NARS Semi-Matte in Heat Wave

4.6

74 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

confession: I read that Jenna Lyons (J. Crew creative director) wears this shade. I would have never looked at it - it's way outside my usual comfort zone -and as I get older, I shy away from strong matte lipsticks, b/c they can be aging. The HG lipstick must look great when you have NO OTHER makeup on - that's the test. I put this on and bangpow! instant fabulous.
I'm fair (NC15 to NC20) auburn hair - and cannot wear orange or bright pink lipstick without looking ill. I like to layer it over other lipsticks - right in the center of my lips - or apply it in layers, blotting it off so it reads like a stain - much more modern, and the safest bet for those of us who wore high-waisted jeans when they FIRST came out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 4/10/2015 3:33:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This should have been the lipstick that started my obsession with NARS semi-matte lipsticks. It has so many raves in magazines and blogs! Unfortunately, this shade was always out of stock in my country (PHL), so in frustration, I picked up another red in the range (Jungle Red), and ended up completely falling in love with it. But of course I still needed to see and experience what the hype is about, so on a trip to Singapore last year, I finally managed to get a hold of a tube of Heat Wave. Hip, hip hooray! When I finally wore it though, I had mixed emotions; It was a lovely shade of orange red on me (but leans more towards orange), and it does brighten up my face to a certain degree, but I found that I get lots more compliments & my face looks so much brighter & fiercer when I wear Jungle Red. I don't wear this as often and I'm still glad to have this color in my lipstick arsenal, but bottom line is, Jungle Red >>>>> Heat Wave, at least for me.


on 1/1/2015 8:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My first orange-red lipstick. I stayed away from orangey reds for a long time as I feel like it makes my Asian skin extra yellow and drained. Heat Wave did not do that; in fact, it was quite the opposite, it really compliments my skintone (NC30 for reference). I also believe that the colour can be worn with a casual jeans and a tshirt outfit or dressed up with a LBD. It is so versatile!

I must agree with the review below; it does make my teeth a tad yellow. But the colour is so perfect on my skin, I am willing to look passed this minor erk and continue to wear and repurchase over and over again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/31/2014 11:15:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

If you like a white smile dont use it. This made my teeth look dreadful. I am dark eyed and olive skinned so its a so called perfect colour for me but i think it has TOO much orange in it. I bought Bourjois rouge edition velvet in red pepper and its less orange and goegeous; if you love your white teeth, go for that instead!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Love it,wish it came in slim line bullet like the pure Matte Nars lipsticks.If you don't want to shell out $30 Sephora's It Girl is a dupe in color but not a matte.


on 2/4/2014 5:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

When it comes to orange-red lipstick, a cool-toned, pale girl like myself immediately balks. Anything with orange isn't our forte, after all. But if you do belong to the pink skin brigade, have no fear! This is the one exception that still pops, looks fresh, and 'modern Hollywood'-esque. The color does have a strong orange note, but the base is red, and it almost seems to turn into an orange-ish cherry red. It really brightens my face, and I'm sure this would work wonderfully on more yellow-toned skin!
Nars lip products seem to have amazing staying power; at least their semi-matte/matte ones do. This one in particular leaves a very nice hint of juicy red on my lips after a couple hours of drinking and eating, and doesn't even dry them out! The consistency is not too creamy, which makes it easy to apply directly from the tube. I would still recommend starting from the thickest part of your lip, just too test out the pigmentation and then blend accordingly. This color can look like clown makeup if you overdo it.
The price is much if you're used to drugstore makeup, but I really do think that you get the bang for your buck. It's beautiful. stays on well, seems a universal color, and isn't drying!
GO GET IT.
Also, the name 'Heat Wave' is very fitting. I like.


on 1/1/2014 10:48:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I understand why this lipstick was named Best Overall Lipstick by InStyle in 2011. The color is Hollywood film star gorgeous. I avoided red lipstick for years, because I falsely believed that my olive (yellow undertones) skin was a poor match for it.

A friend of mine was purchasing this at Sephora a few years ago, so I tried it on in the store. I was amazed. It's rich and vivid, the Technicolor of lipsticks. It has a slight coral-orange hint to it, but it is still a true and classic red.

I've had a few tubes of this. I find I can wear it any time of year.

Another red I favor is Russian Red by MAC.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/28/2013 10:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

A very flattering red-orange semi-matte lipstick. Every lady needs something sensual yet.. flirtatious. This is a nice powerful lipstick but can be very put together IF applied properly ( for me this involves a trusted lip liner and brush for precise application ). The packaging is sexy, which NARS never fails with their sleek, matte casing. It was a bit of a pretty penny but staying power is amazing. May need a few minor touch - ups here and there after a dinner but I was amazed at how beautiful my lips were after a long night out. This is a great purchase if your looking for something spicy in your lipstick collection. ^_~


on 10/10/2013 11:22:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My first MUA review!

This is an amazing lipstick. The color is stunning, like a red-orange or hot coral. It really brightens my complexion and I can see it looking good on a variety of skin shades (though probably best on neutral or warm undertones).

Other PROS
- highly pigmented, great color payoff
- formula. It's not creamy which is good IMO, for a highly pigmented lipstick. Otherwise the color would just slide around and look gross and blotchy. At the same time while I don't find this lipstick moisturizing, I don't find it drying either, which is a big plus. I think the formulation is perfect.
- easy application. has to do with formulation. it kind of reminds me a little bit of a crayon... it sounds bad but trust me it isn't. I can color inside the lines (lol) easily with this lipstick straight from the tube.
- doesn't really feather or budge, even without lip liner
- long lasting
- fades nicely

So all in all a really great product. After buying this lipstick I had a eureka moment where I realized I looked good in warm reds or slightly orange reds... so I've bought some other orange-red lippies. I still think this one is the best though.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/15/2013 12:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

NARS Heatwave is by far the best red-orange lipstick out there on the market! It has a beautiful semi-matte finish and lasts all day on the lips. I love the formula and pigment of this lipstick so much! I was so impressed that I have added another 10x Nars shades to my lipstick collection since purchasing this one. Like all NARS products, the packaging for this lipstick is very sleek and chic. I love how it's the perfect size and can fit into any clutch/pocket with ease. The lid closes tightly on the products too which is a huge plus! As it is a semi-matte lipstick it's probably ideal to wear a very thin layer of balm onto your lips before you apply this. I love how vibrant this red-orange lipstick is and how it suits so many different skin tones. NARS Heatwave is a must-have for those red lipstick junkies like me!

If you're on the hunt for a red-orange lippy, I highly recommend you give this one a try. It beats MAC's Lady Danger on so many levels!


Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

29 reviews
image

Ita Brush

45 reviews
Back to Top