E.L.F. • Mineral Blemish Kit • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.2(30 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 FerociousJay on 4/3/2014 12:08:00 PM more reviews by FerociousJay

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this product. It is one of those products that when I find, I buy all of them! I cant seem to find it at stores anymore though :(
I DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT AS INTENDED though. I have zero acne and pimples but I suffer terribly from under eye circles and concealers have been that one item I have 20 different versions of but can't seem to find the right one (Until recently when I sampled IT cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye *winner*).

I use this product as a loose powder to set my concealer basically and help it from caking in my eye wrinkles. It's the only product I have found that goes on almost clear and doesn't change tone when layered a bit. I have tried the Bare Minerals Veil, Too Faced Invisible Powder, which all gave me a pinkish tone or looked horribly caked when I applied over one layer (yes my wrinkles are that bad that I need more than one layer of powder.) Also, countless other set and loose powders and nothing until I tried this baby on a whim because it was on clearance about 3 years ago.

It's the only thing I use now for setting my concealer. But I can't seem to find it anywhere anymore aside from the website (which when I need it, doesn't have it). I got lucky and found 2 at Big Lots a year ago and they do last me around a year. But I hope they never discontinue this product. EVER.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* songy67 on 2/10/2014 6:22:00 PM more reviews by songy67

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've gone through an entire jar of this in the past and am currently working through another one. This is a dupe for the much pricier BareMinerals version which is also a sulfur-based powder with a bit of coverage. I'd say the ELF version only offers a tiny hint of coverage, but what it does well is soothe and neutralize any redness and inflamation of the skin since it's (1) a yellow powder and (2) contains sulfur.

I use this primarily at night, after I've washed my face and applied moisturizer. I wait a few minutes to let my moisturizer really sink in, then I take a clean fluffy eyeshadow brush and dab and buff this powder onto any particularly angry spots. I'm very generous with it and if I have a popped pimple/ broken skin I will cake this onto the spot to promote healing. Also, sometimes when I'm hormonal and my skin is red and irritated all over I will apply this with a kabuki brush all around my nose, mouth, and jawline where I need the most help.

It's not a miracle worker, but it definitely speeds up the healing process while making me feel a bit less pizza-faced sans makeup. Plus, it's cheap! I suggest stocking up during one of ELF's crazy 50% off sales.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 meeshmallow on 4/25/2013 11:30:00 PM more reviews by meeshmallow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I figured I should just write a damn review for this product since I keep coming back to this page.

So I bought this (among many other items) from the e.l.f. website, and I'd say it's an okay product overall. I find it doesn't really help clear up my pimples--suddenly I've been getting quite a few of them lately. I'm applying it in the morning, throughout the day, and at night but the pimple just seems to stay the same. It does conceal it a little bit but it's pretty much sheer. I wouldn't say this powder smells like a septic tank, for some reason I don't sense a gassy smell, and it doesn't smell that bad. If you're used to natural scented products you'd probably be able to handle this.

I'm going to keep using it like this, as well as apply it to my entire face, and see if I get better results.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tori497 on 3/27/2013 11:34:00 AM more reviews by tori497

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This product is by far THE BEST I've used at keeping large, painful spots at bay and drying them up QUICKLY! I had a particularly stressful and hormonal last week and the evidence showed up on my face.

I started using this as soon as I got it (last Friday) and I'm 90% cleared up today (Wednesday). I think I have a slightly different kit than the image shows; my brush has a white handle. The quality of the brush is fine (frankly, it could have come with a Q-Tip and I'd be okay with it)- it's the powder that does all the work. It takes down some of the redness immediately and continues to calm as you you wear it.

