Neutrogena • Mineral Sheers Loose Powder Foundation (All Shades) • Powder

rated 3.4(37 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 creyna87 on 3/10/2014 10:37:00 AM more reviews by creyna87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Skin: Sensitive-Oily-Acne prone

I've been using this product since 2011. It worked for me as a finishing powder and I loved it.Gave a flawless finish and covered up anything not covered by my application of foundation. My skin has always been oily so I cant say that this product contributed to that. Also gave me a nice glow.

WELLLLLLLL when i stopped wearing liquid foundation and started only wearing this loose powder foundation I noticed that when my face got oily the product accentuated my pores, my face looked even more shiny (from the shimmer) and it sank into my acne scars. I do not have deep pitted acne scars however the product made them look very pitted and noticeable. That lightest color goes on well as a color match (still a tad too dark) but once it oxidizes it turns orange and then you can see the make up line. Also, seems to separate after face becomes oily.

Since discontinued use of this product along with a new skin care routine my skin has been clearing up day after day. There is an ingredient (the glitters) that can clog the pores causing breakouts. I now use the mineral loose foundation w/ SPF 15 from Laura Mercier. You can check my review for Laura Mercier and skin care routine that cleared my ADULT acne

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kicktomorrow on 12/19/2013 6:57:00 PM more reviews by kicktomorrow

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this powder for a year now after many many many years of only wearing high end/very expensive foundations. When I first made the switch I immediately got lots of compliments on my "skin" from friends.

I like it because it's light, it's easy, it works well with my skin (Dry/Combo, moderately fair) and I prefer a light to medium coverage. I also really like the shimmer, which isn't for everyone but maybe since my skin tends to be dry and dull, I like the luminosity.

The brush isn't bad, and i've never had issues with it. I've even saved a few and put them in my travel bag for on the go blush and bronzer. I read a few reviews that ragged on the brush but I honestly don't know why. It's pretty decent.

I'm not really crazy about the packaging but it's better than a lot of powders out there. My biggest complaint is that after about a month the power will oxidize and it won't match my skin anymore. Not a huge deal considering that at the end of the month I'm nearly out of product anyways, but I know that for some gals out there who like to collect makeup.. this may not be for you, it doesn't keep well. But for those of you that want something for every day, then it's just fine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jasthill on 9/3/2013 11:07:00 AM more reviews by jasthill

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love the compact version of Neutrogena's Mineral Sheers - but not this loose powder! It is really messy in the container and the brush it comes with is next to useless. This loose powder may be more suited for someone with normal or dry skin, but I was a multi-colored oil spill of a mess after a few hours of wearing this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 indianagirl on 7/1/2013 3:13:00 PM more reviews by indianagirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Tried this as I love the compact powder from the same line, but don't like this near as much. The lightest shade, 10, which matches me in the compact is too dark in this, and oxidizes to an orangish color. And it's too shiny and looks metallic in the sun. It is also a little itchy. I'm trying to use it up by lightly dusting this over my face like warmth from BE over the compact foundation, but will definitely stick to only the compact in the future

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KylieCee on 6/10/2013 12:13:00 AM more reviews by KylieCee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Love it for light coverage and a natural looking skin tone enhancer. Great value for money and it goes a long way. I wear it during the day when outdoors for some natural looking vibrancy. If you are looking for full on coverage, this may not be the product for you. Oh and buyers of this product should use their own brush, the one that comes with the powder is small and kinda annoying, but again... It's an $8 powder, just go with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* velvetgirl on 2/3/2013 2:03:00 PM more reviews by velvetgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have been thinking and thinking about this foundation for a couple days and decided to give it a try. I always use liquid but I wanted a lighter and cleaner feeling makeup. I just applied it and I have mixed feelings about it. Because I like the makeup... just not sure this makeup and my skin will be a match made in heaven. So for now I'll just review the makeup itself. I chose the loose powder because I felt the shade (natural ivory) looked better and lighter in the powder formula rather than the compact.

The brush that comes with it is surprisingly soft! But I applied it with E.l.F's small stippling brush ($3 at Meijer). I blended and blended, the foundation is very sheer...but then again I wanted something light. I decided I needed 2 coats...more blending. It feels light and comfortable. Now I just have to wait and see if I breakout or if it settles where it's not supposed to. I would like to add that before applying this you would probably want to use concealer first because it is so light and sheer. I will be back and update....

UPDATE: Well as it turns out this doesn't do my skin any favors. It just doesn't look good on me. I need to just give up on the powder foundation thing and stick to liquid....so it's back to liquid for me. To be honest I haven't found ANY drugstore foundations that work for my acne prone skin, I really need to stick with Clinique.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Mom2Free on 12/12/2012 4:54:00 PM more reviews by Mom2Free

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This makeup caused a HORRIFIC break out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 TaniitaTania on 10/5/2012 8:42:00 PM more reviews by TaniitaTania

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Well i really loved this product a year ago , it matched my skin perfectly and i thought it was helping me control my oily skin ,,.,Wrong!!! i thought that just because its mineral powder it would help my oily skin but it didn't i think it made my skin look way shinier ,when i checked the ingredients it had bismuth oxychloride which is little glitters that the powder has and it was one of the first ingredients on the list i also heard that it can be irritant for sensitive skin, it wasn't irritating to me at all it just made my skin look shinier because the little Glittters it had,.,.this product would be perfect if it didn't have those dumb Glitters,it evened out my skin tone and it didn't break me out but it just didn't help my oily skin ,..i now use physicians formula mineral loose powder. i think the people that have dry or normal skin will like this product but for oily or sensitive skin its a no no :/

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chloexlouise on 8/2/2012 1:01:00 PM more reviews by chloexlouise

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I am actually pretty fond of this mineral powder. I have nc20ish (more neutral, NC20 runs slightly too yellow for me) and the shade "Classic Ivory" is an almost perfect match for me. The packaging is decent, makes me actually miss the Bare Minerals lock system as the powder has a tendency to kind of go all over the container if I handle this roughly.
I usually buff this all over with concealer on my blemishes or wear it over my Too Faced BB cream for more coverage and to set it. There is not much in the way of coverage when its on its own, although it does even out the skin tone and if you have perfect skin, I'm sure it would be great on its own.The lasting power is decent and it doesn't oxidize on me, although I use blotting paper or translucent powder to touch up when I get oily because adding more of this seems like a bad idea.
The main issue that is keeping this from being a five star review is the shimmer. There is quite a bit of shimmer in this. There isn't a matte option for the loose powder so I bought the pressed powder version because it has no shimmer. I actually don't like that as much, I really prefer the way the loose powder applies. I just can't reach for this when my skin is oily. The shimmer is just too much.
Overall I like this and will probably purchase this again. I am someone whos foundation routine changes literally daily, and I've had this for 6 months and I am actually almost done with the jar. This is a huge deal, it will be the first product I've legitimately finished in a long time, so the proof is in the pudding I suppose

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 alexshmalex on 5/20/2012 5:58:00 AM more reviews by alexshmalex

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

If you have fair skin, do not get this product. I don't even have the lightest of color, I usually get the second to third lightest shade from a foundation line. With that said, I purchased the lightest shade the loose powder has, which is 10 classic ivory, and it looks 3 or 4 shades darker than most other classic ivory foundations I've used before. So, again, if you have fair skin, do not get this product because even the lightest is not even light. The texture is clean, the coverage is the natural sheer I was looking for, but the coloring is just way off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Powder products