No Brand (DIY or homemade) • Turmeric Mask • Skincare - Face

rated 4.5(175 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Clxer on 12/7/2014 8:05:00 AM more reviews by Clxer

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

The base of all the masks is :

Oatmeal : two teaspoons (Any oatmeal is fine, be it instant or just the normal ones)
Yogurt : one and a half to two teaspoons

To customise your masks according to your skin's needs you can try:

1. Tumeric

Great for: anti-bacterial, anti-inflammatory and said to be anti-aging
(source)

Directions: add a pinch of tumeric powder to your base mask

Tumeric is a spice commonly used in indian cooking or in curries. You can find them at the spice section of your supermarket. It's really cheap too, I got it for SGD $ 0.80 for a 100g packet.

I use this ingredient in conjunction with the honey when I suffer a serious breakout. Although the base mask is great for soothing current breakouts, it doesn't help to prevent future breakouts, especially breakouts caused by bacteria. (I talked about the causes of breakouts in my post: Clear Skin: The Cause & Tips.)

However, I found that adding the tumeric inhibits the ability of the yogurt to brighten, whiten and reduce redness. So you can alternate between this mask and the base mask.


Note: adding too much tumeric may sting or burn your face. Also, I would advise against using non-fat yogurt for this mask as tumeric needs the fat content to dissolve. Otherwise, it might leave a slight yellow residue on the skin. Fret not, a cleanser followed by a toner can effectively remove that yellow tint.

To read more ways I customise my masks:
http://claudlyy.blogspot.com/2014/12/how-to-instantly-brighten-whiten-reduce.html

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SuzannCovic on 11/30/2014 4:00:00 PM more reviews by SuzannCovic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Oh my god just because it turns your face red and burns doesn't mean you're allergic to it. But haha think what you want. I've been using this mask for a year and it burns the hell out of my face and makes it red but the results have been drastic. Love this so much!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Bingadila on 11/30/2014 3:44:00 AM more reviews by Bingadila

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Instead of using the conventional yellow turmeric, I so happen found a white turmeric (curcuma mangga) that's even more potent and beneficial than the yellow ones. The biggest advantage is that of course it doesn't stain like crazy, but it is stronger so I couldn't put it on my face for more than 10minutes. The result is also better, cleared up my skin almost instantly though bigger acne may take some time to heal. I've read health articles and journals, and even consult with several shinse, the white turmeric is on their top list when treating people with cancer. I cannot tell for sure, but I've since taken it internally as well.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 dvvords on 11/25/2014 7:39:00 PM more reviews by dvvords

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I just mixed the 100% turmeric powder with some water and gently put it on my face all i got to say is I HATE THIS SO MUCH!!!! it burned my face and left it so red and itchy i will not recommend this to anyone!!!!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fiyacrackeryaz on 11/19/2014 2:25:00 AM more reviews by fiyacrackeryaz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I started using this stuff about a week ago. I was experiencing a really bad breakout from God knows what. I mixed up a mask that included turmeric and an equal part of the aztec healing clay that I have and I use apple cider vinegar to create the paste. Sometimes i may add a little but if coconut oil, which is my staple moisturizer, so that the mask won't be so drying. The turmeric has really helped clear the breakouts and preventing new ones so far. It helped heal the breakouts in double the time if I wasn't using any kind of mask. I also think the turmeric in combination with my black soap and coconut oil regimen has helped reduce the amount of scaring I get from breakouts. So far so good and it will remain a staple product for me from here on out. Sometimes i even mix my turmeric with my liquid black soap to get an extra affect. It doesn't stain me too bad and I've also noticed a great glow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jianing23 on 11/16/2014 2:34:00 AM more reviews by jianing23

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

my skin is so much nicer! it seems to glow and just looks a lot healthier.
so cheap and simple

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bltyler1 on 11/12/2014 3:24:00 PM more reviews by bltyler1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

First of all, I know many reviewers are complaining about the yellow staining of Turmeric. This tells me that some users have not done the proper research, & are using FOOD GRADE Turmeric.

For COSMETIC use, you need "Curcuma Aromatica". It will not "stain" your face. It will easily wash off. The staining typically occurs from using typical Food Grade Turmeric, which often has added dye for a more vibrant color!!

