Wet 'n' Wild • Color Icon Palette - Pride 247 [DISCONTINUED] • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(40 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chelles93 on 3/21/2012 10:15:00 PM more reviews by Chelles93

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Love the two white shades, but I'm getting older (40) and shouldn't be wearing large swathes of green or blue shadow. They are very pigmented and sort of difficult to blend to a sheerer shade, unlike some other shadows I've tried.

If you're young enough to be able to wear them, this is a great palette. I can use them as eyeliners or in small, very sheer doses.

Dirt cheap. So surprised a cheapo brand has such nice shadows. Like these far more than the more expensive eyeshadows I've tried

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 3/2/2012 2:09:00 PM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Wet n' Wild's Pride Palette is one of the recently discontinued, but still available Color Icon 6 pan palettes. Pride contains three shades, a white, a green-turquoise, and a navy, in both matte and shimmer finishes. I'm unsure of the exact retail price, but I believe it goes for about $3.50-4. I won this palette as a giveaway prize from http://delabelle-k.blogspot.com/. Wet n' Wild claims that these shadows are highly pigmented and are "all day crease proof". These shadows were made in China. Wet n' Wild does not test on animals.
Like all Color Icon palettes, Pride comes in a cheap, flimsy black palette with a clear, flip up lid. A small brush and sponge tip applicator were included. I tossed the brush right away, but the sponge tip is ok for packing color on.
Despite being cheaply packaged, I like the lay out of this palette. The shadows are small squares with spiral-y design pressed onto them them. The shadows come in two vertical rows, the left, being matte, the right being the corresponding shimmery shades.
I'm not going to review each shadow individually, but I will review and compare the matte and shimmer formulations. Swatches of all the shadows can be seen here.
The matte shades in Pride aren't up to par with my expectations from Wet n' Wild shadows. By no means are they poor shadows, compared to it's drugstore competitors, these shadows are still top notch. However, they don't have the same softness as other Wet n' Wild shadows. They have a much harder, stiffer texture. They're decently pigmented, but no exceptionally so. They go on a little bit patchy, and you have to pat the color on to get true to pan pay off. I'll reiterate that they're good shadows, just not what I expect from Wet n' Wild.
The shimmer shadows vary in texture. The shimmery white shade is no where near as pigmented as it's matte counterpart. It also has a chunkier texture. It's the weak link in the Pride palette, in my opinion. The navy and turquoise shades make up for it with their soft, smooth texture and rich pigmentation. They can cause a little fall out though.
All six eyeshadows stand up to Wet n' Wild's all-day, crease free promise. They don't fade significantly. Despite not having the same textures and color pay off as the shadows in the 3 and 8 pan Color Icon palettes, the quality is nearly just as good.
I'm not a big fan of Pride's color selection. There is so little variation between the matte and shimmer shades. And there isn't really much variety in the looks you can create with white, turquoise, and navy. I'd appreciate this palette more if Wet n' Wild gave more variation in color.
Aside from lacking variety, and the flimsy packaging, Pride is a good drugstore palette if you like bright, but deep colors. The shadows aren't quite as epic as the rest of Wet n' Wild's Color Icon line, but that's probably why they got discontinued, so Wet n' Wild can reformulate, and when they do, the shadows will be fantastic. That being said, I wouldn't repurchase Pride. The colors just aren't for me, and I rarely reach for it. If you can still find this palette at your drugstore, and the colors appeal to you, snatch it before its too late, but otherwise, skip it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thekyayu on 1/3/2012 3:59:00 PM more reviews by thekyayu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love this palette!!!! It's has great colors and the pigmentation is amazing. One side has shimmer while the other side is matte which is great! You can use this for going out or for holiday parties. I used it on christmas day and people were saying how christmas-y my makeup looked. It doesn't have any fallout and the colors stay for a really long time. I work 12 hour shifts and this stuff stays!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* machochick on 9/21/2011 6:58:00 PM more reviews by machochick

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Not bad for a drugstore brand. Highly pigmented and nice colors. It stayed on my eyelids longer with a primer, but decent enough without it. So you can use it alone or with a primer. It doesn't matter because the colors will still pop out. I have oily skin so primer for me is a must.

You may notice the shimmers on the pictures, but it's not that glittery in person. I can use this daytime with out looking too dramatic. I also bought the other color palettes and like them all.

My only downside is the applicators, I wish they just stop including it, to avoid paying extra for packaging.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KelseyKarnivoreReviews on 8/17/2011 11:04:00 PM more reviews by KelseyKarnivoreReviews

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

The Matte white in this palette is amazing!!! Never had a white eyeshadow so bright or matte before. Very pleased with the matte eyeshadows. I'm all for crazy colors so this palette was perfect for me(: I don't like any of the shimmers hut the matte ones are amazing. I recommend it(: the shimmers look nice if you layer them over the matte ones, but that can get complicated and cake on):

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DollParts7 on 7/13/2011 10:33:00 AM more reviews by DollParts7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is my least favorite out of all the palettes. I find that it works great for the occasional dramatic eye, and it's good for halloween, but as a palette that I'd use often, it doesn't cut it.

Good quality, great value, and sweet deal; yes. But the colors seem slapped together, and not as thought together as Lust and Vanity, which are my favorites of the four.

This is the palette that I bought last. I figured that as cheap as it was, for the occasional blue/green eye, I'd like it.

And I do, just not often.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* furnando on 7/13/2011 7:54:00 AM more reviews by furnando

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This is some of the best drugstore eyeshadow hands down. There is hardly anything at a drugstore that isn't overloaded with glitter and shimmer, so finding matte eyeshadow's is a plus on its own. Additionally, finding eyeshadow's that are well pigmented at a drugstore, is a frustrating task too. These however, have the latter. They're rich and last long. The colors are a mix of 3 matte and 3 shimmer, so creating looks with this will be easy. This also is really cheap so try it out, its about $5 so its not expensive and you get 6 colors.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SwirlBaby83 on 6/16/2011 7:03:00 PM more reviews by SwirlBaby83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Ok. I got this today just so that I could complete the set of four... HATED it. It's chalky, hard to blend, and has mucho fall out (esp. that middle teal). The shimmers are laughable. I tried two looks with this pallette before I quit. I got a better blue look with my NYX Milk and W&W Lagoon single. I really dont want to give up on this yet, so maybe I'll try with a NYX green base or something. IDK. But as it stands right now, its my least fav of the 4 pallettes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 XxOmgItsDaraxX on 4/28/2011 7:24:00 PM more reviews by XxOmgItsDaraxX

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have previously reviewed WnW's other two palettes (Lust & Vanity). This palette is the brightest of the 4 original ColorIcon eyeshadow palettes. One side is all mattes (a bright white, a grassy green & a dark navy blue). The other side is all shimmer (a shimmery white, a medium green & a dark royal blue). Like in my other reviews I love the formula of the shadows, very soft, pigmented and blendable. The only color I have to complain about is the shimmery white...it doesn't give an even coverage and all it's all shimmer. Like there is no ''base'' color for the shimmer...so it isn't a very useful shadow. That's why I only gave it a 4/5. With the other palettes I found that ALL of the colors were useful. Other than that one color I do love the palette and would recommend it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* marwaf on 3/14/2011 2:39:00 AM more reviews by marwaf

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The matte shadows in this palette are lovely, however the shimmers? not so much. Chalky, little pigmentation from some & the shimmers in the top right corner (the highlight colour) seriously looks & feels like sugar! :S it doesn't even reflect light all that much!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Wet 'n' Wild products

More Eye Shadow products