Sally Hansen • Insta-Dri Grape Going • Polishes

rated 3.3(15 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sensiblenails on 11/5/2013 10:14:00 PM more reviews by sensiblenails

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

It's a pretty thing. A purple base with bright blue shimmer that almost makes it a duochrome. The result is an icy blurple color that shifts to more blue or more purple depending on the light. The formula is of average quality, with opacity achieved at three coats to cover up streaking.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Laurennnuhhh on 3/10/2013 5:03:00 PM more reviews by Laurennnuhhh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Despite all the so-so reviews on this nail color, I personally adore it! I picked this color up awhile ago just browsing around in Walgreens and this color really stood out to me. I had never seen/had anything like it so I decided to buy it. It is a super pretty purple with a little shimmer and with a blue duo chrome, so pretty. I personally hate the brush that comes with these nail polishes and it is a bit difficult to apply, but I don't mind using it if the color is great and it is. It does take a couple coats to get a really opaque color and once you do it's SOOOO gorgeous! I then apply a sparkly coat over it and it's soooooooo sooo sooo pretty, I can't explain how pretty it looks! I got compliments all day when I was wearing this on my toe nails! I will continue to repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sweetest_Taboo on 6/29/2012 9:51:00 PM more reviews by Sweetest_Taboo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This color looks gorgeous in the bottle, but this polish sucks...hard. It's streaky and I don't like the wide brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sarah304 on 6/18/2012 11:20:00 PM more reviews by sarah304

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This product is a little difficult to work with, it goes on uneven and a bit sticky/tacky. Once you get enough polish on your brush this problem goes away. However, Sally Hansen doesn't lie when it says instra-dri. It takes a minute or two to dry and even after that i would wait another few minutes just to be safe, but it does do what it says. It does take about two coats to really look good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cloroxcowgirl on 2/12/2011 3:56:00 AM more reviews by cloroxcowgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

While I agree that the formula for this polish is less than stellar, it really wasn't bad at all for me. It dried quickly and was pretty easy to work with, although it was a bit sheer three coats would make it totally opaque (I went with two coats and even that was fine). That said, Grape Going is gorgeous. I don't have Scrangie but on my nails it does look very close to the swatches online. Shimmering grape purple with strong periwinkle duochrome, quite breathtaking under direct light. This is the first Insta-Dri I've liked well enough to use repeatedly - the formula is actually way better than the others I've tried so far. I even like the brush - it takes some getting used to but it enables you to cover the nail in very few strokes. The lasting power is great with a base and top coat as well. I haven't given up on the Insta-Dris and plan to try some more colors because I like this one so much. If you love duochromes this color definitely deserves a look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 moongrrl81 on 10/5/2010 1:00:00 AM more reviews by moongrrl81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

No! Although the color is gorgeous, it took forever to dry...possibly longer than products not labeled insta-dry. After 2 coats and 30 minutes it's still not dry. I did not want to cheat and apply a fast dry top coat, I wanted to see how long it would take on its own. The formula is very thick and I hate the brush. It is really wide and doesn't seem to have been cut properly. For the price I was at least expecting a normal polish, but this is probably the worst formula I have ever tried. I only gave it 2 lipstick rating because of the nice color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JuliaLee67 on 9/27/2010 5:56:00 PM more reviews by JuliaLee67

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Nice medium purple shade with an almost electric blue shimmer that looks slightly different under various lighting conditions. I wish it was just a bit less sheer, because it takes three coats for in-the-bottle opacity, and application is tricky if you want to avoid "pulling" the first coat off your nails in patches (and one coat just doesn't look good). It's cheap and easy to find, and it does dry quickly, but it needs a top coat for extra shine as it dries duller than I prefer. I would still repurchase though, as I really love this color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cancerofthepuppy on 7/6/2010 5:26:00 AM more reviews by cancerofthepuppy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is definitely in my top 5 nail polish colors of all time. I really wanted Scrangie but didn't want to pay $18 bucks for a polish so I got this. No it's not an exact dupe but it was close enough for me. Anywho the color is gorgeous. It's a sheer purple with blue shimmer but not too sheer because I *hate* sheer nail polish. I can totally get away with just two coats of this but if you are a perfectionist you may want to do 3. I love it so much I sometimes think of buying Scrangie to see if it's even better. But $18 for one polish is sooo RIDONK =(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LolaBlue on 5/6/2010 10:49:00 PM more reviews by LolaBlue

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

LOVE THIS! I bought it because it was supposed to be a dupe of 'scrangie' (plus it's just very pretty). I tried it first on it's own and judging from pic's it was a bit lighter than 'scrangie', and it took 4 coats to get it opaque. After a little testing though I found that if I applied 2 coats of this over 1 thin coat of revlon's 'no shrinking violet' it worked out perfectly, and gave me the exact color I wanted. I've gotten a lot of compliments on this color, and I certainly can't stop looking at it; it changes so much depending on what kind of light you're in. I didn't have any problems w/ the formula other than it being a bit thin, and also no problems getting it to dry (topped w/ TC and used SH insta-dri drops it was rock solid in 20min). I would definitely repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LilSphinx on 4/23/2010 10:33:00 PM more reviews by LilSphinx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm not sure why this product isn't getting rave reviews, but it is GORGEOUS! I picked it up on clearance at Walmart for $4...I was a bit hesitant to spend that much on a drug store polish, but I've got several Sally Hansen polishes and they are really good quality, and I love purples with blue tones to them, so I grabbed it up.

It is a little on the sheer side, so two to three coats is needed for a good opaque finish. I generally get great results applying a sheer polish over top of either a black or a darker polish from the same color family, but I haven't tried that with this one, yet.

I honestly have not been able to STOP looking at my nails every day. The color shows up interestingly different in all sorts of different lighting. Under the over head florescent lighting in my office at work it's almost a glowy blue-purple with a metallic flash, here in my dining room under a yellow-toned over head light it has a silvery blue-violet look to it, and at times I can see a fuschia sheen to it. There are blue and purple micro shimmers in this polish.
I've applied a glossy clear top coat to it and WOW!!

I can't say that the formula is any messier than other polishes, a little on the thicker side, but I like that. And while it didn't dry as fast as I'd expected it to, it didn't take forever either. But then I tend to apply each coat on the thick side, anyway. So that could mostly be my own fault there.

I've been wearing this polish for 5 whole days now and yesterday started to notice some chipping. I think that that's a pretty good amount of wear and tear-bearing before giving under the strain.

I also like to include photos with my reviews, so I will be getting some good shots of this polish on my nails under different lighting and posting them in this review soon.

I would certainly buy this polish again and might even grab a back-up of it. I like it so much that I'm going to be redoing my manni this weekend for next week's wear. Gorgeous color and I can't think of another polish I've seen yet that comes close to this color and the amount of color changing it does.

I highly recommend grabbing up this polish if you like blue-toned purples.

Click on Continued for pics.:


These were swatched 2-3 coats on an acrylic nail wheel:
No Flash:





Flash:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sally Hansen products

More Polishes products