When using Curcuma Aromatica, you will have great results healing your skin of acne, improving skin tone & luminosity, I promise!!! You only need a very small amount for each mask, and at $12 for 1/2lb bag on amazon, it's extremely affordable, and an excellent value since it's so effective. You can find many great masks recipes online, but do your research :).

ALSO - turmeric is an awesome teeth whitener! Just make a paste with the turmeric & some water, brush teeth for about 2 minutes, swish mouth water until it runs clear, and you will be amazed!

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MUrascal on 11/5/2014 2:10:00 AM more reviews by MUrascal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a tricky ingredient and spice to use but it's benefits are well/anciently document in other cultures and now Western medicine has acknowledged it's healing anti-inflammatory benefits in recent scientific studies. So this is not a quack DIY solution, it has merits. The staining is an issue though. I have medium skin (neutral beige) and you would think that I would have enough pigment to disguise the yellow staining but no, it makes me look positively jaundiced (that is when I use it in a yoghurt mask all over) and removal is not easy. But the positive effect it has on acne is more than I have seen with other standard 'solutions' and remedies for acne. Now I just spot treat with the mixture (1/4 spoon of turmeric, 1 spoon of yoghurt) and this works for me. Nothing else I've tried has an effect on cysts (AHAs and sulphur help a little but they also dry out cysts which makes them more stubborn to fade IMO), this just calms them right down and takes the angry red out. I might track down the pill supplements next. BTW, that picture above of the girl in the mask is too cute lol!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ylangylang123 on 11/5/2014 12:33:00 AM more reviews by ylangylang123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I mix turmeric powder with raw honey (since I am not allergic) and use it as a mask for about an hour a day for breakouts until my skin is clear. For me it has worked better than any over the counter topical acne product. The honey counters any drying effects of using it plain or only with milk (washing with plain turmeric would be too irritating for my sensitive skin). Raw honey is antibacterial and a natural moisturizer so it enhances the benefits of turmeric plus it helps the turmeric from caking or flaking off your face. I use a witch hazel toner and cotton makeup remover pads to wipe away the yellow staining which is actually just residue.

It's easy to gently wipe off the stain that's left after washing with cleanser. Use a good non alcohol toner and cotton pads (although I am very pale so it takes two cotton cleansing pads soaked in toner). If you don't exfoliate regularly you may stain more and need more toner because the yellow pigment grabs onto the dead skin cells, but otherwise it should not be a problem. Wear clothes you don't care about because it's much harder to wash out of fabric if at all.

Compared to how much commercial/prescription skin care costs, it's a godsend recipe for your wallet without side effects unless you are allergic to raw honey or turmeric. If you don't have acne, this mask still brightens, smooths, minimizes pores and evens out your skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shannonemmms on 11/2/2014 2:46:00 PM more reviews by shannonemmms

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

For about a month now I have really struggled with my skin- I have had consistent breakouts around my mouth area, cheeks and forehead. After trying countless shop bought products to try bring my skin under control and instead facing more problems such as redness, dry skin ect, I decided to turn to the more natural side of skincare, hence the wonderful turmeric mask.

Here is the recipe I used-

1 teaspoon of turmeric powder (mine was shop bought however organic is best)
2 teaspoon of pure honey (again, shop bought)
1 teaspoon of sugar
splash of lemon juice

I applied the paste to my face and left for around 20 minutes, and when I washed it off my skin was as glowy as ever. I did have a little bit of staining, however this was easily dealt with by cleansing my face straight after with my cleanser. The turmeric and honey have natural anti bacterial properties which is great for those who experience break outs or clogged pores. After my first time using this mask my spots where significantly reduced and were dried out which really made me happy! The sugar is a natural exfoliant which works alongside the lemon juice which is a natural acid to help slough away dead skin cells (gently) and also reduce any pigmentation and scarring you may have on your skin.

Overall my experience with this mask so far has been pleasant. I will update in a few weeks time to comment on whether or not this has helped with any scarring and also any further improvement in my skin. Enjoy!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More No Brand (DIY or homemade) products

More Skincare - Face products