Maybelline Volum' Express The Falsies

3.4

2300 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

AQUA / WATER, PARAFFIN, POTASSIUM CETYL PHOSPHATE, CERA ALBA / BEESWAX, CERA CARNAUBA / CARNAUBA WAX, ACACIA SENEGAL / ACACIA SENEGAL GUM, GLYCERIN, CETYL ALCOHOL, ACRYLATES COPOLYMER, HYDROXYETHYLCELLULOSE PEG/PPG-17/18 DIMETHICONE, STEARETH-20, PHENOXYETHANOL, HYDROLYZED CORN STARCH, CAPRYLYL GLYCOL, SODIUM POLYMETHACRYLATE, SODIUM DEHYDROACETATE, HYDROGENATED JOJOBA OIL, HYDROGENATED PALM OIL, SIMETHICONE, RAYON, DISODIUM EDTA, ARGININE, SERINE, GLUTAMIC ACID, 2-OLEAMIDO-1,3-OCTADECANEDIOL, SILICA,PANTHENOL


on 8/12/2015 6:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Does exactly what it says it does. This mascara creates perfectly dramatic volume and curl to create that false lash look in just one or two coats. My friend recommended it to me and now it's one of my go-to mascaras.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 8/9/2015 9:49:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This mascara really does look like falsies. It holds curl pretty well, but like other Maybelline mascaras, the formula is wet and sometimes does smudge under my lower lash line. I may repurchase this in future.


on 8/7/2015 5:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This mascara has it all length and volume it does what its suppose to plus this little purple bottle is so adorable!


on 8/6/2015 5:11:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

After trying Flasies Flared, I was really hesitant about trying the original. But, the reviews convinced me to give it a shot. This stuff is SO MUCH better than Falsies Flared it's unreal. (I got Flared first because of reviews but it was awful for me and flaked like crazy.)

I have the most stubborn lashes. They won't hold a curl, even with a lash curler with most mascaras. Other than that and pointing straight and down (not all point down, just a few random ones), they're normal. Not long, not thick, but not super sparse and short, either. I like volume and curl first, length last with my mascaras. If a mascara will curl my lashes and add some volume, I can deal with no extra length. But this mascara does all three, just not as much with length.

My only issue is that I hate the brush, so I cleaned the Flared brush (which I love) and use it instead. The brush for the regular Falsies is a curved brush, but on the curved parts, it's kind of flat and just weird. Flared has a better brush, in my opinion, but it might just be because I have small, kind of deep set eyes, so the regular brush might work fine for most people.

This stuff even works to curl my lashes with no lash curler. I still use one, but I don't have to if I'm in a hurry. It adds loads of volume, too. I usually do two coats, but I've done three before with no serious issues. I just used a clean spoolie to brush through my lashes between coats to keep the minor clumping in check.

My biggest issue with Falsies Flared was the horrible flaking. It would start within an hour of applying the mascara and made my eyes really irritated. So far, I've had no flaking at all with this one. The longest I've worn it was about 12 hours, though, so maybe after that it would flake. Also, I've had no smudging like I get with a lot of mascaras. (I don't use waterproof because it makes my lashes so brittle.)

To sum it all up: My husband is not a person who cares about makeup and stuff and he very rarely comments on mine unless he really loves or hates something. But he's complimented me on how my lashes look with this stuff. It's that good.

I'll definitely be buying more because this is my new HG mascara formula, I'll just be keeping the brush from Flared to swap out.

ETA: I've been using this for about a month now and I'm starting to get flakes sometimes. It's not getting in my eyes, though, just a few on my cheeks. I think it's just the product drying out, but it doesn't happen every time, just when I layer it and comb through after. It's also starting to clump a little.


on 8/1/2015 6:01:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I liked this before but this time around it just doesn't work. The brush is awkward and there is no coverage even when I put on 3 coats. It's a struggle to get it to stick to the lower lashes at all and it gave almost no length to the upper lashes so to me it's a failure. I think the other Falsies are better - Flared and Black Drama. I got this on sale so I'm only out $4 but it's so disappointing to get a useless product. My lashes didn't change - the formula did.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/19/2015 6:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Didn't like this mascara. I didn't like the formula at all and it didn't had the effect like other mascara's would. Not buying this again.


on 7/18/2015 1:26:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Medium

Eyes: Green

This goes on nice but dries out rapidly. I also noticed a good amount of lash loss. Not recommended


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Currently This is my favorite mascara. The only reason I said it was 3 stars instead of 4 if because it dries out kinda quickly. I didn't say it was 5 stars because I'm pretty sure that there are way better mascaras out there, like the Younique Moodstruck 3D fiber lashes mascara, which i'm getting soon.


on 7/2/2015 9:41:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I picked up this mascara because it was on sale for about $5. It is a decent mascara. My eyelashes are naturally really long and full so I just wanted a little for oomph and this mascara delivered it. However, it lengthened my eyelashes more than it volumized them, and I like to add a little more volume than length so I took off a lippie. The brush is a traditional brush that has a spoon shape that makes it easy to cup your eyelashes. It is very pigmented, but sometimes flakes slightly during the day but nothing major. I'm not a fan of the purple packaging, but it's the product that matters. Overall this is a pretty decent mascara.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/26/2015 1:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Major clumps! I have short Asian eyelashes and this mascara gave me spider lashes. My daughter, who has long and naturally curly lashes, does like it though. She only uses one coat.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

??! ???????????????? ??????? by WeLoveFalsies



Back to Top