Laura Mercier • Thickening & Building mascara • Mascara

rated 2.2(80 reviews)

Average Rating.2.2
Would buy this product again.25%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ceen on 10/25/2011 10:20:00 AM more reviews by ceen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Formula too wet. Migrates and transfers as a result. One to avoid.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Anitag on 6/17/2011 2:32:00 PM more reviews by Anitag

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I am mascara obsessed at the moment... on the search for my HG mascara, that manages to give my already long lashes more thickness and hold a curl. Well as it turns out, it isn't this one!
I got a small size of this, thankfully and could not believe how much this mascara smudged, I've never had any mascara smudge on me ever, this is the first. The day I wore it I thought maybe I had used too much eyeliner (liquid pen), but the one I use has never smudged on me. Then I read reviews on this from MUA, (albeit a bit late) and saw the low ratings, comments on smudging and thought, crap it's this mascara! I will say the one thing in it's favour is the brush, but you can get cheaper mascara's with a similar brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* signsoflife on 3/3/2011 11:35:00 AM more reviews by signsoflife

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this as part of the Sephora sampler set. The mascara had dried up or something, so only the tip had any mascara on it--the rest of the wand was completely dry and no amount of swirling the brush around the container got the brush coated. Which is a shame, because I was expecting a lot more from Laura Mercier.

So I tried to tough it out and applied with just the corner, but I really think the formula had dried up because it was super clumpy (unless that's how the formula is supposed to be). This was a waste of time and money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NancyM on 2/9/2011 7:31:00 AM more reviews by NancyM

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I knew as soon as I saw the brush that this wasn't going thicken or build my lashes. It gives much more of a feathery look which is sometimes ok.

The brush Is your standard issue one with no curvature, no variation in the lengths of the bristles. I found it a bit difficult to get the wee little lashes oh the inner corner of my eyes because the brush is so thick.

On the upside, no flakies and it was a free sample. I wouldn't spend my own money on this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 shannand88 on 1/16/2011 8:56:00 PM more reviews by shannand88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I would say I'm surprised that this has so many bad reviews. PERSONALLY, I like it. However, I am lucky enough to have naturally long eyelashes and I think this mascara is meant for people with just that.
If your lashes are a bit on the short side, this isn't for you. For people WITH long lashes, it's black is a dramatic shade, the separation isn't bad, and it holds a curl.
Having said that, I wouldn't buy this again simply because I can get the same quality for a much cheaper price. LM is great, but come on now. You pay for the name.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BeTheChange on 1/11/2011 4:14:00 PM more reviews by BeTheChange

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

It's a decent mascara, but it does run. The brush is to bushy for my taste. It does get a litte clumpy and doesn't really thicken or lengthen. Pretty average, nothing special.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* EmeraldCharm on 10/21/2010 10:31:00 PM more reviews by EmeraldCharm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I don't like this mascara. To me a good mascara does not give spidery lashes and makes my eyes stand out. This isn't spidery at all actually but it is too natural-like I'm not even wearing mascara. Does nothing which is dissapointing for a mascara that is supposed to be volumizing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nikanika651 on 10/19/2010 6:09:00 PM more reviews by nikanika651

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I would not waste my time on this mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* olympialetantoli on 10/6/2010 4:24:00 PM more reviews by olympialetantoli

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this mascara. It is my most favourite applicator since I can be lazy about getting into the corners and coating each lash.

The packaging is nice as well, the wand isn't too chubby to control like Dior or Benefit Badgal lashes...applicator is sooo massive that I have to do pull at my eyelid so the brush doesn't hit my brow bone.

Laura Mercier's mascar is great. It goes on nicely and the brush never has more product than needed to coat your lashes. So you don't have to wipe off excess. I coat my lashes twice with this and am ready. It does thicken lashes, but it won't necessarily lengthen. So if you want length....this won't help. It gave my eyes dramatic thick thick thick lashes which were dark and intense. Somewhat sultry.

I never had much fall out or drying or flaking with this mascara. Maybe I never noticed, since my biggest concern is my eyeliner melting and eyeshadow creasing.

I had a Laura Mercier makeup artist apply this as well on me when I had a makeover I swear her technique with the applicator made my eyes ten times more intense and magnetic.

I will totally buy again once I get more cash since it is pricey...I normally wear cheapo L'oreal!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kawiki on 8/8/2010 2:36:00 PM more reviews by kawiki

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is awful alone but this works AMAZING on top of Shiseido's mascara base, it gives me gorgeous thick thick thick lashes. Awesome for going out at night or with dramatic eye makeup in general.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Mascara products