MAC • Light Affair • Polishes

rated 4.3(17 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KKAI on 12/12/2011 1:33:00 PM more reviews by KKAI

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

The colour is pretty but the quality is unacceptable: you need at least 3 coats for an even application! So, although I like this cool toned neutral ( ashy white with lilac undertones), I would not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mondenkind on 8/18/2010 7:47:00 PM more reviews by Mondenkind

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is such a strange color to review because it has so many undertones in it you really can't tell someone what it looks like unless they've seen it in person. I want to call it a grey but that's not right - neither is a cool cream color, an extremely lightened purple or pink. Whatever it is the color is so strange that at a certain point it becomes distracting to see out of the corner of my eyes my nails being such a light shade. The first time I saw it I thought my nails looked almost sickly but I still can't seem to ween myself off of this product. My one complaint is that I wish that MAC had added more pink or purple to this base (maybe even a hint of brown? I don't know) to darken it up a bit shade wise.

For anyone looking for a light color for their nails this is definitely the color I'd recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 veeveeaan on 7/8/2010 4:12:00 PM more reviews by veeveeaan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have a difficult time putting my finger on how this colour looks like. It's got a little light pink mixed to it in my opinion, but mainly a light lavender grey like most people described it to be. Although honestly, it's that "what colour IS that!?" idea that makes this nail polish so special even though it's quite neutral. Matches with anything I wear and it's colours like these that make me feel girly and pretty (since I tend to stay away from pinks and fuchsias).
Fantastic consistency - sometimes even one coat is enough, really depends on how much I have on my brush each time.

One thing that I love about MAC nail polish packaging is the thick grip you get. With OPI I don't really like their handles too much, I don't mind them, but I reckon MAC's is better. It gives you a nice rubber-ish grip and you're not worried you'll slide. Makes it easier to open the bottles too when you have dried polish stuck in between as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rochas2 on 5/23/2010 11:14:00 PM more reviews by rochas2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'd have to say this is my favorite nail color. It's a fabulous, simple but complex shade. I love how different this appears in different lights (which is surprising considering it has no duochrome/shimmer at all). It's so hard to describe, but I'll do my best. It's a great beige color that teeters between cool and warm. Sometimes it looks like a soft elegant beige and sometimes it looks like a fantastic pale lilac. I wish they'd make this one permanent, it would be my staple shade!

The one thing I don't like so much is when it chips, it loses is coherence, and I think suffers more than other colors in that respect.


A previous reviewer said it looked like a "winter sunrise", I think that's a perfect description

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valentina555 on 3/11/2010 11:58:00 PM more reviews by valentina555

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

after reading all the good reviews i feel bad not joining in, especially because color preference is a personal choice. but here goes- this color is not at all how i expected it and i am disappointed. from photos and swatches i imagined a very pale grey-purple. this is much darker than i imagined, certainly mid-toned. it is similar to the popular Metro Chic, Channelesque etc which i know a lot of people love but i don't.
i am fair and neutral toned and on me this color looked very neither-here-nor-there. i love grey, i like white, i like purple, i quite like taupe but this was none of those things. made my nails look almost... blurry? i would appreciate something more clean, sharp and defined looking -- hope that makes sense. application was great though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gabriellavascocastro on 2/10/2010 1:21:00 AM more reviews by gabriellavascocastro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have never tried MAC nail polishes before but I must say, I will do it again now. I am thoroughly impressed, it was better than my NARS nail polish, not better than opi or china glaze but def. impressive. The color is really in style right now on the catwalk, it's perfect to off-set a tan. Really nice pastel lilac taupe. It looks like I got a manicure at the salon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 volyund on 1/19/2010 2:13:00 AM more reviews by volyund

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

It's a gray lavender cream. Surprisingly it works well with my cool and fair skin tone.
Application was great, full coverage with two coats. It also dried very quickly, so much so that I didn't even bother with quick drying top coat.
Decent wear as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lboogy on 1/19/2010 1:31:00 AM more reviews by lboogy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE THIS!!! This is the perfect color for me. I've been looking for this darn polish since I saw it in INSTYLE mag. It's sold out everywhere including mac.com. Not one bottle left in any of the Mac counters or stores . Luckily, I was able to get it on nordstrom.com. I was a bit annoyed at the $8 shipping charge though. All in all, it's the perfect shade short but clean manicure. No shimmer, which I like. I hope I can find this bottle again in store in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* babsvs on 1/13/2010 12:40:00 AM more reviews by babsvs

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This color is so pretty. It is now my go to winter neutral. On me it is equal parts gray, white and lavender. I was a little concerned because I have very fair warm, skin, and I look awful in pale and medium gray. This has enough lavendar to look good against my skin. It reminds me of a winter sunrise!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lvh75 on 1/11/2010 4:21:00 PM more reviews by lvh75

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I debated on getting this polish because I heard it was a lot like Essie's body language, which I already have, but I was still lemming it and I finally caved and got it a few days ago. I am wearing it right now, and I have to say I really like it. It is like a nude whitish gray, with a slight hint of lavendar, a tad more lavendar than body language, I think. Also, it is more creamy and opaque than the Essie one, which is why I like Light Affair better, I think it looks better with my warmer skintone (C30). I think Body language looks slightly more gray, which is more blah looking on me. I am glad I got it afterall.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Polishes products