Bare Escentuals • Escentual eau de parfum • Fragrances

rated 3.9(27 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Reservechic on 1/10/2007 1:06:00 AM more reviews by Reservechic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love the smell of this stuff. It gives off this juicy, sweet, and sensual aroma to it that is like no other!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sjcita on 9/18/2006 11:10:00 AM more reviews by sjcita

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the solid version of this perfume and got it my local TJ Maxx for about $5.99 ! It strikes me as a tropical sort of sweet fragrance. It is very wearable and has a bit of coconut as well as a tahitian flower, cocoa butter scent. I like the convenience of the solid since it comes in a 'lipstick' type of container. In fact, I bought 2 of these so I could give one to my sister.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wabineequa on 7/27/2006 7:16:00 PM more reviews by wabineequa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I am just enchanted by this fragrance. To fill you in on my fragrance tastes: I used to wear CSP Vanille Abricot as well as the CSP Cocoa. I still do on occasion, but I'm 28 and they feel a bit too young now, although still nice and sweet (terrible staying power on me, though). A few years back I transitioned into Chanel Allure and then Coco Mademoiselle. These are the ultimate sexy, sophisticated fragrances (hard to go wrong with any Chanel product IMO), but my skin tends to amplify fragrances the nth degree--sis-in-law can douse herself in Allure and you barely detect a whiff; I can barely apply one tiny little squirt without it blooming. This is okay in the winter, overkill in the summer.

Which brings me to the Escentual Parfum. OMG!!! I love this. It supposedly has over 100 base notes and I think that is true; it's very hard to pinpoint exactly what you're smelling. On me, I detect vanilla, chocolate, something fruity (maybe banana or pineapple?), as well as powder and a blooming tropical flower (frangipani?). They blend so wonderfully and is not the least bit cloying. I can easily apply two spritzes and not worry about headaches or too much blooming. If I apply over the bath products I get more of the fruit scent; alone, more of the foody vanilla scent. I also have the parfum solid which I also adore. One of the best parts of this product is the great dry-down which is really indicative of a well-made fragrance. Chanel has great dry-down and so does the Bare Escentuals--the complexity comes out and you get a sense of the transitioning notes. If you don't care for the top notes, wait 10 minutes and see how you feel then! It's never the same twice...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 olivia on 9/14/2005 7:23:00 PM more reviews by olivia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Wow. I bought this out of curiosity - I just had to smell what was being described, but I had no thought that I would actually like it.
Test run - uggghh. Seriously ugghhh - I detected several notes I disliked, none that I liked, and one that reigns supreme as the most loathed of all time - that horrible ozone note in Escape. Well, okay I will just return it, right - curiosity sated ( and punished). But wait....wait....an hour later - something nice, very nice indeed...several more tries, using more, using less, and now, a week later, I am here to tell you, I thoroughly love this fragrance, I am delighted with it. I no longer smell Escape, thank God, but I do smell every other luscious thing on Gods green earth. I have Musc Ravageur, Ormonde, Daim Blond, Dinner, all the usual suspects, have smelled all the things most of us freaks of nature have, but this one, so unassuming, really does rock. It changes constantly, sometimes fruitier, sometimes creamier, without ever getting too sweet or too heavy. So this means - you cannot get bored with it. It is like buying fifteen bottles of fragrance. If I had to compare it to anything, I would say - it is similar to Perfect Veil, back when I could wear it. A soft creamy fruitiness with a musky clean smell. However. I do not think of this as a warm smell at all. It is a cool smell, like marshmallow topping on ice cream - I do not like vanilla scents anymore, but this one seems to smell like vanilla, good and cold vanilla,kind of like what you smell when you open the lid on the good stuff. It is really fun, smells just outright great and never bores or gets tiresome. If this perfume were a person, it would be quite attractive, pulled together, and an awesome conversationalist, intelligent and clever. A must try. I wishI could find some body products to layer it with.....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shy1 on 8/28/2005 2:50:00 AM more reviews by Shy1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is the most luxuriously complex fragrance I own. I don't wear it out of the house much because it's really strong and I don't want to be one of the girls that scares other people off, but I love it. It feels decadent... it's not that expensive and there aren't that many food notes (although I do sense chocolate), but something about it just screams "delicious."

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LisaF63 on 7/9/2005 4:25:00 PM more reviews by LisaF63

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Such a gorgeous scent! Better for fall and winter than for the warmer months!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dmac085 on 6/22/2005 9:44:00 PM more reviews by dmac085

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I did the QVC thing too, I'll try it and send it back if I hate it. It's kinda scary buying a fragrance without getting a whiff of it first, but I ended up keeping the perfume and the three bath products as well. I'm still surprised because I tend to stick almost exclusively to herbal, fresh, aquatic and citrus type scents. This one is sweet, some floral, some fruit and I think the "other" scent I'm smelling must be the tonka bean. It's a weird buttery chocolate that sorta reminds me of expensive toffee. I also tend to categorize this as a fall/winter scent because with so much going on it tends to seem a bit heavy. Did recieved lots of compliments, but not while it was "fresh"...about 6 hrs later when I thought it had worn off and I couldn't smell it anymore. I always have to have some on hand if the warm and sweet mood hits. It's currently $32 for a 2 oz. bottle and rarely goes on any sale and always sells out during the BE segments on QVC.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 scarlettwildrose2001 on 4/7/2005 11:35:00 AM more reviews by scarlettwildrose2001

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Just lovely. When I suffered from extreme migraines this was the ONLY fragrance I could wear. It is difficult to describe. It is different from anything out there. Very warm, comforting, yet sexy and alluring as well. Just something everyone should have.
I actually went through 3 bottles!!!! which has never happend before in my life. Now I can enjoy many more fragrances again (no migraines) but this will remain a well loved staple in my collection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bellafaccia on 3/18/2005 10:02:00 PM more reviews by bellafaccia

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

It's almost like there's too much going on with this fragrance...there's the floral, the chocolate, the fruit...all these notes are vying with each other to come out on top. I liked it on first whiff, but not so much after I had it on for a while. My guess is that because there are so many notes in this scent people will either really love it if it works with their body chemistry or really hate it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sultana44 on 1/13/2005 12:53:00 PM more reviews by sultana44

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

i got this perfume on a whim--i was out of my favorite perfume, hanae mori butterfly, and itching to try a new scent. having discovered this line relatively recently, i decided that since i loved everything else, and since the reviews made it seem like a scent i would like, that i would buy it without having smelled it first--i never do this. however, i was VERY pleasantly surprised when i LOVED this scent! it does seem to bloom on the skin, as the description says--and it lasts quite some time. it even lasts forever on your clothes! this scent can be a bit overpowering immediately after spraying, but it calms down immediately. i went through the bottle very quickly, perhaps because i loved the scent so much--i don't really know why it did not last me longer, since there is a generous amount given. the bottle doesn't look very "classy" or high end, but i think the price accurately reflects that--it's very cheap as far as perfumes go--about $30 on qvc.com. as a previous reviewer mentioned, if you order this through qvc, you can return it if you don't like it--this fact finally swayed me to try this perfume. i recieved this fruity, exotic, warm scent a few days later, and haven't looked back! i will be repurchasing immediately. if nothing else, it is a great inexpensive alternative to your daily perfume--definitely worth a shot!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Fragrances products