slept in mine and worn it to the gym also just to test it out!).

TIP 2: Use the Eden Primer Potion as a matte highlighter! I apply a tiny little blob on my finger and transfer it to my brown bone, patting it on gently under the arch of the brow and the inner corner of the eye. It delivers a natural matte highlight that works well with matte shadows. (Not recommended for people with pale complexions as it can look a little yellowy on pale cool toned skins).

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 silentboo on 7/30/2014 11:17:00 AM more reviews by silentboo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Blue    


This is difficult to get into the corners of your eyes (I use a concealer brush) If you accidently put some where you didn't intend to it's a hassle to try and get it off and/or hide with colour.

On most days it helps my eye shadow last all day. There has been the odd occassion its creased, and when it doesn't last all day it leaves a horrible nicotine-like stain behind.

I liked the idea of a brightening tint to the original primer potion but I'd steer clear and choose clear next time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Urban Decay products

More Eye Primer products