Clairol • Professional Premium Creme Demi Permanent • Hair Color

rated 2.8(13 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.46%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 beccadawn on 7/31/2014 11:33:00 AM more reviews by beccadawn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

My natural hair color is dark brown.
I recently made the mistake of using L'Oreal Preference Sun-Kissed Caramels, Hi-Lift Gold Brown Ul63, which claimed to add no brassiness, but turned my hair ORANGE with a touch of strawberry blonde on the roots. It was horrible.
So I've used Clairol's light brown ash demI before to take out red and it worked. This time I went lighter and tried the medium ash blonde. Fortunately, it got rid of my orange hair, but instead of a medium ash blonde, it's almost dark brown, which is fine, but I was expecting a lighter color. It also made my hair soft and shiny. Next time I'll use a higher lift.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TBonita on 5/12/2014 3:15:00 PM more reviews by TBonita

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Used 7A dark ash blonde with the cool 'mix tone' to nix my red from henna and grow out my natural dark brown. Since my hair is so over processed under the henna I got the dark blonde and sure enough it turned dark brown. Always go lighter! Use 10 vol. I strongly suggest cool mix tones to add (generous amount) if not ashy enough! Covered HENNA red!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lizzybnyc on 1/21/2014 3:04:00 PM more reviews by lizzybnyc

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

I've used 8A and 10A on my hair, and like other reviewers have mentioned, it's not very ash-y at all (especially the 8A). I highlight my hair in foils at home (with the kaleidocolors), and use this on the in-between parts to tone and cover gray at my temples. I think it does a decent job at covering the grays, but on me they're also not as noticeable because of the blonde. Personally I like this stuff, it's gentle on my hair and it conditions really well. I haven't had the same experience that someone mentioned about it being greasy, or drying. I do think it's important to use the demi developer they recommend with this. Maybe that's the part of the problem other reviewers have had with drying.
Also you can leave it on your hair more than 30 minutes, which I like. I put it on as I do my highlights and don't have to worry about it until I take them out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TheSilverSnowflake on 5/28/2013 1:12:00 AM more reviews by TheSilverSnowflake

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Violet    

I used to use Clairol Compliments Demi, but that's been discontinued. For a while, I kept buying it online, but recently I decided against it, thinking I don't want to use really old hair dye. I used 4R (Light Red Brown) in the Winter, and 6R (Dark Red Blonde) in the Summer in Compliments. According to the PDF from Clairol, those are the same in the Creme Demi. So far, I've only used the 6R. I really like it, but I will say that I think it's more copper than the Compliments' 6R (Maybe closer to 6RC?), but I use it in a 50/50 ratio with the red additive, so it's not a major difference to me. (I'll come back and update when I've tried the 4R.) My roots are a light brown/grey/blue color (Yes, at 25), and this covers really, really well, about as well as the Compliments did. This is a bit creamier than the Compliments was, but once it's on your hair for a while, it's the same level of drippiness. (I use a plastic shower cap.) It's twice the developing time, too, which is kind of annoying to me. I recommend buying the big bottle of developer online because every store in my area that sells these only has the 2oz, single use size, and that's not cost effective. So, in short, if you're looking for that awesome red, like I am, this will give it to you. If you're switching over from Compliments, use the color comparison chart with caution.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fihe on 3/6/2013 1:30:00 AM more reviews by fihe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

ugh, I should have read these reviews beforehand. I bought this in 4N Light Natural Brown. it comes out as a dark brown, but I buy "light brown" demi-permanent hair colors knowing that they run quite dark. I've only colored my hair once before, using the Ion demi-perm hair color in 5N Light Natural Brown (it runs dark even for a demi), but there was a promo at Sally's so I thought I'd try the Clairol.

I last colored my hair at the end of December, and while my hair still looked pretty dark, after a while some brassiness started to peek through, plus my roots were growing in. I used the Clairol just yesterday and my roots look a little darker after color, as they should, but not the dark brown that the Ion color made them. I applied very well at the roots so I know it can't be from insufficient application. also, the roots look brassy! it's especially noticeable towards the front of my head, where my hair tends to look more blonde. the roots don't look much different from before I colored my hair, when the roots were growing out!

I have light/medium brown hair naturally, with a lot of blonde and reddish tones to it, and I wanted to neutralize them without making my hair look too ashy, which is why I got the 4N instead of the 4A. but with the Clairol color making my roots so brassy, I'd hate to see how it would have turned out if I had used it on previously uncolored hair! Oh dear!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jennifermac11 on 12/29/2012 9:37:00 PM more reviews by jennifermac11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I tried using this product in 6AA- Ultra Cool Dark Blonde to touch up my roots which are a medium brown. This product was recommended to me to counteract the orange brassiness I usually experience. However, this product is worse than others I've tried. It might be this particular colour, but somehow my roots came out even more orange! I only needed to lift one level so no bleach should be necessary. Disappointing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 bbleu7856 on 10/25/2012 9:09:00 PM more reviews by bbleu7856

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased this hair dye at Sally's the other day. This is the worst hair color I have ever used in my life! I got the 8A Ash Blonde. This is a horrible color. It's not ashy at all. It rinsed out RED and brought out more ugly red and gold tones out of my hair and overall made it a brassy, yet drab & hideous color. I was embarrassed to go to work the next day and couldn't wait to get home and cover up this mess with another dye. The box dyes I have bought at the drugstore beat this garbage any day. I will never buy another Clairol hair color product again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lbohovsky on 11/6/2011 7:59:00 PM more reviews by lbohovsky

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

My hair is normally medium/light brown, but can get brassy. 10% gray. I usually use Wella or Ion Demi permanent in medium ash blonde. I decided to try this since b/c I haven't been overly thrilled with the results.I thought the light cool brown would not turn as brassy over time as the others. Well, I was wrong this product actually lightened my hair color to an awful orangey color. Terrible! I noticed my hair was lighter before I even completely rinsed it out. I went right back to the store to get the stuff i usually use.

I DO NOT RECOMMEND this for those that pull brassy tones. just awful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mochakitty on 8/14/2011 8:17:00 PM more reviews by mochakitty

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I used this in 3G, medium golden brown and my hair came out exactly like the swatch, except for the very ends of my hair which are damaged from multiple colorings, henna, clairol natural instincts in a dark eggplant and then stripped with Ion color corrector prior to coloring with this demi. Yes my hair has been through a lot and I can't believe it came out like the swatch. I'm impressed.

By the way I used it with the developer marketed by Clairol for this product.

*******update****9/6/11
I just used this to retouch my virgin (greying) roots. I left it on 30 minutes. Mixed with the same 10 vol developer marketed for the demi product by Clairol. I would say they're only about 50-60% covered. Not sure if this will do it in the long run. I threw out the directions so now I don't know if I can leave it on longer than 30 minutes...am going to look into that and possibly try that next. Dang.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ArizonaAngel on 8/11/2011 6:04:00 PM more reviews by ArizonaAngel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Awful. I wanted to freshen up my hair and have been so sad since they DC'd the toners I used to use by Clairol. The SA recommended this one in 10A along with a Level 10 Developer. This stuff only seemed to coat my hair with a greasy film. I saw NO difference in the color and I applied it according to the directions. My hair remained greasy and stiff for days - and the chemical smell remained as well. I had to wear a baseball hat - which is not a great look for me.


Lately it seems that Clairol has dropped the ball - I used to love the toners and the DC'd them. I adored the old hair color formula and they switched it to the Soy one which I cannot stand at all. So this is another product from them I won't buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clairol products

More Hair Color products