Cover Girl • Smoky ShadowBlast in Silver Sky • Eye Shadow

rated 1.7(48 reviews)

Average Rating.1.7
Would buy this product again.12%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SimpleNSexy on 3/23/2012 10:15:00 PM more reviews by SimpleNSexy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I had this when it first came out. Not the best IMHO
Price: ~$8 CAD
Pkg: the shadow breaks off easily
Colour: icy silver and greyish lavender
Pigmentation: medium
Texture: creamy
While the colours are awesome, it has zero staying power even when I used UDPP in Sin (which I hated)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cjMadamFresa on 2/20/2012 10:02:00 PM more reviews by cjMadamFresa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i have the smoky shadowblast in silver sky & onyx smoke. these colors tend to crease, however, to prevent it from creasing i use a good primer like a mac eyeshadow primer and then set the shadow with MUFE microfinishing powder. its easy, convenient and the colors are sheer. awesome when you're in a hurry and only need to wear it for a short time (maybe like 2hrs max). i prefer the jumbo shadow/liner pencil by nyx. i'll probably use the onyx smoke on my face when i dress up as a member of KISS lol.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tango2470 on 12/8/2011 12:50:00 PM more reviews by tango2470

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Damn! what a waste of money!
The best way to describe this would be a wax shimmer stick you find in the kids section of the dollar store, great for an 8 year old playing dress up! She could use the sheer silver as body
glitter.

I bought this the same time that I bought my bronze fire duo, and since the colors were more vivid it looked even worse than bronze fire did when it creased. It almost made my eyes look grimy and sweaty, and dirty, with the color packing entirely in the crease (I have dry skin!) I tried this under shadow, as a base, and it caused it to crease more, I tried this with a pressed powder, and it made it last about 10 minutes longer then it would without anything setting it.

It was also super hard to apply properly, and broke the first time I used it, It ended up looking very muddy if I didnt take the time to blend it out with a brush, hence the point of the shadow stick. The pigment was rather poor as well, and it looked nothing like you see on TV.

THIS WAS CRAP! I don't know what CG was thinking. True, their cheap, but i've had some amazing cheap makeup finds, such as my wet n wild eyeshadows, or hard candy blush. I've also found some decent items from covergirl, such as their drama eyes quad. WTF were they thinking when they made this?! I could have bought more amazing wet n wild shadows for that money!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 catspek on 10/26/2011 1:10:00 AM more reviews by catspek

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This product sux. Pigment is minimal. It's creamy and goes on in a flash but that's because it never dries. Never. Ten minutes - or an hour - after putting it on, you can just wipe it away. Seriously, you can just wipe it off with your fingertip. Ugh, terrible. There's no way they really tested this before putting it on the market. Total junk.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lipglossjunkee on 8/28/2011 1:56:00 PM more reviews by lipglossjunkee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love love love this color combo, the silver with the purple. But the product itself is total garbage! The silver shadow goes on fairly sheer so you have to swipe quite a bit on in order to see it. The purple side really doesn't show up much at all once you have all that silver on, whether you're using it as a liner or a shadow. It all just creases fairly quickly anyway, whether you're wearing primer or not. My daughter was checking them out in the store and I mentioned I had one if she wanted to try it and we had the same result on her. She's 16 so she goes for the smudgey messy eye look, so into her traincase this goes. Although, she's not very impressed with it either. Will not repurchase in any of the shades.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jessicak61 on 7/23/2011 8:37:00 PM more reviews by jessicak61

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This was absolutely horrible. I used UDPP, and within an hour, it creased. It's so soft it just wipes off. This is not at all something I would ever purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 xoxoEquinebond on 4/29/2011 9:31:00 AM more reviews by xoxoEquinebond

