L'Oreal • Telescopic Explosion in Blackest Black • Mascara

rated 2.9(63 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.41%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 kc3angel on 12/21/2013 4:19:00 PM more reviews by kc3angel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This was the first time I tossed away a mascara after only two weeks. I really wanted to like it but it wasn't very useful. First up, I thought the brush would have been fantastic for getting into the corners. It was. It just didn't make a difference in how my lashes looked in terms of length etc. It did make a difference in colour. This mascara looked gray on my lashes. After a week of use I stopped using it and less than two weeks I threw it out. In this case neither the brush or the formula worked for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* makeupjunkie11786 on 8/30/2013 6:19:00 PM more reviews by makeupjunkie11786

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

L'oreal, WHAT HAPPENED? dont you just hate when an actual good mascara that you like gets discontinued? wellp...i can tell you a bunch of reasons why this one got discontinued. Othet than the short and simple one would be that it just sucks. its not even worth the 2 dollars i paid for at big lots. if your looking for a great volume and lengthening mascara aka all it says it will do. this one ain't it hunny! its a waste of plastic and product. plus not to mention most women like to just put on mascara and just go. this thing will take forever to work with coz its got a tiny little ball as an applicator and therefore all of the product just globs on it. you have to take all the globs off and have the patience of a saint to work with it and then maybe you might get one of the results that it promises. bottom line. bad mascara in general. the only reason why giving it a one is justified is because it only works for the bottom lashes and tiny inner corners of your lashes after u clean like half of the tube that came out when you take it out. you def have to accompany it with another mascara though. but who has time for that? aint nobody got time for that! L'oreal, C'MON!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lsyann on 5/19/2013 6:26:00 AM more reviews by lsyann

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Having asian eyes, I thought this wand would be good for getting to the corners and catching my shortest lashes.

The wand is so tiny, and not much product catches on it, so I need to coat several times, which dries the product out and looks clumpy. The wand is also really flimsy. The best way to apply the product was clumping iton from the tip, then combing tit out with another mascara brush.

The formula is probably good, but would benefit from a better wand.

PROs
- L'oreal formua possibly good

CONs
Brush is useless

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dawndie23 on 2/19/2013 1:21:00 PM more reviews by dawndie23

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this mascara. I use it underneath Lash Stiletto to get a perfect lash every time. This mascara is great at separating and capturing in inner and outer corners. It does not give volume as much as it gives lift and length. When I top it with the Lash Stiletto I find I get a very intense, gorgeous lash.

I had to take off a lippie since I have to apply another mascara on top of this to get it to work for me. It also takes a lot of time and work to apply this mascara so I don't wear it much on its own/everyday. Just when I want to rev up my the more natural look I get with Lash Stiletto.

Good buy if you are willing to work for it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CG1981 on 1/5/2013 2:19:00 AM more reviews by CG1981

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I always heard this wasnt a good mascara but couldnt resist the 75% clearance at CVS and thus i have no problems throwing it out or letting it settle into drawer anonymity. Its very dry and clumps and is awkward to use. Its hard to build up any type of volume or length. The shape is a total gimmic, not sure how the Givenchy one actually applies but im not a fan of the concept so wouldnt splurge and try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hebrides on 9/21/2012 2:42:00 AM more reviews by hebrides

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this from the sale bin at the drug store and was pleasantly surprised that it actually does separate and lengthen the lashes. It gives no volume at all, but it can be combined with a volumizing mascara for the ultimate lush, full and long look. It takes careful attention to use the tiny round brush and it can be difficult without a magnifying mirror. But if you have time to be super careful, you can build up really long separated lashes like a starlet. I don't it every day. Just when I feel like spending more time on my makeup. I don't know if I would buy it again once it dries up, but I put "yes" because I like it, as it's unique.

Update: Sept. 26 - I now use this every day to separate the lashes after using other mascaras in my layering technique to build volume plus length. It works very well and feels like just the right finishing touch. No other brush separates them quite as well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 curlygirl03 on 7/8/2012 11:47:00 AM more reviews by curlygirl03

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I honestly do not understand the bad reviews. I love this mascara. It can get a little clumpy but that's why you need to wipe off the wand and tip. It's great for getting those hard to reach inner and outer corners. You can also use it to apply mascara on your whole eye, but that would take a little while longer than putting on regular mascara. I personally love this mascara, and will re purchase it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AlexandraNicole on 7/3/2012 12:44:00 AM more reviews by AlexandraNicole

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really don't have anything bad to say about this mascara. The wand helps get the lashes on the outer corners of my eyes, and most other mascaras I've tried don't do that for me. It doesn't clump, and I feel that it makes my lashes longer, which is something else most others don't do for me. It doesn't help curling though, so if you're looking for curl this isn't for you. I put three lipsticks price wise bc it wasn't cheap, but under $10. But id buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ash10twenty on 6/25/2012 5:49:00 PM more reviews by ash10twenty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is cool for detailing and getting those lashes that you can't get to, but not so good to do lashes alone. It's a little hard to control, and takes long because it's a little ball. Also, the blackest black is not too dark. It's a little on the grey side.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 oliviacatherineheart on 5/14/2012 5:32:00 PM more reviews by oliviacatherineheart

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This mascara is terrible. If i could have given it a zero, I would. It clumps, flakes, runs, and overall just turns my lashes into a wet mess. It was given to me by a friend so I didn't waste money on it, but I recommend ANY mascara but this one. Seriously. I am so disappointed L'Oreal! will not be buying again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Mascara products