Estee Lauder • Automatic Pencil for Eyes in Walnut Brown 09 • Eyeliner

rated 4.7(16 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lnielsen22 on 2/26/2013 1:11:00 PM more reviews by lnielsen22

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have used Estee Lauder's automatic eyeliners for years now and though I go to other brown liners from other brands, looking for something better, I always come back to EL's walnut brown. The reason is that I have yet to find any other brand that makes a brown that is as flattering as this one. All others are either too harsh and dark or not dark enough. This is a classic color that would work on anyone. Great for daytime, and can be built up for night if desired. It doesn't last all day, but seriously, I cannot find anything that does, and believe me, I've tried everything. So I figure if they all need to be reapplied every four hours may as well go with one that has a color that I like the best.


This color by the way is not a red brown or even a basic brown. It's more of a cool brown. It defines without making eyes look too hard and overdone. And the formula is a dream to work with. Does not pull on your eye lid. Easy to blend.


I don't repurchase make-up to often because I have so much of it and do not use any one color of eye shadow or blush for a long period of time. I get bored with the same look every day. But this is one product I have repurchased many times.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LHartford on 4/6/2012 12:09:00 PM more reviews by LHartford

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is my everyday eyeliner...I have used it for many years and will continue to for as long as it is around. Perfect natural looking liner with great ease of use. STAPLE!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsHepburn on 4/2/2012 8:42:00 AM more reviews by MsHepburn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is nice if you like the smudgy, smoky eye look. For me, it comes off too easily and you can't really make it into a neat line because it's too soft and thick. However, the colour is very flattering and for smoky eyes this works very well. I prefer the slightly sturdier Technakohl in Photgravure, by MAC. But I guess I'm just a bit of a MAC fan.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MakeupFairyxo on 2/18/2012 2:45:00 AM more reviews by MakeupFairyxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I really love this eyeliner! It's super convenient because of the retractible ability and the smudger brush is a nice addition as well. The price is pretty good for a high end product. I really love how smooth the eyeliner glides on and I don't ever need to tug on my lids to apply it. It doesn't smudge or melt off of my eyes throughout the day like other liners do. I really love the color too as it looks very natural but isn't so light to the point where it gives no definition. It makes my eyes look naturally defined. It's wearable enough for daytime and dark enough to amp up a little for the nightime. Can't live without it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kdids520 on 12/5/2011 3:57:00 AM more reviews by Kdids520

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is my HG eye liner---I've been wearing it for 10 years...Goes on smoothly, no tugging needed, smudges easily when you want it to---It does not have the staying power that some others do, but it's still awesome

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 weiwolf on 7/9/2011 9:10:00 PM more reviews by weiwolf

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love, love, love this color and eye pencil! It looks very natural and really softens my eyes. It does smudge easily, but I think that's a good thing, because I like my eyeliner to be a little messy and softened anyway. And there's a smudger on the other side to help with that anyway.

It doesn't last that long, but I also don't find that to be a problem, haha. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone who likes sharp, crisply lined eyes, but I really liked this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 busyscmom on 9/21/2010 12:07:00 PM more reviews by busyscmom

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really nice dark brown color..no balck undertones at least for me. Glides on very smooth and easy to smudge. It does need touch ups but considering how smooth it apllies without tugging, I don't mind that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 juliastl27 on 8/23/2010 7:43:00 PM more reviews by juliastl27

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have this liner in jet black and jade. I am eyeliner challenged and cant ever get it on easily, but, this glides on quite nicely. The automatic pencil means you dont have to deal with sharpening it and you can also buy refills at lower prices and switch them out for different colors whenever you feel like it. I often use the black on top and then switch over to jade for the bottom. Very easy to use and nice colors that stay put.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 F1Missy on 2/24/2009 12:38:00 AM more reviews by F1Missy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The Estee Lauder Automatic Pencil for Eyes in Jet Black (01) glides on smoothly and is the easiest and most convenient eyeliner i have ever come across. The only bad thing i would have to say about this product is that it doesn't stick/stay on for as long as i would like.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 joonjooni on 11/14/2007 11:37:00 PM more reviews by joonjooni

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love Estee Lauder's mechanical eye liners, and I particularly love this shade - it's absolutely perfect for a more natural look than black eyeliner, and it's so smooth and creamy I don't need to pull at my eyes or anything to put it on.


The only con I can really think of is that this eyeliner smudges pretty easily, so I have to touch up every so often. I don't consider it a burden or anything, though, because it really does look great, and it's certainly the best pencil eyeliner I've ever used.


Recently, however, I've been using MAC Fluidline in Dipdown, which has a similar shade but greater staying power and versatility.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Eyeliner products