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I didn't read or watch any reviews on this product before I bought it and I didn't have high expectations for this product, as I kind of figured it would crease. I personally don't really wear smoky eyes, so this wasn't what I was planning on doing with it. The first time I tried it, I put step 1 all over the lid, and then put step 2 into the crease. I put a shadow over the top to help keep it in place. (I used no primer at all). After an hour and a half, I had creasing, and a half hour after that both eyes look liked I had been for a swim in my pool. After this; I decided I would only use the product for an eyeshadow base, and even as that it isn't the best product. The second time I used this product I put translucent powder on the lid to calm the oil, then primed my lids with the ELF eyeshadow primer. I used step one on the lid, only putting a small amount on and blending it out. Then I put step 2 into the crease as I did before, placing shadow over them once again. It didn't crease as much that time, so I will be using the product like this from now on.
You really have to scrub back and forth a lot to get a rich colour, and step 1 looks better than step 2 when you blend it out. I think this product would be best for a very light base and even that, there is still creasing. I would not buy this product again. I like the idea of the product, but it just doesn't work. Overall, I would give this product 2 out of 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ashlayton on 1/27/2011 1:44:00 PM more reviews by ashlayton

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

When this product came out I was most attracted to this color combo, and when I spotted it in a kit with CoverGirl Last Blast (both for the price of the mascara), I jumped on it. I tried it the next day. I used UDPP as I usually do. The colors went well together. At first, I thought ok, this looks nice. But in about 30 minutes, literally, Crease-city. My eyelids looked filthy because the only place the color stayed was in the creases. I ended up wiping it off an hour later because I couldn't stand it.

Also, and this usually doesn't happen to me, the purple side irritated my eyes and the purple side is the part that goes closest to your waterline. I didn't line my waterline with it, but my eyes were tearing up, even after I removed it.

I will never repurchase these. The packaging is a good idea and convenient, but not worth the hideous outcome the product gave me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* felgoj on 1/27/2011 1:25:00 PM more reviews by felgoj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The colors are pretty (purple & silver) but yes they are quite sheer, so you won't get an intense or dramatic smoky eye. I still like the convenience & ease of application & I wear this at work for a little natural-looking oomph when I'm bored with my bare face (which is my usual look).


I have oily lids but I find that this creme shadow doesn't crease any faster or worse than any other powder shadow I've used before... in fact, because the color effect is sheer & light, the creasing isn't as obvious as when I wear brown shadow or do a black smudged eye.


So these colors are fine to wear alone or in combination with other eyeshadow colors for different looks. I like the creaminess of the formula which makes it easy to spread & blend without a lot of pulling & tugging of delicate skin. And the color lasts most of the day around my lashes (color begins to fade after half a day) without the typical smearing around the eyes the way regular eyeliner does. I like this a lot as a good substitute for eyeliner.


I rim the purple all around my eyes & it gives nice depth to my brown eyes. The silver has nice shimmer in it for highlighting the brow bone. Again, very sheer & subtle, doesn't look like much of anything from a distance, but the shimmer is appealingly noticeable in bright light.


The dual-ended packaging makes it convenient for on-the-go travel, with no extra tools or applicators needed besides your fingertip.


I would buy this again, I'd particularly like to try the black/white combo, but will wait for a sale to save a little $. I bought this one at full price ($8) since I was eager to add the purple to my makeup collection ... I'm hugely into purple eyes these days ... I find purple makes a beautiful smoky eye alternative to the traditional dramatic black, which is otherwise stunning but not suitable for daytime office work. This product creates a delicate look.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 AveryCurtis11 on 1/23/2011 3:46:00 PM more reviews by AveryCurtis11

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is absolute crap. Lowest pigmentation I have ever seen. It simply will not stay on. It won't even go on in the first place, even with primer. It creases, it's greasy, no color at all. It's like putting, I don't know, a deodorant stick on your eyelids. Just with less pigmentation. And it broke after about, oh maybe two uses. Do NOT buy this. Nothing can make it work. Don't even try to make it work because it won't work. You might think that you can make it work, but you can't! I didn't get a 'bad batch' either. Just look at all the other reviews. Basically everyone hates it. It's horrible. Do not waste your money. I'm serious. How can you make it work if nobody else could make it work? When professional makeup artists can't make it work? Do not buy this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Eye Shadow products