Max Factor Creme Puff

3.7

38 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/29/2015 4:29:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Good value for a decent powder with a matte and silky finish. It's heavily perfumed, but I don't mind that. It keeps the shine off my face and gives a medium coverage. It's a great setting powder for your foundation. I need a touch-up once a day, which I think is normal for a combination/oily skin. I only wish they would make a normal compact with mirror for this. The current packaging is the worst! I bought a vintage powder compact for this, which by the way works great! I have my very own "fifties powder compact" for this. Very lady-like!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I only started using this product recently, after many years of selling it at the pharmacy where I work. I have to say I'm not big on powders but after learning it was the powder used by Marilyn Monroe I thought i'd give it a try. I personally don't mind the smell too much. I love Chanel n 5 and this reminds me of it. It's a vintage product with a vintage scent.

I have to say overall I am very impressed. I went for the shade Golden, which is a warm toned light medium beige, great for my winter skin. I apply it lightly with a fluffy brush and over my foundation. I do my T zone and then my cheeks. It leaves my skin so silky and flawless! Not heavy at all. Got so many compliments the first day I wore it at work saying I have flawless skin. I am now a fan. Also didn't have to retouch it during the day but my skin is normal with some dry patches so no problem with oil. I have not tried this as a foundation on its own but will experiment with it. I would love if they changed the packaging a bit to include a mirror.
It looks great over a very light layer of their pan stick. I apply that with a wet beauty blender and after a few minutes i set it with this. A spray of Urban Decay seeting spray and my skin looks amazing! Better now that I am 43 that when I was 20. Good make up is the key. I didn't have a clue back then 😁


on 2/1/2015 11:14:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

i bought this because my friend's recommeded. i used this juat for touch up make up and i love it. my oily face change become normal again. and until afternoon my friend said, my make up stay like this morning.


on 1/22/2015 11:42:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Absolutely awful.

Bought this a few months ago, but only opened it recently. As someone with very clear skin, this is one of the few products that makes me break out - after only 3 uses!
Smell is unbearable, far too overwhelming for a finishing powder.
Moreover, despite buying the lightest shade, it has an awful orange tint.

Will not use again, let alone repurchase!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

My great nan used to wear this and when she passed the smell always reminded me of her. I started wearing it myself at 14, I've been wearing it now for 8 years and I've bought all manner of foundations from £4 - £40 in price but nothing comes close to this for me. It smells gorgeous, feels like silk and makes your skin glow in a healthy way. I wear it on its own for a light coverage and with a bit of Maxfactor's pan stik for heavier night time looks. Because it's what Marilyn wore, this is also incredibly good for vintage looks as it just turns your face into a blank canvas. You don't need a brush or any additional applicators, the little round sponge pad inside is the perfect way to apply. If you have dry skin you may want to moisturise first though I'd recommend this already as it increases its already fabulous staying power. It's also great to sweep on if you've gone a bit too far with blusher or contouring as it neutralises mishaps like that when applied on top and as it doesn't cake there's no pitfall to using it in this way and it also makes it highly build able. In terms of how it actually does look, it manages to hide all shine and give an appearance that is somehow dewy and also incredibly matte. It's just perfect, try it for yourself and even if you don't like it as much as I do, for the price you can't go wrong.


on 1/18/2015 11:57:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have bought a few of these over the years. I used it to set my foundation, and I used it when I was into a very matte look. It does mattify the skin for long hours but can be drying, if used too much can look cakey and fake.
I usually bought translucent, but it is not truly translucent, it does have a colour and for somebody with a pale skin it is a bit of a problem.
The smell doesn't bother me at all, I like it.
The packaging is very basic but for the price it is ok.
I don't use it anymore, tbh I sometimes don't even use any powder to set my BB creams, my skin or my preferences ;) must have changed but I liked it in the past. It lasted a long time and for somebody on a budget it was very important.
If you choose to buy it - use a brush to apply, light hand recommended. :)


on 1/18/2015 11:39:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Bought this product as I had run out of my clinique almost powder and I was really impressed. Ok it doesn't have any SPF but this isn't a problem for me as I wear SPF 30 as a face cream instead of moisturisers hence no need for it in my face powder. I found it went on really easily. It did look a bit powdery when I first applied it however it settled in seconds to an almost flawless coverage. This powder covered and stayed in place far better than my clinique almost powder that usually costs me £24.50! The only slightly negative is the smell it smells awful but then so does my clinique powder I think it's the talc in it?? The smell soon disappears and I didn't notice it after I had applied it. Will defiantly keep using this product as it looked very natural, stayed on my face and didn't bring me out in break outs that a lot of things do.


on 1/8/2015 1:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this the other day after I found it for a cheap price. Honestly it is ok, but not the best. The major turn off for me is the scent. It reminds me of my granny's room before she passed away, I am not a fan of the old lady talcum powder smell it gives off. In terms of application, it comes out quite powdery both on your face and on the brush. Once applied it is relatively translucent, however too much of the product will make you look powdery and will also dry out your face. It is best compared to the Stay Matte powder by Rimmel, which I did not enjoy all that much. In terms of the job, it does what the woman at the Max Factor counter told me it is supposed to - give a translucent finish to your face. Overall it's alright, however next time I would probably spend a bit more money on a product of better quality than this item.


on 11/23/2014 11:59:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Urgh!!! Why, oh why did I buy this?! I was running out of my Mally poreless face defender and needed something quickly. I read the reviews on here and thought I'd give it a go. IT'S AWFUL!!!! Firstly, it stinks. It doesn't just smell, it STINKS of old people's homes. Secondly, it is so drying (and I have really quite oily skin) that it accentuates every tiny line and wrinkle on your face!!!! Also, the translucent isn't translucent, it's an orangey colour. Throwing it away won't work, I need to burn it and cleanse my make-up drawer of it's very existence!!!


on 9/14/2014 5:19:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this product.

Its great value and gives an illuminating glow, which is comparable in many ways to mineralize by Mac but is quarter of the price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top