The packaging is fine. Perhaps a locking sifter top might work better if you plan in throwing this in your purse. I did not notice any unpleasant odor, despite the active ingredient being sulfur. I have tried many things over the years (20+) that do not work as well as this. My old go to was Clearsil but unless you are careful, pillow cases and clothing become bleached by it. This mineral powder works just as well with none of that, and in my opinion better because it provides slight coverage. This is another example of a quality product from E.L.F. that doesn't break the bank. I will continue to purchase and keep on hand for when problems pop up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dddoxie on 2/26/2013 12:37:00 PM more reviews by dddoxie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I can't say enough good about this product. I've suffered from acne for going on 19 years now and I can really say that this stuff significantly helps when I have a break out. I dab a bit on the new breakout every night after I wash my face (and even in the morning before I apply my m/u) and the redness goes away. The spot dries up within a couple days.

I've recently started to add this to my MMU as well and wow, what a difference it makes. Not only does my m/u last longer and not get as oily, but I feel like it adds a decent amount of coverage.

I've had this product for about 3 years now and it's still almost half full. I will definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SHeust on 2/8/2013 10:08:00 AM more reviews by SHeust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I think I got this on an ELF sale for something insane like $2 and I quite like it. I've always found powder to be the most effective at concealing blemishes (I'm possibly biased - I only wear powder foundation on my face, no liquids, etc.) but I usually demure from wearing just a regular powder on them because I'm afraid it will clog the pores/make the situation worse.
This is a wonderful blemish healing/concealing solution. The powder itself is super fine and a little goes a very long way. I'm rather fair and it blends in perfectly - not so light as to highlight the mark but not in any way pink or yellow or any other noticeable shade either.
I can't attest as to where the powder stops blemishes, but it's blemish fighting ingredients do seem to sort of stop them from getting any worse once you start using it on them and perhaps help to gradually make them go away. If you need a real pimple buster, this isn't it - you've got to go for something stronger - but this is a very nice way to keep fighting against them during the day while covering them up. The ingredients are not irritating in the least, so you could also use this over larger sections of your face that you are prone to breakout on.
The packaging is quality, with a little powder brush included that is the perfect density for the job and a mineral style pot that taps out a little powder at a time so none goes to waste.
A gentle blemish fighter that effectively conceals as it works in a sleek, efficient package for a couple bucks? What more can we ask for? I definitely recommend this little miracle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ketacole on 4/18/2012 5:47:00 AM more reviews by ketacole

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Simply put: effective, healing, and amazing. Sulfur is a wonderful treatment for acne and I was delighted to find this super cheap miracle. Lightly dabbing this mineral powder on a blemish (even a cyst) will reduce it within hours, along with concealing it. I plan on buying some every time I go to Target.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hpunkinway on 4/10/2012 3:56:00 AM more reviews by hpunkinway

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is a very elegant solution to drying up the occasional pimple. I use this at night only--I never use powder in the daytime. The sulfur content is adequate to do the trick, maybe not overnight, but close. I would say that this is a very nice product.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Filligreefix on 3/27/2012 9:58:00 PM more reviews by Filligreefix

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I was absolutely thrilled to find it at Target so I had to try it out. I've been battling acne on one side of my face for so long so I'm willing to try anything at this point. I really don't mind the smell so I put some on before I put on makeup and before I go to bed. I'm pleased to say that I awoke to clearer skin with less redness, smaller pimples compared to the previous night and a more even complexion. I was so excited that I went out and bought two more for storage :P My only quip with this is the packaging. It is a little difficult to get it out so I just give it a shake or two. Overall this is a gift from the universe!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shoeboxoftrees on 12/28/2011 1:14:00 PM more reviews by shoeboxoftrees

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I use this product as a setting powder over my makeup, not as a spot treatment as is suggested. I'm on my second jar of this and it seems to be keeping the pimples at bay. This is especially useful when I'm sleeping over at SO's and have a spot that I keep concealed. In the morning, the spot is never worse. It is often smaller and less swollen.
The only reason this doesn't get 5 stars is the smell. This stuff makes your face smell like a septic tank. Not cute.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Treatments (Face) products