MAC • Showstopper • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(19 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 3/3/2013 7:14:00 AM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Showstopper and I don't get along very well, but it did teach me a very important color lesson. My NW20 skin, almost black hair, brown eyes (with dark under eye circles) can NOT wear red based browns. I need to stick with honey based browns. This color always made me look like I had been on an all night bender. So yes, thanks to Showstopper I now know what to buy and what not to buy. I even passed on a recent quad because this was one of the colors even though I would have loved the other three. It is a very deep red based brown (matte). It isn't a bad color for those that can use it, but on me, it is a very, very bad color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AnnaBanana84 on 3/2/2013 10:37:00 AM more reviews by AnnaBanana84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This color came in a quad I bought a few years ago. I use every day for my brows! Also use to smudge in corners of outer eye for smoky dramatic look. Otherwise not easy to blend at all but absolutely the best brow color ever! Will continue to use as I have for years!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Pnhays on 7/3/2012 8:53:00 PM more reviews by Pnhays

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Purchased at a CCO for $10, originally $14.50

Purchased to use as a crease color, bad idea

Doesn't blend well in the crease at all

HOWEVER, I use it almost everday to line my lower lash line with angled brush

Not too dark, not too light

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MeganHan on 5/20/2011 1:31:00 AM more reviews by MeganHan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't purchase this eyeshadow to use for my brows but that is what it has become! I apply it with the 212 brush and it matches my natural eyebrow color almost perfectly. Sometimes I also out it in the outer corner or crease of my eye when I do a smokey brown look and it looks good. WIll definately continue to purchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MzSiStarr on 2/24/2011 9:46:00 PM more reviews by MzSiStarr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Best Brow filler ever if you are a WOC/Olive with strong yellow undertones, dark brunette. Perfect brows every time with this & a small angled brush. Brow gel 2 set & I'm good to go! I've hit pan & will def repurchase when it's gone because I use Showstopper almost every day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lygophilia on 1/21/2011 2:05:00 AM more reviews by lygophilia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I kind of forgot I had this until I cleaned out my eyeshadow collection. Started wearing it again and remember how much I really like this shadow colour, even slightly more love for it then my go to dark brown Brun. Looks great in the crease to darken up any look instantly. Even better as an all over lid colour for a quick smokey eye. Pigmentation is rich, but I find I have to work a little harder to blend it out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 alexlovesmakeupfun on 1/4/2011 5:20:00 PM more reviews by alexlovesmakeupfun

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

too dark,is hard to blend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nola80 on 8/30/2010 11:42:00 AM more reviews by nola80

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got Showstopper specifically for my brow color. I have black hair with medium skin with yellow undertones. I usually use Mysterious eyeshadow but the there's too much red in it and I notice it alot when I'm taking pictures. I have been on a search for a black brown without the undertones. Although I can't use Showstopper alone it's the closest dark brown I combine with Carbon for my perfect brow color. I do also use Quite Natural paintpot as a base because I have very oily skin and will not last as long without it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* megathon on 8/29/2010 10:39:00 PM more reviews by megathon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

When I spotted this color, I thought that it would be the perfect crease/outer V color for me when I do more dramatic neutral looks. In the pan, it looks like a very dark brown with purple undertones. Sadly, once I apply it, it looks like a regular dark brown, regardless of which base and other colors I use with it. It doesn't blend out as well as I'd like it to, either.

EDIT: I definitely underestimated this eyeshadow at first. I still don't like it as a crease color, but it is the BEST lower lid color for a smokey eye, and I use it every single day as eyeliner on my top lashline (and sometimes on my lower lashline). It looks much truer to the beautiful color in the pan on my lid that it does in my crease. This is a shadow that I will have no problem using up, and when I do run out, I will pick it up again if it happens to show up in another collection. I love it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pianadark on 7/23/2010 1:05:00 AM more reviews by pianadark

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is THE perfect brow shade for those with dark brown hair. I used Brun prior to Showstopper, and although it was good for its ashy brown tones, it had just a tad too much gray and looked slightly off against my yellow undertones. Showstopper, on the other hand, is the perfect dark, ashy brown. Not too warm, not too dark or light, no strange tones. The best brow shade I have found.

EDIT 1/20/14: My hair is now a medium brown so I have switched to MAC Charcoal Brown, which also has a more satiny texture for a matte.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products