Maybelline • XXL Pro Volume Waterproof • Mascara

rated 3.2(40 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 7/4/2014 12:49:00 PM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have to wear waterproof mascara as I have sensitive eyes that water a lot.

I bought this on impulse, and I really wish that I didn't. It is a two step mascara, which I don't really like after trying it out for a while. I hardly ever use the base coat and instead just use the top coat to give a bit of definition and color to my lashes. The base coat thickens lashes so when you apply the top coat your lashes are supposed to look much thicker. Of course, two coats of regular mascara also does this.

Unfortunately this also makes my eyes sting and so I won't be finishing the tube. I have never had any luck with maybelline products and this is no exception.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Andi2010 on 4/17/2014 6:02:00 AM more reviews by Andi2010

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I fell for the gimmicky 2 step prime and paint, managed to pay a mere pittance for this on clearance and even bought the colour "brownish/black" I would never usually go for. How easily I am swayed when it comes to all things make-up.

Brownish/Black made my lashes look black so that wasn't a drama, step 2 side is fine and coats lashes but just doesn't have the wow factor compared to Maybelline Falsies or Colossal mascaras.

As for step 1 - it's white - which needs to be covered up entirely when its dry unless you are going for the stray albino lash look, its messy and sticks lashes together and really I am just too lazy/don't have the time for mascara in a 2 step process.

Oh yes I know you are "supposed" to biff mascara away after 3 months but this is still hanging in there - much later and hasn't dried out - so I will give it that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Missryecakes on 12/17/2013 11:04:00 PM more reviews by Missryecakes

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

The Maybelline XXL mascaras are a great line of mascaras. This one was one of my HG mascaras for a while until they discontinued it where I live. :(.
I loved the idea that this mascara has a white end used to prime your eyelashes. It really did add length once the black end was applied.
This mascara gives you a good amount of both volume and length which is while I really liked this mascara. It also hold a curl well and was not too clumpy.

If you have short straight lashes with average volume then this mascara would be perfect for you!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 glamycakes2014 on 12/12/2013 8:59:00 AM more reviews by glamycakes2014

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i like this mascara but im not in love. like another reveiwer had said the white side was slightly dry. it took me 3 coats of the black side to cover up the white. this gives me volume but not legnth like i like. i use the maybelline xxl extensions which is my hg. i love it it gives me extreme legnth. overall im not a big fan of the xxl volume but it is pretty nice volume just not legnth.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MakeupLover411 on 7/11/2013 1:35:00 AM more reviews by MakeupLover411

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this mascara!! I bought this one when I had lost my Maybelline Classic Volume Express mascara and went crazy. It has two sides that you have to apply in order to get that full effect and it really helps keep your lashes in place and lasts all day! I absolutely love this mascara and its really worth buying!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cindi33 on 6/2/2013 7:17:00 PM more reviews by Cindi33

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I liked the idea of this 2 step mascara to lengthen and volumize lashes. This has a doubled ended wand with a product at each end. The first step is a white lash builder/extender that applies and acts just like black mascara. It is hard to see where you have applied it though and tends to clump when you go over the same place too many times. The brush is straight and it takes several strokes to get one coat on all the lashes from inner to outer corners. The second step is the black mascara and it applies evenly over the white base. As with the first step the brush is small and straight and it takes several strokes to get one coat on all the lashes. It gives good coverage and 1 coat looks decent while it is buildable to give you vampy lashes. It does tend to clump though with additional coats. This really does lengthen and it gives some volume too. Due to the extra step required (as Sweet Brown says, "Ain't nobody got time for that") and the straight brush I tend not to reach for this product although it is a good mascara and does what it is supposed to do which is give volume and lengthen. I would much rather have a curved brush for application and a mascara that did not clump. Overall this is a good product just not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lisa527 on 7/16/2012 4:12:00 PM more reviews by Lisa527

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Got this on sale for 2-3 bucks, great bargain!

The white side is bit dry, and the black side can't really cover the white coat thoroughly, so I often skip the first step when applying.

It holds your lashes' curl nicely, and since I always use a top coat , I'm not sure if it smudges or not.

Would buy again if it's on sale.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tishhhie on 1/22/2012 2:14:00 AM more reviews by Tishhhie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

After an entire year of being in love with this mascara, I've finally grown tired of it. I have the waterproof version in Very Black.

I put up with its extreme difficulty to be removed, awkward spiderleg ends (d/t the white primer) in exchange for its dry formula, ability to hold a curl (Chinese girl lashes) and length. In terms of volume, it doesn't make too much of a noticeable difference but in comparison to the XXL Extension, there is a tiny bit more volume.
What was most important to me was the amazing curl this mascara kept. I really do enjoy the dry formula and perhaps for others it was a bit too dry. However at the end of a long day, it was quite painful drenching my eyes in makeup remover and still waking up with raccoon eyes.

No flaking but somehow some of the white primer would begin to peep through after 8-10 hours of wear.


Verdict: I would probably purchase this mascara sometime else in the future but I think it's time to look for another mascara that would plump up my lashes a bit more. Believe me, my lashes could use the extra help.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hellofrankie on 12/7/2011 10:22:00 PM more reviews by hellofrankie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a bit surprised by the low ratings on this mascara. I'm on the second tube of this and while I don't think it is as good as Maybelline Falsies waterproof (my #1 right now), I still think it's a product worth trying. That's the joy/pain of mascara, isn't it? You never know what will be better/worse and it always is different for everyone. So I'll add my 2 cents here and put in a vote for Maybelline xxl pro because it's outperformed over 30-40 other mascaras, low to high end that I have tried over the years (I'm a mascara junkie, clearly). My volume isn't too bad but I really need a mascara that will hold my curl and not smudge. This mascara does both. I think this is a lighter and less waxy than other mascaras on average and this bodes well for lashes that need a boost. I lightly coat with the primer, then wait a bit (I usually apply my blush) then go back in with the black end of the mascara. I find this method works better for me (maybe the wait in between allows the primer to set the curl before the coat of color. Or maybe I'm just thinking results are happening, idk lol). I usually use one coat of primer, two coats of the black end then sometimes go in with my maybelline falsies once to make it more dramatic for nights out or use the loreal telescopic/rimmel sexy curves to get the little edges. I realize this sounds like a lot of work, but that's only because I enjoy a more dramatic/made-up finish. Just this mascara on its own will still give you a decent polished look for your lashes, in my experience. If your lashes are thin or droop downwards, I think you should give this a try. Furthermore, if you think your curl is dropping from heavy waxy formulas, this might be the alternative you've been looking for.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MizAkaeze on 10/14/2011 7:26:00 AM more reviews by MizAkaeze

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i hated it! its too thick, clumpy, brush isnt great because it smudges my eye shadow when i try to apply it, it never goes off! for like 3 days!!! and i pull it out and my lashes come off! i hate it! what kind of mascara cannot be removed with make up remover??? and it does nothing for the volume of my lashes..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products