CeraVe Facial Moisturizing Lotion - PM

3.9

440 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water Purified, Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric Triglycerides, Niacinamide, Behentrimonium Methosulfate/Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth 20, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6-11, Ceramide 1, Phytosphingosine, Hyaluronic Acid, Cholesterol, Dimethicone, , Polyglyceryl 3 Diisostearate, Potassium Phosphate, Dipotassium Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate, Disodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Carbomer, Xanthan Gum


on 6/12/2015 9:22:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have troubled skin now in my 40s with dry patches to the point it flakes and oily spots that stretch the definition of combo skin. This moisturizer, along with the am (with sunscreen) have made more of a difference in my skin than moisturizers I've spent 10 times more on! They absorb fast and are loaded with quality ingredients. This is an excellent product and you just can't beat the price and availability. I also purchased the one for stretch marks and am pleased. It has helped with old stretch marks on my belly.



on 6/11/2015 9:04:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Excellent product for normal-oily skin - however, not hydrating enough for my normal-dry skin. I use Cerave Moisturising Lotion instead.


on 6/9/2015 6:32:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I'm super impressed, and super surprised, at how much I like this moisturizer. I've come around to the idea that moisturizers aren't worth spending lots of money on (I usually use La Roche Posay moisturizers, so in the $20-30 range, so the Cera-Ve was a step down in price, but not hugely so). I'm putting my money toward serums and other treatments, and economizing on this front. I bought this, instead of the AM version, because I have a separate sunscreen I like (Bioderma AKN Mat). I use it both day and night.

This gets a best rating from Paula's Beautypedia and has good stuff like hyaluronic acid, niacinamide, and some ceramides. It claims to have a time-released delivery system. It doesn't irritate my skin and it plays nicely with all the other stuff I'm putting on my face (exfoliants, retinol, etc.), and is soothing. In the coldest, deepest days of winter I'm not sure it would be moisturizing enough on its own, but right now (late spring) it's working fine. I haven't had any problems with it pilling or balling up, even when layered with an essence, an AHA, a serum, sunscreen, and foundation.

If I had unlimited amounts of money I'd probably buy something fancier, but this seems like a very good product for a ridiculously low amount of money. And since I've recently become enamored with a few very pricy things, I'm glad I can save in this area!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is my favorite everyday moisturizer*. It doesn't have the absolute best texture in the history of the universe of all time, but in terms of the ingredients and overall performance, it does a pretty bang-up job at a reasonable price.

My skin type is squarely in the realm of "normal". That doesn't mean it's perfect! It's just not particularly oily or dry, though it does have a tendency to become dehydrated and in need of plumping up fine lines that develop as a result. I also have a bit of very mild rosacea but apart from having pink-undertones, it's basically a non-issue.

Through trial and error, I've learned that my skin greatly prefers formulas such as this one over creamier/oilier formulas (which don't cause any issues per se, but do feel greasy and tend to cost a pretty penny).

CeraVe PM lotion is basically a lightweight, water-based, yet surprisingly hydrating moisturizer, with a texture that's more gel-like than creamy, but kind of a hybrid of both (a milky gel? I dunno!). Sinks in easily but not so much that it vanishes altogether to the point of feeling like it's pointless my skin remains soft and moisturized long after the initial application.

Also, while it's marketed as being an evening moisturizer, I use it both morning and evening. There's an AM version that contains sunscreen but I prefer to use the PM lotion in the morning in combination with a standalone sunscreen from a different brand.

In terms of the ingredients, it contains hyaluronic acid (my skin has loved every product I've tried with HA, including pure HA serums), niacinimide (which is apparently good for rosacea and a great ingredient in general, although some types of skin can be sensitive to it) and ceramides. All of these are apparently *great* ingredients for skincare but hard to find together in most moisturizers, drugstore or high end.

Layer it over a retinol product and maybe a good vitamin C product as well (I haven't found one with a good balance of affordability/effectiveness yet), slap on some sunscreen during the day and you're basically covered in terms of skincare essentials.

If you have truly dry and not just dehydrated skin, you may want to add a layer of something more on the creamier/oilier side over this. If you have oily/combination skin that is also dehydrated at times, this would probably be a good product try unless your skin is sensitive to any of the ingredients (it appears that it does cause breakouts for some people. Strongly recommend that you check out the other reviews if this might be a concern as I simply cannot speak to breakout issues. On the whole, this stuff looks like it shouldn't cause any issues for most people but still...).

* CeraVe SA is ALSO my favorite everyday moisturizer. Yes, I know. To have TWO favorites is playing footloose and fancy-free with the meaning of the term. Don't care. I also have four best friends. I also rate things higher than I ought to when it feels fair and ding them when I see associated spam and I thumbs up reviews for products I'll never use when the review is well-written and insightful. (Product cured your acne/oily skin and your review seems helpful to others? THUMBS UP YOU! Even though I don't have acne or oily skin.).

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/27/2015 11:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I used this on recommendation of my dermatologist, but it made me break out like crazy! Blackheads (which I never get), closed comedones, and two swollen cystic pimples... I thought maybe it was another product I was using, so I stopped using my other products, to no avail. Then I stopped using this, and started my other products again, and I stopped getting any new pimples. I was very upset, as I am VERY acne prone, but my skin beforehand had been mostly clear.

I returned the lotion, switched moisturizers to something without any fatty alcohols, and a few months later, my skin is pretty much perfectly clear and healed. I try to stay away from anything with acne flags in cosdna now.

Beware if you're acne prone or sensitive!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/26/2015 9:39:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love it for my combination skin. It's actually a steal considering all the active ingredients in this product. It's not often you see hyaluronic acid in drugstore products. This moisturizer is lightweight yet effective. I use this for day & night.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used to love this product, but the new packaging seems to have come with a different moisturizer!The new formula is sticky, tacky, pills under makeup, and breaks me out. When I use it, my face is always redder in the morning than the night before. The packaging is pretty good, though. It even locks into place to prevent spillage. However, for the price, it's really ineffective.


on 5/12/2015 1:20:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I was super excited to try this when I first found it, because I love Cera Ve, the cleansers and the regular moisturizing lotion. But I broke out after one use. Small little pimples in places I never get pimples, so I know it was caused by the lotion. Boo. However, that could've been only because it contains niacinamide and my skin always reacts badly to products with niacinamide (olay anything is a no go for me). So really I should just learn my lesson already and stop trying products with this ingredient. Hope this product works well for people without my sensitivities. :)


on 5/12/2015 12:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Skip this if you have sensitive skin or (potentially) sulfa allergies. First time I tried it, I turned bright read and my face started burning and itching. I couldn't wash it off fast enough.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/9/2015 2:11:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Not hydrating enough for skin that is on tazorac .05% and has a damaged skin barrier (I'm talking tight and dry yet oily on top). Causes tons and tons of blackheads on my forehead. My dermatologist recommended this for me and personally I feel like her office has an agenda pushing products that are famously known to clog pores, I'm talking Ceteareth 20 and Cetearyl Alcohol, to people who have severe/moderate acne and are super clog prone. In order these are the most hydrating lotions (at least to me) by cerave. The original lotion, the cream, the PM lotion, the baby lotion, the AM lotion.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top